We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BOOK IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Pensacola
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This place is terrible! The pool is not open, the outside looks a mess, the characters coming in and out makes you want to lock up all your belongings in your car, the rooms smelled like smoke and funk! Carpet was not vacuumed and needed to be shampooed, bed squeaky and the check in guy looked as if he just woke up and came to work! Don't stay at this place if you don't have too....seriously! Oh, the tv is so outdated!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tywana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a dump. The pool was closed, looked like someone pissed in it. Breakfast was crap, staff unvelcoming, cleaning was non existent, the rooms had a bad smell.

I've traveled quite a bit, but never seen anything like this....

What a place....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jan-Tore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7220, General Manager at The Lodge at Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jan-Tore E,
I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I am very surprised to hear that you felt the staff was unwelcoming, as our staff normally gets outstanding reviews from our guests. I'm not sure if you reported any of the problems you experience to the guest service representative on duty, but had you done so we could have taken care of any issues you had before you checked out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and we'll maintained. The carpet looks new. The mattress on out bed was also new. It still had the plastic on it. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay you can't beat it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7220, General Manager at The Lodge at Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Chuck,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide great customer service, as well as clean comfortable guest rooms at a reasonable rate and I am very pleased that you experienced that during your stay. I will share your comments with me staff and we hope you will choose to stay with us should you visit our area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our son was graduating from college in Pensacola so we booked a cottage through VRBO months in advance so we could host a small party for him and his friends following the ceremony. As luck would have it severe flooding caused damage to many homes in Pensacola the week before we arrived so we were told our reservation had been cancelled. EconoLodge had space available, at a very busy time of year, so we booked our rooms. The exterior of the establishment is not well maintained. Banners hanging half way up and half way down and a swimming pool with no water and a cover that is kind of falling into the pool. The employees are quite friendly and helpful. We booked three rooms for three days for our family. The rooms were clean, some of the electrical outlets do not work and there are very few of them. One of the bathroom doors stuck; it was very hard to open and close. The corridors are not clean and the lobby/breakfast area does not really accommodate guests eating breakfast - coffee, juice, muffins, and biscuits and gravy. Overall I would rate this facility 2.5, based upon good customer service, so I'm rounding up to 3. The place will definitely work in a pinch!

Room Tip: No elevator on premises, so if you have mobility issues request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedandmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7220, General Manager at The Lodge at Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I remember you quite well and must say it was a joy having you and your family stay with us. We are continually looking for ways to improve the Hotel and will continue making the necessary changes. I greatly appreciate your feedback and will put it to use. I hope you will stay with us again when you come back to visit Pensacola!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

THIS PROPERTY IS A DUMP. When we pulled up to the front door I knew it was not going to be good. Being cautious I asked to see my room which was halfway below grade (basement) the hallways where terrible and the whole place is rundown although carpets look new.......when I cancelled my reservation the clerk was polite and gave me a confirmation of the cancellation. When we found accomodation down the street the clerk said they hotel had been closed for several years lost is previous franchise and was recently reopened as a Econo Lodge if I where the parent company I would definetely take my name off this property.

Room Tip: FIND another hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7220, General Manager at The Lodge at Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Brian,
I have looked into your reservation, but was unable to find any reservation under your name. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced, even though you did not stay. The first floor rooms are actually not in any "basement" as you say. They are however downstairs, but there is a huge difference between downstairs and a basement. You said the hallways were horrible, but you mentioned that the carpet looked new. Since there is only carpet and guest room doors in the hallway, I'm not sure what about it was so horrible, as you didn't specify, but regardless you were not staying in the hallway. I'm not sure where the guest service agent at the "other' hotel you stayed at received her information, but that would also be incorrect. We have been Econolodge since January 01, 2013. Considering the rate I'm assuming you probably booked the room at, I can't imagine why you would expect anything other than a safe, clean, 2 star hotel,which is what you were given. In the future I would suggest that you book a room with a star rating higher than a 2.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I am the motel hopper. So compared to motel 6 and other budget motel by far:
service: nice and friendly
room: clean and hotel grade
bath: clean and ok looking
location: not too bad, behind Sears and shopping area
Overall: well i can't find any motel around the area for under $50 plus they give military discount as an appreciation to service members. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7220, General Manager at The Lodge at Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brandy Lecler
General Manager
Econo Lodge, Pensacola, FL
850 857 0099

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel was the cheapest in the area the night we stayed, but even though it is cheap basic hygiene standards should still be met! Although the bed was made, the pillows and sheets were stained, dirty, and had assorted hairs on them. Linen was also very crushed and had obviously just been remade without changing the sheets or pillowcases! We went down and told the front desk who gave us more sheets. These ones were crisp and clean making it more even more clear that the other ones had been reused, not just poorly washed. Carpet was extremely dusty and looked like it hadn't been thoroughly vacuumed in a long time. The hallways smelt disgusting - a combination of vomit and curry!! Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidi895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM7220, General Manager at The Lodge at Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We have taken your comments into consideration and have since had all of the hallway and guest room carpets re-cleaned.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Brandy Lecler
General Manager
Econo Lodge, Pensacola, FL
850 857 0099

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#36 of 65 in Pensacola
169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Pensacola West
Motel 6 Pensacola West
#26 of 65 in Pensacola
173 reviews
4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Pensacola Bayview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pensacola West
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pensacola

Address: 7220 Plantation Rd, Pensacola, FL 32504-6334 (Formerly Econo Lodge Pensacola)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range: £29 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lodge at Pensacola 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Interstate 10, only minutes from Pensacola Regional Airport, Cordova Mall and The University of West Florida. Just a short drive away from the beach, where you can enjoy water sports, fishing and boat tours, among other fun activities. Other nearby attractions include: Pensacola Civic Center, Seville Quarter, Pensacola Maritime Park, Five Flags Speedway. Guests of the Econolodge hotel are invited to relax in the seasonal outdoor pool, utilize the on-site Business Center for business travel needs and enjoy these amenities: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Guest laundry service, Interior corridors. All rooms offer cable television, a coffee maker and alarm clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Pensacola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pensacola Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing