We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a Find”

Five Sisters Blues Cafe
Ranked #9 of 669 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of a Find”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Took my family here after reading tripadvisor reviews and we were pleasantly surprised! My kiddos (8 and 7) loved the food, specifically the fries and my fiance loved his alligator poboy. My shrimp poboy was tender and great too! We sat out on the deck and had attentive service and they were super nice to our kids. Price was right and the kids kept begging us to go back for the remainder of our trip there. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Alphagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    206
    72
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service Could Improve”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived toward the end of lunch...around 1:00 on a Tuesday. There was a good crowd when pulled in the parking lot & opted to sit outside. It took a while to have a waitress come to the table to take drink orders & then again to place food orders. All 4 in the party had sandwiches...Shrimp PoBoy, Fried Green Tomato BLT, Hickory Smoked Pulled Pork & Smoked Turkey & Bacon. ALL the food was FABULOUS! The cole slaw is wonderful as are all of their sides. Substitutions are not a problem! The interior is comfortable & bathrooms are clean! There was no music when we visited, but I would definitely go back! Brunch looked amazing & Five Sisters appears to be a very popular eating establishment. It took time to get the bill...we had to go inside to look for our waitress, but despite mediocre service a repeat visit would be anticipated! If you're downtown Pensacola, stop in for good eats!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not like Mama's”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recently tried Five Sisters Blues Cafe for the second time. Decided not to report the first visit as it was mediocre and the service was lacking. Out of grace I did not post and wanted to try this place again. Love the decor, the location, the whole story behind this restaurant. On the first visit I had the pork chops. They tasted as if they had been baked and then fried as an afterthought. Turnip greens were bitter. Sweet potatoes were excellent! Service was not very good with long waits for one refill and extra butter. On the second visit, I had the special of the day - grits with fried fish and shrimp. The fish was dry and was not fresh fried but seemed frozen and baked. Grits tasted as if they had been cooked in broth and the broth taste was overpowering. Fried shrimp were cold. For the side, black eyed peas that tasted like they were from a can. Southern cooks can vary in their preparations but both meals seemed to be processed before hand and not a fresh, southern, homestyle meal. Excellent service the second trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Traveler1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Soul Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My niece, her husband and young son went with me for lunch and everyone loved it! We were seated right away with a warm welcome and got our drink order in moments after we sat down. Our waitress was very helpful, the restaurant allowed substitutions and everything tasted fresh and delicious. They make their own sauces and dressings and it certainly adds to the meal. I started with fried green tomatoes, served with two different dipping sauces, then had a plate of 3 different sides. Great home cooking with a soul food twist at a reasonable price! This restaurant is in the downtown area of Pensacola. Under the question, "Does this restaurant have the following?" I didn't pay attention to anything asked except the outdoor seating. I only noticed that because we passed some of it on our way in. We were so hungry, we had tunnel vision.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived for an early dinner with my family of 5. Seen the pictures online and just had to try the fish(they cooked mine grilled) and cheese grits with shrimp on side and boy was it fantastic!!! Came with a side cup of slaw of my choice. I ate every bite! My husband said it was awesome. He enjoyed the large burger with the fried egg & bacon on top it too was off the charts! Kids enjoyed chicken and shrimp baskets. The chicken tenders were amazingly yummy! Fast and friendly service. The place had soft blues music playing in the background. Not too fancy. (We can in with beach hair)Decent prices. If back in the beautiful Pensacola historic downtown area would stop in again & try more food! Love the southern & soul atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank MiMiTupelo_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Sisters Blues Cafe also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Five Sisters Blues Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing