We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensacola Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Pensacola
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent a night here recently while in town for business and I was regretting the fact that I haven't been staying here in the past. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this facility is. It's a very nice setting for a hotel,and a very nicely decorated lobby too. Didn't try the restaurant that's on site since I was drawn to McGuire's right down the street, but it looked nice and the menu looked good as well. Did stop in at the bar in the lobby,and it was nice with friendly staff,and good beer selection on tap. The rooms are nicer than average hotel rooms ,and I got upgraded to the 14th floor for being an elite priority member. Staff at front desk were more than nice when I was checking in,and went out of their way to welcome me . Nicer all around than average Holiday Inn's and I will certainly stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper due to the trains passing nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    145
    84
    24
    21
See reviews for
106
120
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Crowne Plaza Pensacola is certainly one of the better hotels in town...but it's in a dead zone, right across from the convention center. It has a set of active railroad tracks running just noth of the property, and if you are a light sleeper, this may be a problem.

The room was certainly nice enough, about average for what one would expect from a Crowne Plaza in the states. I would suggest this hotel more for business than pleasure.

Room Tip: Avoid the north side of the hotel, railroads tracks are just a stone's throw away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMaysHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear BillyMaysHere,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Built next to the old L&N train station, the hotel uses the station as it's lounge, shops, offices, restaurant and meeting rooms. The rooms themselves are in a tower next to the hotel.

The "needs some work" refers to the elevators (one was very sketchy - it would go up in spurts). The room itself was a corner room and had a hallway to get to the sleeping area. The views were pretty good.

One warning - there is an active train track right next to the hotel (it is literally about 30 feet from the building). The only rooms that face it are corner rooms, but even on the 9th floor away from the tracks, the train was a bit loud. I would definitely avoid rooms on the lower floors.

Bedding was very soft. Bathroom looks like it was updated fairly recently.

The restaurant food was good, which is a good thing as there aren't really any restaurants close by (though historic downtown is certainly within walking distance).

Room Tip: Avoid floors that could make it hard to sleep with the active train track next to the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I would have given the hotel 5 circles except for one small problem. We were meeting another couple at the hotel and I made the reservation. At check in the other couple had not arrived. the Assistant Manager was outstanding asking if I wanted adjoining rooms and he said he would make a note with the name of the other couple so at check in there wouldn't be any confusion. When they arrived the note was ignored and they were assigned to a room on another floor. That in itself was tolerable but at check out they still had my billing information on their bill. The Assistant manager had called and apologized for the mix-up before checkout but the billing error still occurred.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a great reunion and the hotel provided all we needed. The location was walking distance to old town. The staff was certainly friendly and provided us with anything we asked for. The rooms were cleaned every day, coffee provided. All in all it was a good weekend. One that we will remember for a long time. A good place for reunions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haven_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

It was my first time visiting the hotel and I have to say it did look shabby on the outside. I was pleasantly surprised once I ventured inside. I was transported to a time of brass and glass and dark wood. It was opulent, it was beautiful, it was Pensacola of by gone days. There is a small circle route you can walk, from the entrance to the lobby with a lovely bar to your left, towards check in turn right just keep looking around its' like a small well appointed atrium. Down further on your left is the library. Another right turn and your standing in front of the 1911 restaurant as I was just yesterday. A very nice lady came out to greet me and asked if I was hungry and I was so I sat down for lunch. I noticed there was a fish of the day so I asked what it was and she said the right variety for me and that was grouper. I have to say, Ive been around the ocean my entire life (28 years in the Coast Guard), and that was one of the best fish sandwiches I have ever eaten. I am definitely going back there again.. The prices are very reasonable as well. Great value for your money. Another right turn and the small but nicely appointed gift shop is on your right. Just a little further and your back in the lobby. It was so nice I went around again. If your in the area it's definitely a great destination for lunch and a drink. I think the whole place is on a big upswing and the sky's the limit.

Room Tip: I did not sleep at the hotel just met there for business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This 14 story building, the tallest in Pensacola, looks tired on the outside, but on the inside it is a polished gem. The tower was built onto a late 1800's train station that must have been the fanciest in the entire region at the time. Everything has been lovingly cared-for, with a restaurant, bar and gathering places added for big events (the civic center is right across the street). The rooms are well-appointed with touches you won't see in the cookie-cutter hotels. Everything is clean, and the bed and linens in our room were so crisp, smooth and wonderful. There is a heated outdoor pool on the second floor roof! The desk staff are so friendly too. The prices are lower than the chains as well. We will stay there next time we are in town!

Room Tip: Even though its first come first served, I think a smile might win you a bayside room on one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailingfamily32541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Pensacola Downtown
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown
Courtyard Pensacola Downtown
#21 of 63 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
7.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensacola Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensacola Grand Hotel

Property: Pensacola Grand Hotel
Address: 200 East Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502-4963
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#12 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensacola Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot , which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, Pandora's Skin & Beauty studio, The Tea Party gift shop, meeting rooms and the Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breath taking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola . We are pleased to offer the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls and sleep amenities. The Crowne Plaza Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center . Ranking 7th in Overall Customer Satisfaction in all of Crowne Plazas-worldwide; we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Pensacola Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza
Pensacola Grand Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing