We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap motel would have been better.”
Review of Villas on the Gulf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas on the Gulf
West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap motel would have been better.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in L8 the patio door wouldn't lock they had a stick for you to put in it to lock so we had to go to the parking lot and go around to get to the beach. The pillows were so stained with sweat it was not a week or two it was like 6 month or year sweat.Sheets were very very old.We bought new ones just so we could sleep on clean stuff.Beach location was great.I know they could at least replace sheets and pillows twice a year for rental price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beverlyfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This unit needs a deep cleaning. There is a persistent fishy odor in the fridge. The balcony furniture is in poor condition and soiled. There are exposed carpet tacks between the bathroom tile and dirty shag carpet. A cheap strip from Home Depot would fix this. Thank God for tetanus shots! The screen door to the balcony has a huge tear. Not a lot of insulation between units, as we are early to bed early to rise and had to listen to the people above us waking us night after night right after we fell asleep.

Room Tip: Always do research before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooks D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We rented this condo for five nights on VRBO, #317129 and it was great. 3 adults and 2 kids. We had 1 bedroom with a king bed and 1 bedroom that had 2 full size beds, 1 1/2 baths, a balcony overlooking a pool, a very nice supplied condo with everything we needed including a washer and dryer. We did have a shortage of towels and the owner had some delivered to us right away. We could not see the beach but it was a short walk to one of my favorite beaches. There are no chairs to rent so you have to bring your own. The condos are 2 stories and you can park under the first floor. .

Room Tip: Look at the pictures online to see what room looks good to you on VRBO.com. Each one is owned by a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank jadajag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great condo! Relaxing and condo F10 is close to the pool and beach which was great for my kids. The balcony has stairs that lead down to the pool. Very clean and well taken care of. Best family vacation spot!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chapmanfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
382 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Booked this condo with Ron Figgins. He met us at the unit and described the place in detail. It was terrific; one bedroom unit with full kitchen facilities. Clean and well maintained. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HCLBRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My extended family of 8 stayed in condo J1 in June 2012 for a week. To begin, the unit was not clean. The guest toilet was filthy, the towels were dirty, the master tub shower and curtain had mildew, the patio and patio furniture was covered with sand, the bedrooms had trash on the floor, food crumbs were under the pull out couch and the pots and pans in the kitchen hadn't seen soap and water in a while (dried fish pieces with scales to be specific). The management office was notified immediately and the same cleaning crew was sent out. Unfortunately, some of the same things were missed again. Upon the second complaint, a new cleaning crew was sent but by this time, we had lost at least one of our vacation days. Very frustrating indeed. I don’t consider myself to be very picky person but this was disgusting.

As for the furnishings, at first glance the condo seems nicely decorated for a rental, however, the couch needs replacing or mending as there is a dime size hole in the cushion. Other than that, everything was in working order.

For the location, this unit is not ocean front but fortunately, you can see the water from the balcony and from the kitchen window. Condo area is quiet during the day and you can walk straight to the beach via the walkway. Nearest grocery store isn’t close and try to avoid peak times on the bridges, they can get backed up.

One additional problem we had was a large family with MANY kids staying in the unit above us. Every night until 10 pm or so (my little ones went to sleep or tried to sleep at 9), you could hear the kids running around, moving furniture and jumping on the bed. I would suggest getting a top floor condo.

Overall, though disappointing, the condo served its purpose and we enjoyed ourselves once most of the issues were resolved. I would say if your standards are for a 2 ½ star motel, this condo would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KgTwinA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in Unit M8 which is Gulf front. We had a wonderful view including the Blue Angels show over the beach. This complex of condos has several buildings, all two stories, only two of which are fronting the beach. Because it isn't a high rise, even on July 4th, the beach was not overwhelmingly crowded. Our unit was spacious and nicely furnished with bright fun colors. The rental staff was very nice and helpful. Love this location away from the busier more crowded areas. My children really enjoyed the resident ducks in the lagoon as well.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dalmom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
689 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,611 reviews
3.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,134 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on the Gulf

Property: Villas on the Gulf
Address: Via de Luna Drive, Pensacola, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Pensacola
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas on the Gulf 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villas on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas On The Gulf Hotel Pensacola
Villas On The Gulf Pensacola, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing