We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreary motel desperately in need of a revamp.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pembroke Pines
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dreary motel desperately in need of a revamp.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The pictures on the website are very misleading and the reality is a big disappointment. This property is a motel and not a hotel.

The whole place is very badly in need of modernization and upgrading to meet the needs of the modern traveller. It appears to be stuck in 1970 and nothing appears to be have been maintained or replaced since.

The motel reception is dreary and smelled of a mixture of toilet cleaner and damp. The rooms are reached via an external walkway and necessitate passing two large rusty washing machines, a laundry, gaudy vending machines, rubbish and storage areas. The rooms themselves offer no privacy as a large window opens onto the public walkway.

On arrival I was sent to (not shown to) a room that was beside a bank of generators and the noise was unbearable. I requested a quieter room but even this was incredibly noisy. The ancient air conditioning unit sounded like a fair ground generator.

The room itself was extremely old fashioned and dreary. The paintwork was poor and amateur looking with bare areas of pain and splashes of paint on walls. The bathroom was miniscule and basic, containing just a toilet and bath. There was a very dated plastic hand basin in the shape of a shell outside the bathroom which was set into a unit onto which was placed a coffee machine. Hideous bright carpet, cheap furniture topped with a large basket containing an artificial plant. There was no safety deposit box or refrigerator. The bed was large but uncomfortable and the sheets were not ironed. there was a long black hair across the pillow.

I was awakened at 0600 by the noise of a grass cutter vehicle on the gold course in front of the hotel which absurdly was operating in the dark and the rain.

Breakfast was dire and served in room that looked like a greenhouse. Cold, bare and unappealing. It consisted of cold coffee, orange juice, cornflakes and sliced bread. There was an old waffle maker with a jug of gloopy grey mixture to make waffles.

I had booked for, and paid in advance, for two nights but left after breakfast after the first night.

On the plus side, the few members of staff I did encounter were friendly and appeared to try their best in a dreary motel that is desperately in need of a revamp.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzielegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    54
    37
    50
    71
See reviews for
71
50
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was absolutely the worst hotel, really motel - we checked out within 15 minutes after receiving our room key. The name of the hotel is deceiving, this is a motel not a hotel - 2 story building with entry into the room from outside. However, let's recap my brief stay at the Grand Palms. First, the room door would not open no matter how many ways we tried the key. While we were waiting for the maintenance man, we noticed a small appliance a few rooms down exposed to the elements. We thought nothing of it at the time (I will come back to this). The maintenance man came by and right away opened the door. He then showed us that we need to push our body weight into the door. Really?! So we get inside. As soon as we walked in, I smelled smoke (in a nonsmoking room). The room was hot, dark and old (burnt orange motif in the bedding and on the walls). There was no fridge or microwave in the room. Apparently the fridge and microwave had to be rented. What?! Remember that appliance sitting outside on the floor, that was the fridge that the maintenance man brought into our room and set up on the bathroom sink. He tried to make it look nice by putting the coffee maker above it and plugging it in and using some random rag to run through the fridge one time. Then he came in with a microwave from somewhere and plugged it next to the T.V. The maintenance man tested the microwave to make sure it worked. The A/C was turned on the moment we arrived in the room and ten minutes later the room was still hot. The ceiling fan squeaked and there were holes in the bed skirt. Did I mention that the fire alam was hanging by its wires and a whole was exposed almost the size of the fire alarm? However, going back to the microwave, it was dirty so we asked for another one. The maintenance man did not speak English although he was very nice so another man came to our room to discuss changing the microwave. At this point, we decided to check out. However, we could not get a receipt and refund. Why - the hotel/motel would not give us one because we booked through a travel site. We left and went to another hotel. Needless to say, we got our money back from the hotel the next morning after a call to the credit card company and a receipt. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjohn7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pembroke Pines hotels

Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I will start my review by giving Esther Kudos for trying to help us out, she did her best to get us a room that we could stay in.
We checked into a king room, found the a/c unit sounded like a jet taking off. This room had been remodeled and was very nice, we thought the rest of the place would be ok. Wrong!! Maintenance was off so they moved us to a suite, this was horrible. It was late evening and we had to hurry to meet up with family. We stopped for lysol to spray in vents, the musty smell was horrible. Woke up the next morning with a sore throat, we knew we could not stay in that room. Esther moved us once again, this room didn't have the musty smell, but it had a sticky bathroom floor (I cleaned myself) We found very tiny ants the next morning around the microwave. The furniture was horrible. The bed was horrible, had a hump in the middle. This could be a real nice place if they would only update all the rooms!! Breakfast was a joke!! Run and do not look back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room with a quiet a/c unit. Do Not stay in older rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We could not have been more disappointed in this property. No spoons available in the restaurant for breakfast, no cream for the coffee, the food was awful, the toilet in the room made a high-pitched squealing noise whenever it was flushed, no elevator . . . a tired hotel with no regard for service. The waitress advised that she couldn't find a spoon for our cereal at breakfast, and when we asked for cream for the coffee, we were told she'd find some. By the time she did, the coffee was cold. The toilet made a high-pitched squealing noise when it was flushed, and when we called the front desk to complain, they told us we were likely hearing the alarm clock in the next room. How thin are the walls? And no elevator means dragging your luggage up the stairs to the second floor. The grounds are beautiful, but I wish we'd stayed at the brand new Holiday Inn Express just one exit north on the highway. The rate was about the same and the service has to be better there. We will not be returning to this property and recommend that potential guests look elsewhere. In addition to the Holiday Inn Express, there's a Hampton Inn just one quick exit north on the highway, and if you go 2 - 3 exits north (about 5 - 7 minutes), you'll find a Marriott.

We chose the location on the recommendation of a friend, as it provided good access to the beaches (30 minutes), the Everglades (15 minutes), and the entrance to the Keys (about an hour). The location was the only plus.

Room Tip: The best tip I can provide for choosing a good room is to go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for a youth baseball tournament. Rooms smell terribly of floral deodorizer to try and cover a musty smell. Beds are small and everything is old and in various states of disrepair.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hassellhoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

There is wireless internet. You get a breakfast ticket when you check in. Bathroom is good. Shower is good. Bed was good. AC was little noisy but not bad. Carpet was clean. TV was old style, but it was working. I liked it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atalinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My counsins arrived from Venezuela yesterday to this hotel which I had based on the hotel rating and pictures. However, what a disappointment! It was nothing like the pictures: everything was old and worn out (my cousin added the mattress was uncomfortable as well), and it looked more like a motel than a hotel and spa. Breakfast was also not what they expected, offering some toast and jam and nothing warm. Overall, I guess it is a no frills hotel but at almost $200 a night for the area, they expected a bit more. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially not with a family with older people and children.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank america m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke Pines
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale West / Pembroke Pines
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Pembroke Pines
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke Pines-Sheridan St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Fort Lauderdale Miramar
12.4 mi away
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sunrise
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort

Property: Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Address: 110 Grand Palms Dr, Pembroke Pines, FL 33027-1300
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pembroke Pines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pembroke Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 137 comfortable rooms and suites located on a 27 hole golf course with all of the amenities that you would expect of a first class golf facility including a pro shop, excellent food and beverage services and a staff that is ready to cater to your every whim. Minutes from South Florida's famed beaches and some of the best shopping in the country we invite you to relax at our resort while having access to all that South Florida has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palms Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palms Hotel, Spa And Golf Hotel Pembroke Pines
Grand Palms Pembroke Pines
Grand Palms Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort Pembroke Pines, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing