We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, Hospitality and a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This historic site is comfortable and has all the charm you expect from an historic site with all the modern comforts to make your stay relaxing and rejuvenating. The restored train depot is lovely with a great restaurant and shops to enjoy. If you are feeling chilled, stop by the hotel bar and ask for Tammy's Toddy, her special recipe is sure to please!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Manager at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to share your experience. We really try hard to show real Old School Southern Hospitality to every guest we come in contact with. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza on New Years Eve.

The hotel is a bit dated but clean. The lobby is a beautiful old restored train station with tons of personality. The hotel part is a glass and steel rectangle without any.

I felt it was overpriced. It was NYE so I can understand a higher rate, but Pensacola isn't that great for NYE. The hotel is located directly across the street from the civic center and an easy walk to the main commercial area downtown (15 - 20 minutes).

The staff isn't very friendly. They didn't really make any attempts to ask if they could help us out finding our way around town. The map they provided was a bad photocopy of a bad map of the city. They weren't unfriendly, just not hospitable.

Unless downtown or the civic center is a big part of your visit to Pensacola, I'd seek a better value elsewhere. You'll need a car in Pensacola anyway so you're going to be driving no matter what.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yehaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Manager at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

First off, thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments. They certainly can help us to do even better. New Years Eve in downtown Pensacola has become very popular and our hotel sells out every year. The hotel is a buzz of energy on that night. Regardless of how busy the hotel is, we strive to give each guest individual world-class service. I will pass your comments on to our Guest Service Manager and we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at this hotel while visiting Pensacola because of the price. We looked at hotels on Pensacola Beach Island and the middle Island and this by far was the best value. It's a 15 minute drive to the island so not bad, and this hotel has plenty of parking and is a short drive from restaurants, bars, and the Blue Wahoos Stadium in downtown Pensacola. The historic lobby is really neat to walk through; the rest of the hotel, where the rooms are, is well kept '90s modern. The room and bed were very comfortable. Many people mention the train that passes the hotel, we just asked for a room on the quiet side of the hotel that faces the convention center, while you could still hear the train, it wasn't overwhelming.

Right down the street is a great bagel place called Bagel Heads. Everyday we'd stop there for breakfast and also buy bagel sandwiches for lunch which we'd take with us to Fort Pickens National Park (Gulf Islands National Seashore). The beaches here were beautiful and comfortable with restrooms and lifeguards compared to the dirtier and overcrowded city beaches.

Also, if you like historical homes, be sure to drive through the Pensacola neighborhoods, there are very nice historical Victorian homes to see.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely four star review! we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Overall a nice historic hotel, kept clean & maintained well. Lobby and hallways have a lot of old furniture, some older decorations as well. The bar has decent price on drinks & they were good! Our room was a double on the 10th floor it was clean & bathroom was as well but lighting was dim for getting dressed(makeup, hair) the hotel was busy & the atmosphere was fun on New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely four star review! New years is an exciting time of year to come and experience . We hope you loved the decor and the cheerful atmosphere..we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel decor is aging (think 70's green marble and a lot of gold) but it's clean and service is great. The train depot is cool, and the views of the bay are incredible, just don't expect anything too fancy. It's a good value for the rate. They are doing the best with what they've got.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for the four star review!The views are quite amazing aren't they?! we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was good. The reason for the low rating is the restaurant. The food was not edible, in fact they did not charge us for any of the three courses for three people! The food was over spiced, the desserts was soaked in a horrible sauce. The room was very clean and we did not notice the noise of the trains! The reception staff were very good. The historical building is something to be seen.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Airlinekits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

First off, thank you for the feedback. I appreciate your kinds words on the lodging aspect, as far as the dining went, we simply cannot fix something that we're not aware of. So thank you for pointing out what went wrong.
We pride ourselves on every step of the guest experience from making the reservation, to staying with as and on to your dining experience. I have forwarded your concerns on to the Chef and he is aware of your experience. This is certainly not the normal. Please give us a call at 850.433.3336 should you be back in the area. I promise that you'll enjoy a much better meal than this time. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Centrally located in Pensacola this charming hotel brings you back through time as you walk through the 1912 L&N railroad station to the lobby. The rooms are well appointed with comfortable, CLEAN beds and plenty of room to make yourself at home. The housekeeping staff was courteous and happy to help with any requests. The charm of this hotel were the staff and the train station that is part of the Crowne Plaza, the lobby will make you think you are back in time with all the old memorabilia and the original tile floors throughout. The 1912 restaurant and Lobby bar provides great food and affordable rates and the portions are not to be believed. Our group RNG Travel stayed 3 nights and are looking forward to our return, it was so charming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doit4fun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for the five star review, we are pleased to have met your needs and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pensacola Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
4.3 mi away
Motel 6 Pensacola West
Motel 6 Pensacola West
#25 of 65 in Pensacola
172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensacola Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensacola Grand Hotel

Address: 200 E Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502-4963
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#12 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range: £86 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensacola Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot, which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, an in-house gift shop, numerous rooms and our Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breathtaking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola. We are pleased to offer a Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls, and sleep amenities. The Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center. Our hotel has received countless service awards; therefore, we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pensacola Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza
Pensacola Grand Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing