We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not THAT horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I decided to book this hotel, despite reading the reviews. So it means we were expecting the worse upon arrival. There were many stories about how long it took for people to check in so we figured we would get there around 3 to be the first ones. There was a long line already forming, but check-in took about 40 mins, and the staff was really nice and made it quick and simple. The room we had looked a lot better than in pictures. Of course, as stated, we were expecting the worse. We knew the room would be small, but the floors were clean and the furniture were fairly new. The only thing i did not like was how hard the beds were. The bathroom wasn't bad either, but the tub did clog after we returned from the beach. I was very impressed at how fast maintenance showed up though, after we called room service. However, room service never came to clean our room. Overall, the hotel isn't as horrible as everyone says. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel so don't come expecting that. It is however, a simple hotel to rest at night, in an amazing location. But also be weary of some of the shady guests that sits around at night waiting for girls to walk by without company.

Room Tip: Always make sure to book the gulf-view rooms. I also added a note that i wanted the room to be clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Dave W,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for the compliments about our customer service, as it is a top priority with us. We would also like to apologize to you for the long wait to check-in this past Friday and reassure you that this is a rare occurrence, which we will be better prepared for in the future. In regards to your comments about the condition of the room, we are currently undergoing some renovations and your room is the perfect example of this. Some of these renovations have already been completed, while others are soon to follow. Upgrades such as new hardwood floors, fresh paint, new furniture, bedding and new room décor are a few reasons why our new rooms are sure to enhance guest experiences, while still staying only footsteps from the beach at an affordable price. Please come back to see us on your next trip to Panama City Beach, FL.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not pleased with my recent stay at all. Long wait just to check in. Booked 2 rooms but only given 1 at time of check in.Fee taken out for both but a 2 hour laps before second room available. Called several times for housekeeping and towels. Beds small, pillows dirty. Only 1 plug working in room. Need to remove
resort from name because definitely not.Stuck in elevator!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairytales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Fairytales1,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are concerned to hear about some of your complaints and regret that we were not informed of your displeasure during the time of your stay. We would like to look more into your complaints, so please email details of your stay to GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you enjoy waiting over an hour to stand in line to check in even when you have reservations, then this is the place for you! When you get to the room, there is one lamp. There are not even mattress covers in the beds. Just thin sheets, and oh, not so comfy beds.
Good points: it is on the beach. Elevator to 2nd floor. Their onsite restaurant was okay.
A management team really needs to come in to turn this place around!

Room Tip: Try not to face the pool. People stay, are loud, and play music way after the supposed closing time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank debzimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear debzimc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our beach front location, on-site restaurant and the convenience of our multiple elevators. We would also like to apologize to you for the long wait this past Friday and reassure you that this is a rare occurrence, which we will be better prepared for in the future. We are also pleased to let you know that we are currently undergoing some hotel renovations that include new furniture, new room décor and much more! Stay with us on your next trip to Panama City Beach and see these upgrades for yourself.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It took too long to check in, and staff had a bad attitude. The exterior was messy, garbage cans overflowing, and bags of garbage and dirty towels left lying in halls by maids, who were still cleaning at 9 pm. Exterior lights not working. That all seemed bad, but was nothing compared to the filthy room. Photos will be posted. Toilet was running, but would not flush and it was dirty. Shower was dirty and moldy. No soap in the shower soap dispenser. One functioning light in the main part of the room. Clock unplugged. Horrible decor. Old "linens". Sand swept under the bed along with old food, chips. The only nice thing I can say is it is right on the beach. You're better off parking somewhere and walking to the beach then getting away as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Not possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBaxter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear MBaxter2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are concerned to hear about some of your complaints and would like to learn more details about your stay. If you would like to share them, please email us directly at GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com. We will use this information to ensure the issues you cited, are corrected.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

In this hotel the service wasn't so good & took over 5 hours to check in . only 1 person working at lobby . The pool was pretty small & Dirty . Beds are very hard & uncomfortable. The vending machine's don't work . This is honestly the worst hotel I've ever been in . The Only Good Thing About The Hotel Is That The Beach Is Right There, But We Won't Be Back

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikelwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear mikelwj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our beach front location, but regret to hear that you were unhappy with other parts of your stay. Unfortunately there was a wait to check-in this past Friday, even with a full staff working the desk and lobby areas. This is not a common occurrence but nevertheless, we apologize for your longer than acceptable wait time to check in. We are looking into ways to streamline our check-in process to accommodate 100% sellout check-in days. Also, we wish we would have been made aware of the vending machines not working. We would have been happy to repair that it and also point you in the direction of the hotel’s other available pool and vending machines. We sincerely hope that you have a better experience on your next trip to Panama City Beach.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I can't even describe in words how bad was the room in hotel - just like a cage for dogs. No furniture at all (my mom have to buy a table), no place to hang clouth at all. We felt like we are prisoners. For two adults and child + small dog we didnt have any space left. To get additional bed we have to pay $25 + tax, so we went to Walmart and bought the mattress for the same prize. Beach was dirty too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Undina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Undina1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your hotel room and we would like to assure you that our hotel does feature numerous room types that vary in size and features. If you felt that your room was too small, we would have been happy to upgrade you to a suite. We are also pleased to let you know that we are currently undergoing some room renovations that include new furniture and new room décor. On your next trip to Panama City Beach, please try reserving one of our larger suites to help better accommodate your party’s size.

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I thought this was a very nice hotel for the money. It does not have a stove or washer/dryer access on the hotel grounds. They do have plenty of vending machines and areas where you can buy food at the hotel though. They have 2 pools, both nice. One was 8ft. deep on the deep end and the other pool had a basket ball goal. They have a nice arcade for the teens right by one of the pools and the little kids have a nice playground. We will come back again if we're not staying long, only because I like having washer/dryer access. It's also guarded which was nice.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jennifer R,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review. Your comments are valued and we appreciate the feedback. We try to maintain several different and fun things to do for the whole family, while still delivering a fair priced beach front hotel. It is great to hear that you found this value and family fun while staying with us. We look forward to hosting your next trip to the beach!

Thank You,
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 49 in Panama City Beach
744 reviews
Beachside Resort Panama City Bea...
#10 of 49 in Panama City Beach
585 reviews
The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resor...
#33 of 49 in Panama City Beach
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 49 in Panama City Beach
126 reviews
Palmetto Inn & Suites
#11 of 49 in Panama City Beach
950 reviews
Lollye On the Beach
#27 of 49 in Panama City Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 9600 S Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4234 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: £43 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for value and to stay footsteps from the beach at an affordable price, then you have found the perfect spot at Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing