We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Research the amenities before booking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The rooms are outdated but clean. The employees seemed very distant and cold. The elevator is claustrophobic and very hot. I swear somewhere I read this place has a hot tub but they do not. They have no laundry facilities and I could not find an ice machine other than in the cafe that was never open. I didnt feel my stuff was safe in the room with the ex-con looking housekeeping even though i had no issues. I would not recommend this place and will not stay here again. I will stay at the wharf about 3/4 mile away. Looks nice anyways.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalflushtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear royalflushtodd,

Thank you for taking the time write your review and we value your honest feedback. We are very concerned that you did not feel welcomed by any of our employees and that their looks did not help you feel safe during your stay. We want every single one of our guests to not only feel safe, but free to approach any employee about anything during their stay.

We are currently undergoing some room renovations and hopefully this will help our rooms no longer be outdated. You are correct that we do not have a hot tub or guest laundry facilities. If you can locate where you read this, please let us know by sending an email to GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com. Our renovations should be complete by around Labor Day Weekend. Please come back and see our improvements when you come back to Panama City Beach.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here because we had a coupon. We didn't read any review for this hotel nor had we been to Panama Beach City before. First off the ladies at the front desk were very nice, but I had to wait in line for about 30 minutes to even check in. The hotel rooms were just OK. We were next to a room with 5 young men who were play beer pong early on so I know we were going to be in trouble later on. This hotel was full of young drunk kids. The location was the only good thing going for this hotel. It is right on the beach. I ended up having to call security later that night on the loud drunk people staying at the hotel. The security came up and it got quiet for awhile but then they got loud again. We got hardly any sleep. The family in the next room told us they had called security too a couple times that night. The free breakfast we received the next day was awful. We were going to stay another night but decided against it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erinjbarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our customer service and location. As for your negative experiences, we would like to apologize to you for the behavior of the hotel guests that were next door to your room and we would like to assure you that we have addressed those guests with the problems that they caused while staying here. We ask for all of our guests to respect the other families around them and to keep their noise level at a respectable volume. If you are ever traveling back through Panama City Beach, please come back and see us.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Waited in line to check in for an hour and a half. Staff was unfriendly and didn't apologize for wait. Was charged an additional $54 at check-in for room insurance... Never heard of that before. Don't bother calling the front desk, it just rings off the hook. Cut our trip short because we didn't want to stay there any longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjsndiwbdnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear rjsndiwbdnf,

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay was unsatisfactory. We never meant for you to not feel welcomed upon your arrival or when you attempted to call the desk. We are going to address each of these issues, to help prevent them from happening to any future guests. Please come back and give us another try the next time that you are traveling to Panama City Beach, FL.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This vacation rental was very well priced and it is directly on the beach but the staff is terrible. Housekeeping missed our room so we called and asked for clean towels and a broom to get the sand off of the wood floors after waiting for three hours I called back and they still didn't send anybody up. The walls are very thin and there are doors between them so you can join rooms if you rent more than one the people in the room next to us we're up screaming and banging on the doors til 3 am we called the front desk and security at least a dozen times they did nothing this is very clearly a party hotel and not good for smaller children or families there is a lot of drinking and music playing at all times they do not cater at all to families. I gave this two stars for the location only.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyW102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear, Amy W,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our location and affordable beach-front hotel room prices. Since we are located directly on the beach, sand can easily be tracked into the rooms when you were coming on and off the beach. Sorry that we did not deliver on our customer service, when you needed us. We are going to look into finding a better way to get cleaning supplies to our guests that may have missed our housekeepers or requested to not receive service, when they originally stop by.

We would like to assure you that we not a party hotel. Please do not let the actions of some louder guests that happened to be staying here, reflect on our hotel as our overall product. Most of our guests are happy and satisfied families that keep coming back year after year. We have several youth oriented amenities including an on-site arcade and have recently added weekly hermit crab races, that are sure to entertain.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Don't be fooled by the lovely pictures they have posted on their website, this place was disgusting. First we did not receive the room we paid for, The bathroom was super small, there was mold all around the ceiling of the shower, the toilet was dirty, the room had bugs The furniture is out of date, The lighting in this place was terrible, very dark it only had two small light fixtures, one lamp, and the blinds were broken so we couldn't let them up.The out side was just as worst the pool area ewwww! The stairway small of urine, the elevator was hot and muggy also smelled like mold and mildew. I can't believe they have the nerve to call this dump a resort, I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levonne220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Levonne220,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. You are correct about some of these things and how our hotel rooms need updating. We are proud to announce that the Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center is now actively undergoing renovations! Some of these renovations have already been completed, while others are soon to follow. Upgrades such as new hardwood floors, fresh paint, new furniture, and new room décor are a few reasons why our new rooms are sure to enhance guest experiences, while still staying only footsteps from the beach at an affordable price. In the future, please bring any issues to our attention while you are staying with us at the hotel, so we may have the opportunity to correct them.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and we will always come back from now on. It's the perfect location for families-not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the main strip. The pool is 0 entry and there is a separate kids water play area with a 1" pool w/ a water mushroom. I gave a low "clean" rate bc of the floors. I'm pretty sure they have never been mopped!! Our feet were black w/o shoes. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hndunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Hndunk,

Thank you for your very kind review. We loved having you and your family stay with us! Doing our part to help guests have a great vacation is always our goal and we are thrilled to hear about your experience. In reference to the condition of your floors, we have hired a new director for our Housekeeping Department and are expecting to see several noticeable improvements in this area.

Please come back and see again the next time that you are headed to Panama City Beach!

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was forced to stay here as my husband was doing a triathlon and this was the host hotel. This hotel is old and decrepit. It is falling apart at every seam. I could tell the common areas tried to be maintained but the rooms are awful. The headboards are ripped if the wall and the holes are poorly patched. The bed sits on an old metal frame with no bed skirt. The box spring was smushed like a pancake and was filthy. The dresser drawers we broken and shoved in crooked. There was one small lamp that barely lit the room. It's sad because the location is great and there is so much potential if they have a few million dollars to sink into the joint. I will never go back there and you shouldn't either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are valued and we appreciate your honest feedback. We want you to know that we've heard you and acknowledge your comments regarding the condition of the hotel property. Thanks in part to your open feedback, we are proud to announce that the Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center is actively undergoing renovations!

Our commitment to investing into the Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center will continue through this summer with upgrades to guest rooms, common areas and amenities. Some of these renovations have already been completed, while others are soon to follow. Upgrades such as new hardwood floors, fresh paint, new furniture, and new room decor are a few reasons why our new rooms are sure to enhance guest experiences, while still staying only footsteps from the beach at an affordable price.

Please come back to see us on your next trip to Panama City Beach, FL.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 48 in Panama City Beach
737 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
120 reviews
Beachbreak By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
568 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#24 of 48 in Panama City Beach
300 reviews
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panam...
#25 of 48 in Panama City Beach
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 9600 S Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4234 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £43 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing