We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensacola Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Pensacola
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was my second stay at the Pensacola Grand. It is close to the beach and full of character! The entry is a former train terminal with beautiful architecture. The staff, with the exception of the front desk, is very helpful. This includes security. My room this visit left a lot to be desired. I had to keep my curtains closed due to the view. Stay away from room 311 and others in the vicinity. It overlooks a glass roof covered in bird excrement and visiting pigeons! They shouldn't charge full price for this room. I would stay again just for the character of the hotel. Room service is not great but the restaurant is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    145
    84
    24
    21
See reviews for
106
120
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A good choice if you find yourself in Pensacola on business. Very nice hotel in historic, renovated train station building. The Architect in me LOVES this place. The tourist in me might want to be closer to the beach activities. Price is good, lounge and restaurant are good, pool is weak (and was not heated in March as advertised), work-out center is weak, view is weak, but the rooms are nice and clean. The train noise can be annoying if your room is on the East side of the tower. Centrally located in Downtown, not too far from airport, not too far from beach side stuff. All in all, a great experience. I would stay here again gladly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the West side of tower away from train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is built onto the back of the historic Pensacola train station. I enjoyed the old section. The new section is fairly routine and not a show place. Just seeing the old copper railroad clock made the place for me. The service was nice in the hotel. Room cleaning was well done, the front desk was very helpful The bar food was routine, or below. You are kind of landlocked there if you don't have a car and the closest restaurant, a Carrabas is great but only open in the evening.

Room Tip: There is a train track (old train station) that is a shocker the first time. You might ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The service was very good, with clean rooms and a comfortable bed. The "1912" restaurant is above average. The lounge serves food as well if you don't feel like going out for a meal though there are many good places to eat in the area (I recommend the Fish House restaurant, which is less than a mile away). The only complaint I had was noise from kids running down the hallway. I would recommend staying there, especially if you have a corporate discount.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WB2754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here on reward points. We were booked into a queen room on arrival, when we asked if they had a king available they said there was one but they were unable to give it to us on a reward night. This is the first time we have ever had this happen. As a Platinum member we normally get some extra benefits. The whole hotel was like walking around a morgue, dark and depressing. We had breakfast there, that was also depressing, food below average, coffee sucked. The hotel is ideal for the civic centre, very remote for anything else.
We checked out and booked into the Holiday Inn Gulf Resort. Got a great room with a balcony and a king bed....on reward points!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupcake1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Cupcake1412,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our location.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology that your request was not granted as well as the poor breakfast. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I'd give the hotel an average review but it was probably just slightly below. The hotel is very old and you can feel it as soon as you get there. Parking had us worried about our bags the entire night as you had to park behind the hotel in a far away lot. Overall, needs to be updated pretty badly, especially the pool area. We will probably stay somewhere else next time through.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
456 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Fancy hotel at decent prices. This place looked and felt like no other hotel in the area. It has an aura of history within it and gives you a sense of worth for your visit. The restaurant also served good food for a relatively low price.
-Free Parking
-Free Wifi
- Historic Design

Room Tip: Breakfast not included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown
#21 of 63 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
7.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensacola Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensacola Grand Hotel

Property: Pensacola Grand Hotel
Address: 200 East Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502-4963
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#12 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensacola Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot , which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, Pandora's Skin & Beauty studio, The Tea Party gift shop, meeting rooms and the Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breath taking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola . We are pleased to offer the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls and sleep amenities. The Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center . Ranking 7th in Overall Customer Satisfaction in all of Crowne Plazas-worldwide; we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pensacola Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza
Pensacola Grand Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing