We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great barbque”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #46 of 672 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great barbque”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We eat here a couple times a month, they have great ribs and a great wait staff. The chicken is a little dry most of the time but we eat the ribs or pork so I don't really mind.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubaski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for the review, Sucbaski80. We're glad to hear that you enjoy your regular visit with us! We appreciate you and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    40
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good que”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

living in Memphis for so long, i have become somewhat of a barbeque snob. However, this was pretty good! nice portions, decent price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank karatepunk816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's OK,”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I have traveled my entire life, have eaten BBQ in all corners of our nation. I just don't care for Carolina type of BBQ. The service was great, place was clean and staff was friendly. Portions were small, but fairly priced.
Aside from the vinegar type of BBQ, the place was OK.
I won't return, not because of anything they did or didn't do, simply because I don't care for this type of BBQ. If you like this flavor, you should enjoy this venue.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spooko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for the review, Spooko. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Let us help! Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with any details regarding your visit so that we can better address the issue. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“BBQ gone bad”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Maybe it's because we order take out for the office they send crap. But the past year we ate here once a week then dropped back to every week to now just if we have too. The food sucks most of the time. I always order chicken & ribs with double Mac n cheese. Chicken is always rubbery & the ribs are crispy. It wasn't always like this but the food seems to be leftovers reheated. Maybe its management or the practices of Sonnys BBQ? But I have had enough crappy meals there that unless they step up there food standards we won't be ordering lunch from there. Your guaranteed to have a messed up stomach & dried out burnt rubbery food. Only thing they can get right at this store is the salad because its not cooked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dcrosby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks again for your review, @Dcrosby007. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last experience. Please email us with any additional details at Social@SonnysBBQ.com so that we can address the issue. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you can give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly really good BBQ.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We are from Texas and are always hesitant about trying BBQ from other states; however the whole family loved this place. Ribs were a big hit. Lunch menu is reasonably priced and you get plenty to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenhall139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing