We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cullman, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Great place to stay while you are in pcb....the room was really nice with a living room that had a couch with a hide a bed double size, a nice balcony t to sit and watch the waves in the morning as we drank our first cup of coffee for the day, that was made in the kitchen of the suite that we stayed in. Nice size kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, etc. fully equipped. Large clean bathroom with plenty of towels etc and a large bedroom with two double beds.
The price was very affordable and the staff were professional and friendly. It was a pleasant change to spend our vacation at a
hotel where the staff seemed to be happy also. From the pool guys to the receptionist and maid, they were all very helpful, answered any questions that they had and seemed to be genuinely concerned that we have a good time. They knew alot about the happenings for the weekend and recommended some really great stuff to do. We plan to spend next year there and will be inviting our entire family to go along with us.

Helpful?
3 Thank advine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    202
    60
    39
    39
See reviews for
207
183
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

I was extremely pleased with the price, view and accomodations. The hotel was not lavish but clean and well maintained. I booked the room for a week for my business trip. When I arrived and the room was a bedroom suite and kitchenette, I called home to have family drive down to enjoy it with me. This was such a great time of year (August 19 - 23) no crowds, it was like having the hotel to ourselves. The pool is very child friendly with a large area under 2 feet for toddlers and infants or even adults just wanting to cool off. There was plenty of shade for those not wanting sun. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. This is a perfect family vaction. I would recommend this hotel any time. I may book it next year for a family vaction.

  • Liked — The great value.
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAWARD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

We are from the Birmingham area so this 5 hour trip is well worth it! This will be our 3rd stay at this location and we have stayed 2 other times at their other location down the road. We LOVE the Gulf Front Views,the accommodating staff & friendliness, the outdoor pool area, the comfy beds, the peace & quite late at night- (when it's not Thunder Rally wk-end.), their email deal specials with a full size kitchen . We are looking forward to their remodeling this fall (which by the way we don't think it's needed, but hey, I'm sure it will be lovely-hope the price doesn't go up a great deal-or at all!!)

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Haku- crown of fresh flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We stayed at the Beachcomber Aug. 28-30, 2007. Stayed on 7th floor with great view of Gulf. Room was clean and spacious. Room layout just as shown on their website. No wireless internet on the 7th floor but just go to lobby and use. Panama City Beach is a grat beach.. nice white sand, clear water.. We could not have had a better stay.. Expedia charged us $89 for room but hotel would have charged $79 so may want to book direct..

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathug_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2007

When booking a room for my class reunion, I called several hotels. Only one had a friendly and helpful desk clerk who spoke English as a first language. That matters to me.

She told me that the rates would drop in August (their low season) and she gave me a great rate on a handicapped room.

By calling direct and speaking with an honest and cheerful person, I felt at ease.

The facility was sparkling, and everything in the room met my hopes and expectations. Cleanliness is all-important to me. I was very happy with the great bed and furnishings.

I found only one area which needs improvement, the hospitality room. It is small, and the continental breakfast offerings are meager, mainly just little cakes wrapped in cellophane (ugh).

The class reunion was held at another hotel, which offered a much larger and better stocked hospitality room, but lesser, poorer facilities, and showed rust, wear, and insufficient upkeep.

I will continue to stay at the Beachcomber, even though their hospitality room is not up to par, because the staff is very helpful and the rooms and pool are superior and always immaculate.

In other areas of the country, I usually stay at Hampton Inns, but on Panama City Beach, it is always the Beachcomber. Their facilities are just as nice, it is right on the beach, and the rates are way less than the Hampton, which is not on the beach.

Roger Spikes
Spring, TX

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank raspikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksons gap,alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

my husband and i were there on our annivsery. we had a wonderful time. the beach is beautiful and the water is to. the rooms were just as they showed on their website. the pool was nice and the hot tub. i watch the staff clean it every morning, so i knew it was clean. i also watched a wedding take place on the beach it was nice. they offer this at their resort. very friendly staff,can't wait until we can go again. the next time we plan on making it a family trip.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bigsexy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

My friend and I went to Panama City Beach for a short vacation to "get away"!! She had stayed at the Beachcomber previously but I had not. I am very concerned with cleanliness and hate to stay at hotels period because most are not up to par. With that said, I thought the Beachcomber was excellent. The employees, from the first conversation to make the reservation-- to the check out process, were exceptional. Everytime we ran into an employee, they were ready and waiting to help. The bathrooms and the pots and pans were my only complaint. I think the bathrooms could have been a little cleaner but they were ok. We bought bacon and eggs to cook for breakfast but unfortunately the skillet had something burnt in the bottom that I couldn't get out. The saucepans were the same. The pool was awesome. There was plenty of room for all of the guests and it never felt crowded. Beach access was easy. The view from the balcony was beautiful. I loved almost everything about this property. Because we were women traveling alone, we were happy to see security present everywhere. We always felt safe. I was happy to hear that the rooms were going to be updated in October. I loved the Beachcomber and cannot wait to take my husband and kids back next year.

  • Liked — The beach view from the balcony.
  • Disliked — Bathroom and dishes.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachbreak By The Sea
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
445 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
109 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing