We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food great - Cook cracking jokes can get offensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobusei Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nobusei Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Restaurant details
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food great - Cook cracking jokes can get offensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lots of parking could mean something. We walked in at 8:30pm Saturday night and the place was empty. Really friendly cook and server. We had six in the party for the Hibachi Grill. The bill was $205. The food was very good, lots of soy in everything he cooked. We enjoyed everything as well as the first five to six cracks about sexual items. It keep going and going even after we asked for other type of joking. Not sure if the cook could talk about anything else. Apparently the cook is the owner. Maybe that is why it is empty, others have had enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dm2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The food is super amazing! And cooked right in front of you! The cook even interacts with you , cracks jokes, and even gives you extra food to try! I've been here many times before and always will come back to enjoy the food and people! Even got a free t-shirt and candy from the owner! Amazing place again, defiantly recommend to anyone, and the spicy tuna rolls , best I've ever had in my life! Even ordered 12 one time and ate all of them!! The outside might look strange , but really is one of the best places around, and they deserve more business!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MorganHw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Have eaten here several times and all the times was very impressed by the atmostphere and the quality of the food

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene' F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Horrible sushi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

The hibachi wasn't bad, but the sushi was awful. It was rolled very sloppy & the contents fell out. Not worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mah1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“don't judge a book by it's cover!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

NobuSei is not the fanciest place you'll find hibachi and sushi in Pensacola, but if you can get past the exterior you will find the food is excellent! Only one of two japanese/sushi restaurants in town actually owned and run by Japanese, the food is 100% authentic! they even make their sauces and marinades in house with their "secret" recipe. I recommend trying a NobuSei special roll if you are having sushi (even if you are not!) and the filet is out of this world if you are trying the hibachi!! Please be patient with the wait staff...there may be a slight language barrier with some of the older Japanese ladies that work there, but they are all very sweet and are trying to do their best! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorilouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nobusei Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing