We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed 3 nights. It was a little dated and the carpets need to be clean, but it did have two flat screen televisions with premium channels. I am a little too old for the party scene at night so it was nice having good televisions to watch at night. It was pretty quiet too. The beach is beautiful and there is also a nice pool there too if you would rather swim in it instead of the Gulf. Each room has a Gulf view with a separate sitting area. It has a full kitchen as well. The staff was very nice and everybody there was very friendly. Other than the carpets, the place was very clean. It was in walking distance to a great shopping area across from the pier. They served a continental breakfast each day which was nice too, I don't think for the money, that you could go wrong. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debfog617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    202
    60
    39
    39
See reviews for
207
183
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My last visit this past spring was not as pleasant as it had been for many, many years. This is because a family of three was at the pool daily, their eight year old (or so) daughter spent half her time screaming while her mother made no attempt to even pay attention. I asked the mother if she could control the girl and she said she couldn't, it was this way all the time.

It was so loud and obnoxious I could not carry on a conversation with other people. Having no other option I went to the beach area and rented a $30 chair and umbrella. The screams were loud here also. Frustrated I went to the front desk and asked if they could help. The manager acknowledged hearing the loud screams from inside his closed door office for many days, but added the hotel was family friendly and he did not offer to attempt to correct the problem.

Lots of families stay here and for good reasons as stated in the previous review. I believe the manager should have taken care of the screaming problem many days before I complained. The fact that I was a longstanding customer didn't make a difference.

I was and still am disappointed. As a result will stay elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My sister and I stayed at The Beachcomber in a double suite August 22-25 for a quick weekend get away. The room was reasonably attractive and spacious, with furnishings that appeared to be well-maintained. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette was very convenient. There were no cleanliness or disrepair issues, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our up close view of the sea, hearing the waves, and smelling the salty air from our private balcony. The beach, which was kept up nicely, was easily accessible through the pool area, and being able to go back and forth to our room from the beach on a whim, without hiking half a mile or taking a shuttle, was greatly appreciated. I'm not a fan of swimming with the "critters" so I was a little disappointed that there was a row of live seaweed a few feet out into the water, but others were having a great time snorkeling and watching all the fish feeding in it, and I was thrilled when two dolphins were spotted swimming about 20 yards off the beach. With Starbucks less than a mile away at Pier Park, along with numerous other dining, shopping, and recreation options, we did not go into the continental breakfast room, but it looked like average hotel offerings -- bagels, donuts, pastries, cereals, and juices. The Beachcomber will be a repeat destination for me some time soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail Laurilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked this via Wyndam. We wanted a king room but found out they (Wyndam) only books doubles. You think the rooms are backwards because the beds are in front and the sitting area is on the beach side. It had a little kitchen and extra sink - which comes in handy since there's usually just one sink in the bathroom area. It's not a brand new facility and the couch cloth is ragged in places, but I don't usually sit on them anyway. It was a bit noisy because of the road traffic and the bedroom being on the front side. (5th floor)
Folks at the front desk were very nice. They have a continental breakfast in another area with cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, different juices, coffee and sweets. Even though I didn't use the pool, etc. I saw staff cleaning the pool and area around it every morning. They have grills you can use and shuffleboard around the pool area.
My biggest complaint is the slow elevators. Be prepared to wait to use them. I'm not kidding either.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My fiancée and I stayed at the beachcomber aug 17-20th for a much needed vacation. When we arrived at the front desk we were greeted by a very nice clerk named Camille. She was very knowledgable about all the amenities of the hotel and surrounding areas. The room was neat and clean. There is also too flat screen T.V.'s in the room, full kitchen and an additional sitting area. We were on the 5th floor and the views were breathtaking. The parking was decent and the hotel is close to pier park and fast food restaurants. We will visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 5th floor or higher for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time. The lady that checked us in was very nice we got there around 12 and got a text at 1:30 that our room was ready I will be staying there again. The pool was great loved the private balcony

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a great time. Our room had 2 A/C's and 2 flat screens, very comfortable and quiet! Plenty of room in the bathroom. Pool was very clean. Large pool deck (needs deck lights at night and music all day until pool closes.) Does have laundry room coined washers and dryers. Not far from the Pier, Pier Park, Winn Dixie, Walmart, Target, and Miracle Strip.

Room Tip: 5th floor or higher for great view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachbreak By The Sea
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
445 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
109 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing