We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My stay was salvaged by the manager on duty. I'm not completely soured on the Courtyard brand after dealing with her. First, I had an inordinately long wait (4 check-in's deep) at check in after a 7+ hour drive because there was only one person manning the front desk. It's too bad the 3 hotel employees socializing in the dining room couldn't have been trained to help.

Then I experienced the most horrible mistake I've ever experienced at a hotel. I returned to my room a couple of hours after check-in only to find it was occupied by someone else and my bags were missing! That's a surprise noone wants! I am grateful the person had apparently just stepped out (room was still a bit humid from recent shower!). It saved a great deal of embarrassment for us both! Apparently, I had been given the "wrong" room and my bags were moved to the "right" room while I was gone. The manager, however, understood my vexation and handled the problem professionally and comped me appropriately. I don't know if she was prepared to see me, but surely someone had to go through her or another manager to change my room and bag location in the first place?

The room I ultimately was assigned was decent and clean with a pleasant layout, and I even stayed my second night, as planned. It was missing a channel directory and apparently this Courtyard location doesn't supply body lotion in the bathroom either. The room-darkening drapery is also riddled with pin-sized to eraser-sized holes. Fortunately, they weren't large enough to disturb my sleep, but was distracting enough for me to actually count the holes as if I were counting sheep. I was pleased to find they had all manner of soft and firm standard sized pillows, however, as opposed to those ridiculous square ones found in so many hotels today. All in all, I'd say the hotel is definitely overpriced (at the rate i paid for the second night) and the staff, for the greater part, either need better training or managerial/owner/corporate support. It may be worth a stay due to location, but I'm not convinced I'll return on my next trip to Pensacola.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UniqueCritique2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Location is fantastic, rooms are large and very nice, the lobby is comfortable with sofas and a fireplace, and the staff is friendly. Everything you could ask for in a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it is the only place to stay in town. Don't even bother with the Crowne Plaza. The rooms are nice, the fireplace in the lobby is a nice touch and the Staff are great. All of the front desk staff are nice and attentive to the guests needs. Belinda from sales does a great job with special requests.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeingtheworld1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed here one night while on a job interview, its close to lots of good resturaunts and Sammys. its right on the bay with some good views. Its an older Courtyard that has been updated, so the rooms are a little small. But i have no complaints and it within walking distance to mcguires I

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrishA9591KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is my 3rd time staying here over the last 3 years. Location is about 10 minutes from the airport and convenient to my work downtown. Staff was very friendly and the room clean. The breakfast was around $7 for the cold bar and $9 for the hot (made to order omelets, etc.). Rooms were large, big flat screen TV, free WiFi/plug internet and a fridge. Within walking distance of Outback, Meguire's and a few other spots as well as a Circle K gas station across the street for a late night snack. Great for a business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nashcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We only stayed here one night, arriving late and leaving fairly early. Had to wait a fair bit of time to get checked in as the front desk person was in the back office. The noise outside the hotel was a problem, as were the holes in the blackout drapes which prevented us from sleeping in as long as we'd have liked. Lobby is not the updated Courtyard lobby. The bed was very firm and didn't seem to be the typical Marriott mattress....first time in a while I've seen that. Tub did not drain well at all.

Pros: lots of parking and convenient to interstate.

We are moving to Pensacola so won't be in need of lodging here anymore, but probably wouldn't stay here if we did. The other Courtyard up north was a lot more pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texas2011a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Several of us stayed at this Courtyard for 2 nites (a Friday and Saturday.) We were scuba diving in the area that weekend--and there are great scuba options nearby if anyone is interested in that sport. The rooms were larger than most, spotless, and comfortable. AM breakfast included freshly made omelets and waffles, plus all the ususal hotel fare. Pool was crystal clean and not crowded--lots of room to catch the sun. Fitness center on site seemed more than adequate (though none in our bunch was working out that weekend.) Bar on the premises. The staff is extremely helpful--guided us to very good restaurants both nites, and even gave us free appetizer/dessert coupons for one of them. Ice and drink machines were working, lobby market had extra goodies, and also right across the street from a well-stocked convenience store. Great location--1/2 street off of the water with easy access to downtown Pensacola and to Gulf Breeze (across the bridge.) We stayed here several years ago, and halfway expected the property to show some wear. (Beach-goers are not always the neatest guests.) But hotel was just a lovely as it was 3 years ago. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BamaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
0.6 mi away
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Pensacola Grand Hotel
#11 of 65 in Pensacola
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,214 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,669 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pensacola West-Navy Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown

Address: 700 E Chase St, Pensacola, FL 32502-6235
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range: £114 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, recently renovated hotel is situated in the downtown Pensacola area. We are across the street from beautiful Escambia Bay and just minutes away from the sugar-white sands of Pensacola Beach. Pensacola's Urban Renewal projects have turned our downtown area in to one of the best places to enjoy shops, art, museums, fabulous local seafood and an exciting night life. It's A New Stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown Hotel Pensacola
Pensacola Courtyard
Pensacola Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Pensacola Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing