We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice countryside surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was looking for a hotel near to Wigan and happened upon the Wrightington on booking.com. It looked a little "too good to be true" in comparison to the cost and as a seasoned traveller I was apprehensive when I arrived at the hotel. How wrong can you be it was fabulous. Situated near to the motorway but in the midst of open fields the hotel was brilliant. Great location, rooms and public spaces, great pool, spa and gym and first class service. Brilliant restaurant, food and breakfast and great all round value for money!

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room with French balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanjstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest. We thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear you were "surprised" by your find and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a one night stay at this hotel for my girlfriends birthday we stayed in an executive double room which was very well equipped and furnished nicely, the room was clean, spacious and had everything you need to enjoy a comfortable stay it even had a nice view overlooking Lancashire countryside. When we arrived we was greeted at reception by a very friendly and helpful lady who showed us to our room, the hotel had also left a very thoughtful plate in the room with happy birthday written on it in chocolate. We didn't get chance to use the leisure facilities so I cannot comment on those, we did receive complimentary breakfast which was self service but with plenty on offer and the food was nice. All the staff we met had the attitude that nothing was too much trouble and we're all very friendly and professional. Unfortunately my girlfriend left her new watch behind in the room and after contacting the hotel it wasn't able to be found which was a little bit disappointing. Overall we had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind and positive comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, however, we were sorry to hear about the misplacement of the watch. After a thorough check of the bedroom by several members of staff we were unable to locate it. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The rooms are large and very clean. The Hotel is in Wigan outside of Manchester.
It was rather strange to us as we only saw the receptionist . No one in the lounge or around the hotel. So quiet we thought we were the only guests, I asked if the hotel was empty, they said
The hotel was full other than two rooms. So if you want Quit this is the place to go.
Did not dine at the hotel so unable to comment. No bar other than attached to the restaurant.
Was asked if we were residents, then returned for our room number back again to see the resident slip given to us when we checked in. Breakfast average. The toaster rubbish very slow
Have to put through twice to even brown long line. That is the only time we saw people was at
Breakfast.
Negative point of the hotel arrived and wanted to have a coffee in the bar was informed not open
Till 3 o'clock. So made our own in the room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

again back in Uk. did not remember how nice british country clubs are: good food, bier, gym and sheeps around. nothing to complain, even hot water in shower and no fire alarm -at least yet.
can be recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank heikki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay with my sister and 2 daughters on hotel deal. Greeted on arrival by friendly helpful receptionist plus both rooms ready when we arrived at 12 midday.
Included 3 course meal with bottle house wine between 2. Good choice we all had different and every dish was fantastic. Compliments to the chef and all restaurant staff. Had lovely evening in Bennett's restaurant.
Part of deal included use of leisure facilities plus 20% off in vitality spa. Treatments excellent. Lunch in coffee shop was good value.
Breakfast included good choice of hot & cold buffet, small gripe was table not completely set. But not really a problem as sorted as soon as we asked.
Deal included stay in club room. Large, clean room and bathroom but pillows poor quality and so uncomfortable.No air conditioning so room hot and stuffy. We were provided with a fan when we asked but of little use. Think you get air conditioning in upgrade rooms. So worth considering. Also ice bucket and champagne flutes available via room service for small charge. A nice touch.
Overall a very pleasant stay in this modern hotel. Will defiantly return if similar deal available.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank lynne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Any new Special Offers are detailed on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for a jujitsu seminar, great venue had a voucher for the spa, free use of pool and leasure, well maintained, and I loved the room that backed onto the field, had a crow sat on a branch at the window and sheep everywhere :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Coxxaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive feedback. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have just returned for three days at the Wrightington. I had a lovely time - the staff were without fault, the room clean and well equipped and the swimming pool good. Breakfast was hot and well cooked and nothing was too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a firm mattress which was provided. Slept very well indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Admin Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightington
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
2.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
4.4 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club

Address: Moss Lane | Wigan, Wrightington WN6 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrightington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Price Range: £53 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club is set in picturesque countryside, yet just seconds from Junction 27, M6. This modern 73-bedroomed hotel offers award-winning cuisine, extensive conference/banqueting facilities and boasts one of the finest leisure clubs in the North West with indoor pool, gym, sauna, steam room, aerobics, hair salon and beauty salon. With an elegant reception, foyer area and landscaped courtyard...the perfect venue for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wrightington Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Wigan
Wigan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing