We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for just 2 nights during the week. Very reasonable price for a pleasant double room. The room was really well laid out with a handy area for making tea and a great closet. The windows open - another reviewer commented on this - it is a treat to have fresh air, especially on a warm June evening. I was a little concerned about privacy. I could see straight into the rooms opposite and did wonder if they could see me so - be careful. Ate in Bennett's restaurant. King Prawns and Caesar Salad - really lovely - not sure why you need traditional summer veg served on the side. Although the chips were superb. A lovely place, pleasant service and great value for money for a business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6Flossy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spent the night here after my sisters wedding last weekend and was sorely disappointed with the service provided for what is supposedly a 4 star hotel. The taxis we had booked to bring those staying at the Wrightington back failed to turn up leaving the guests stranded at the venue 10 minutes away. It soon became clear that there was no taxis that would come out so I asked the hotel if there was anyway they could send someone. Although the Night Porter did offer he was not allowed to leave the venue and the receptionist did check with a manager (who did not come out) the hotel left us to sort out getting people back.
This you might think is unfortunate but not the hotels problem however my experience of other more well known four star hotels suggests that they would have gone the extra mile to ensure that guests could get back to the hotel and where safe; needles to say the bride was most upset.
Having offered to wait up in place of the bride I made the mistake of asking the hotel for a drink from the bar; only to be told that this was not possible as there was another wedding on, again this is not what I would expect in terms of service from a 4 Star hotel. Luckily the guest's managed to get back on there own and the last two guests checked in... Well actually this was also a disaster as it took a while for the hotel to find the rooms for two of the guests; one of whom who had to come back downstairs as there key did not work. Again not a massive problem, especially when compared to two of the other guests who's room was not ready. The night porter had to check to see if the room was clean (at 1.30 in the morning) and then they were woken up at 10 am by house keeping.
Breakfast was OK but again service was terrible. I had to find a waitress and ask for clean cutlery in order to sit with my Family and following this then had to go back again to ask for coffee.
Overall nothing that ruined the wedding but the service was terrible from start to finish.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked in for my friend's 50th birthday, on a special overnight package, the setting was beautiful, we had no complaints with the room but because it was a such a special occasion we upgraded to the Maddox suite and OMG it was just perfect.. it was luxurious and felt like a real treat staying there. The best thing about our stay however was the meal which I can only describe as outstanding and made this special occasion a real fabulous memory, so a huge thank you to the chef and restaurant staff. We wiould definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and that the Maddox Suite had the WOW factor. Your comments regarding the food and Bennett's Restaurant are very kind and positive feedback is always pleasing to receive. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This a truly wonderful venue set in beautiful woodlands in Lancashire.

This is my second time that I have stayed. I honestly could not fault one thing at all. The staff are friendly, warm, and hospitable. The hotel is spotlessly clean. My family and I came along to celebrate my nephews 40th Birthday. The staff had provided our family with a private function room- beautifully set up.

I was proud to be part of what was a fabulous evening. The food was 1st class a lovely 3 course meal . My husband is still talking about his breakfast having been a butcher for 33 years "He knows quality meat"

I would have no hesitation what so-ever in highly recommending this hotel and would certainly grade it as 5 star. We look forward to returning soon.

A special thank you to all the staff who made our stay a memorable event- special thanks to both Helens without their expertise our stay would not have been as enjoyable. Best wishes Esther Ray Baker

Room Tip: Personally I prefer a room looking out at the front of the hotel . It is brighter for me as I just l...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive and kind comments. It is very rewarding to receive exceptional praise with regard to the facilities and staff. We are pleased to hear your event was a success and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here in the Platinum Room on a recent trip from the US. Very comfortable and large room. Another plus is the windows open. Staff were also wonderful and helpful. The location was very serene. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ2658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Platinum Room, one of our luxury rooms and we hope you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent a few days here at the end of our trip as my husband was born in Wigan and was running the race on Sunday. No complaints to speak of aside from would like wash cloths in the room. We had a comfortable, quiet deluxe room overlooking the sheep from our window. Dinner at Bennett's was exceptional both nights (lamb was outstanding). Did a couple of spa treatments at what I felt were bargain prices. Breakfast was full English with cereals, fruit and pastries. We were kindly allowed to have a late check out since hubbie was running a race and wouldn't be back for the 10:30 checkout deadline. We felt like we had great value for the money at the Wrightington.

Room Tip: Enjoyed watching the sheep in the back. It was quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sushicrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments; positive feedback is always pleasing to receive. We hope your husband enjoyed his race. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Found a good offer on the hotel site for DBB. We stayed bank holiday weekend on Sunday night, it was surprisingly quiet. Lovely big executive double room with an extra single bed and large en suite. Excellent food in the restaurant and lovely breakfast. The gym and pool were amazing, very clean, run by DW. Imagine standing on a running machine looking out over a field with sheep and lambs. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightington
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
2.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
7.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
4.4 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club

Address: Moss Lane | Wigan, Wrightington WN6 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrightington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Price Range: £56 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club is set in picturesque countryside, yet just seconds from Junction 27, M6. This modern 73-bedroomed hotel offers award-winning cuisine, extensive conference/banqueting facilities and boasts one of the finest leisure clubs in the North West with indoor pool, gym, sauna, steam room, aerobics, hair salon and beauty salon. With an elegant reception, foyer area and landscaped courtyard...the perfect venue for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wrightington Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Wigan
Wigan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing