We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice touch, but a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel has a lovely decor. You can see the history and how they have keep the look like back in the early 1900's when they had the train depot. Trains still go by and blow their whistle which can be loud no matter where you are at in the hotel. Also since the hotel is old it seems like the walls are thin and you can hear conversations in neighboring rooms. Their are no coin laundries so I had the hotel to laundry some of my clothes and didn't realize they charged me $19.00 for washing, drying and folding wrinkled clothes. It wasn't worth it. The toilet had a gurgling sound and after I complained to the front desk, they tried to fix it but the sounds came back. However on the bright side of the hotel, the restaurant and bar provided great food at reasonable prices. The bed was very comfortable and the room was stylish.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Dennis L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found the restaurant and bar to be great and reasonable as well as the room to be very comfortable and stylish. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and strive to be the best in the area. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noise. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

WOW!!! The hotel was fantastic, the service was impeccable and the staff was there to serve. CAVU lounge was a great place to unwind after a day of fishing followed by a great meal.

Room Tip: Corner room looking out towards the bay with LOTS of Windows is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We greatly appreciate the five star review and we hope to see you again! thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area either for business or pleasure. It is in a great location for many restaurants and the downtown area. It is also a very short drive to the beach.
Two points worth mentioning are the history of this hotel as it was once a train depot. There is alot of history here and some of the period antiques are really cool to see. Also the many black and white photos of Pensacola from the early 1900's are fun to look at. They are hung throughout the common areas. Secondly, the views of Escambia Bay are wonderful...request an upper level floor if they have one available.
Rooms are large, clean, and the beds incredibly comfortable. Perhaps though, the best part of staying at The Pensacola Grand is the friendliness of the staff. Everyone that works here is so accommodating and it shows that they take pride in their job. We've been staying here for years and I highly recommend you give Crown Plaza Pensacola Grand a try. I am confident you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the five star review! we appreciate you choosing us to begin and end your stay here in the heart of the historical district. we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is okay, as far as the rooms go and the hotel reception staff very nice, but it falls down terribly in the restaurant called "1912" not the food, that was okay, not the cleanliness, that was okay, but the wait staff that we had on Saturday evening May 19th 2012 did Not know their jobs The female waitress looked like she'd been cleaning bedrooms and the man supposedly taking food orders hadn't a clue.
We were about to attend another function at the civic center across the street but thought it would be a nice3 idea for a group of us to meet in the 1912 Restaurant for dinner. Our Waitress who took only water and drink orders was very slow, it took her over 20 minutes to bring the first 2 glasses of water, then she had to go back for the cocktails, meanwhile we waited and waited and waited for someone to take our order. There was no one else in the restaurant but us. eventually a man came out and haltingly took our orders for food. By this time it was over an hour since we'd arrived, my husband and I declined food at this point because we were running out of time. After everyone had finished " appetizers" this was all we had time for. the man brought out the SEPARATE bills for 4 couples. Then informed us he had added a 20% gratuity for a party of 8. How can 4 separate couples be a party of eight. every bill received, was wrong... he went back three times before he... still didn't get it right. Our Host even ventured into the kitchen to see what was going on and was promptly told " You can't come in here" This restaurant is a disgrace to Pensacola.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the bay, at leaast you can have a nice view of the bay while not being able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanukgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We thank you for your three star view and choosing to join us in the heart of the historic location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

There isn't much in terms of luxury hotels when it comes to Pensacola (I'm a former resident), but the Pensacola Grande is as close as you will get. The front desk staff isn't what you would expect for a hotel of this caliber, they really need to step it up. The rooms were clean, but the bed was a bit too firm for my liking. The bathroom was so small! We stayed on the 14th floor which requires your room key to get to. I don't know what the benefit of staying on this floor is over staying on the lower floors. It is not like other hotels where you get free cocktail hour or snacks, it just cost more money. Not worth it. I would definitely stay there again if we have to go back to Pensacola.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Danielle C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Pensacola Grand, FL. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We strive to be the best hotel that provides great hospitality and comfortable accommodations. Your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit with us.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are looking forward on your next visit to Pensacola, FL.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Thanks to good Trip Advisor reviews I wasn't totally put off by the general appearance and lack of attentiveness of the front desk staff who seemed below the standards one would expect at a first class hotel. By contrast,w e found our room to be very clean and tidy with nice furnishings and a terrific view of Escambia Bay. We didn't hear any trains until after we awoke in the morning though the location right beside the railway could bring nocturnal freight trains (only a few pass each day). Other plus features included ample free parking and the presence of multiple luggage carts as well as the beautifully restored former L&N train station that serves as an ante room and the hotel lounge in one corner of the building. We were surprised when the housekeeper knocked at 9:30am despite a do not disturb sign to inquire when we would be leaving and returned an hour later as if to hurry us along. Overall, a great property but the front desk manager should watch Hotel Impossible for tips to spiff up the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay away for a good view and to be away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for the 4 star review! we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise when I arrived here yesterday . Beautiful old hotel. Great service, priced right.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We greatly appreciate the five star review and we hope to see you again! thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,233 reviews
7.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,186 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Pensacola West-Navy Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensacola Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensacola Grand Hotel

Address: 200 E Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502-4963
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#12 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range: £92 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensacola Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot, which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, an in-house gift shop, numerous rooms and our Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breathtaking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola. We are pleased to offer a Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls, and sleep amenities. The Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center. Our hotel has received countless service awards; therefore, we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pensacola Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza
Pensacola Grand Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing