We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I liked the historic train station connected to the main hotel. It even had the old musty smell to it as you walked the halls. There was even a library and lounge where you could browse the hotel's book collection or sit, relax and surf the internet on your tablet. The rooms of the hotel are in the high-rise add-on, and fortunately my room did not smell old and musty, but was quite clean and comfortable. My room was on the side facing the water, so I really didn't hear the train that ran close by.

The hotel did seem to be isolated somewhat, and not really convenient (or within walking distance) to shopping centers or the city center. It would, however, be an ideal location if you were attending an event at the Civic Center. There are some restaurants about a half mile down the road.

Not sure I would stay here again, but it wasn't a bad place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FreqyFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for selecting our hotel. The historic district and downtown is changing before our eyes. We hope that you come back next year and see all of the neat changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and love it except for the train whistle. The restaurant is one of the best in PNS - I love there buttermilk shrimp. If the hotel could get the train to stop blowing its whistle at night it would be the perfect place to stay in PNS. It is within walking distance of downtown and just a short drive to the beach and Naval Air Musuem.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the middle of the hotel and on the upper floors because of the train whistle - it blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sleepingdogsfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I have lived near the hotel and the historic train depot for the better part of ten years. There are honestly weeks that go by where we don't hear the train and then there is the occasional conductor that seems to enjoy his horn more than others.
Like you said, the rooms up high and in the middle will reduce the noise for the conductor that wants to toot their horn.
Hope to see you again soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Crowne Plaza in Pensacola, FL, exceeded our expectations so much that I'm not sure where to start with the accolades!!! We called the Crowne Plaza on Sunday morning hoping to be able to make reservations for that very day for 4 nights... We reached Eve on the front desk and she was more than AWESOME. The GM needs to be sure to THANK Eve for the incredibly hospitality she affords the guests of this hotel. Eve had already left for the day by the time we arrived on Sunday evening and we encountered Janet -- decided Eve and Janet came from the very same mold as she also made us feel like family coming home for a few days to visit! Apart from the amazing staff at this hotel (from the front desk to housekeeping to the restaurant and bar staff and room service), our room was superb.... amazingly so. It was clean, the view was fantastic, the amenities were wonderful.... when we walked into the room and saw a spiral staircase going up the the bedroom and master bath area, we were stunned and thrilled! After 4 days of being pampered, we headed home.... but before we left, we found out we have to go back for another 4 days so we made our return reservations with Eve before we left. Did I tell you she was awesome when we spoke on the phone with her??? Well, she flew past awesome when we made our return reservations! Seriously, we will stay at this Crown Plaza EVERY time we visit or have business in Pensacola, FL. I honestly think the staff at this hotel must have to pass some very stringent interviews to be able to obtain employment here.... they have the BEST staff ever!!! And.... we barely noticed the train..... it was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: The 2-story rooms on the 15th floor are so comfortable and beautiful -- be sure to check prices/spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mtoast50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Your review was one of the nicest...EVER!!!! I have made copies and distributed them to the staff
and you have helped make our day.
A thousand thanks and a wish that you come back soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This really is a nice hotel: clean, comfortable, lovely setting in an historic train station building. The staff is friendly and accommodating. But, I found it impossible to get a decent night's sleep because of the train whistle that goes off frequently during the night. I asked for a room far from the train to try to limit the interruptions, however, the extremely loud trains woke me up at least twice each night. I had to finally find a different hotel to finish out this trip. I really feel bad for the hotel staff because I'm certain the guests must take issue with the train noises during the night, but really, what can they do??

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Gigi629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for staying and your review. As you know, the hotel is attached to the L & N Train Depot on the National Historic Registry. I live downtown and from time to time there are conductors that seem to enjoy tooting their own horn.
If you come back to Pensacola, ask for a room up high and in the middle.
This will help for the times a conductor "goes overboard".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked this hotel as a last minute trip to do some scuba diving. It is a great location close to the downtown area and marina which is convenient. It is also close to Interstate and easy to get to. The entire hotel and our room was very clean and well appointed. All of the staff was polite and attentive. The pool area is nice and was quiet while we were there. The old railroad station parts of the hotel gave it a nice charm. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was very spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Yes, Pensacola does offer some excellent Scuba Diving trips.
As you mentioned, we are close to the downtown area and marina.
We try very hard to treat every guest as a VIP so to hear they were polite and attentive
let's us know we are doing something right.
Thank you for selecting us.
Thank you for your review.
Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed there on July 9th. Great stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful about places to go in the area.

The only downside is the hotel parking lot is not secure and does not have security in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravellotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review and for having selected our hotel.
We hope that you come back. As a point of clarification,
In the review you mentioned that there wasn't security.
We actually have a great security team. Our security team like most today are more
"behind" the scene. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent four night's at the Grand Crowne Plaza in Pensacola.It was a very enjoyable stay.Rooms were nice and clean.Staff was friendly and helpful.The CAVU lounge was a perfect place to meet other traveler's.The old L&N train station that is the entry to the hotel has been updated and is beautiful.I know because I was stationed in Pensacola in the sixties and picked up some friends who came to town by train.Big difference.Looking for a good stay try the Crowne Plaza!You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Away from vending and pool area although at this hotel the pool is out on the roof.If you want a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H, Director of Sales at Pensacola Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for making our day. Thank you for having stayed four night's at our hotel.
We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay. And thank you for the great comment
"Looking for a good stay try the Crowne Plaza". I may have to use that for future marketing
with your permission of course. In all seriousness. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
4.3 mi away
Motel 6 Pensacola West
Motel 6 Pensacola West
#25 of 65 in Pensacola
173 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pensacola Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola Downtown
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Airport (Cordova Mall Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensacola Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensacola Grand Hotel

Address: 200 E Gregory St, Pensacola, FL 32502-4963
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola
#12 Business Hotel in Pensacola
Price Range: £83 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensacola Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pensacola Grand Hotel, Pensacola s premier upscale hotel! Our hotel is located on the site of the Historic L&N Railroad Passenger Depot, which was built in 1912. The depot has been restored and now houses our lobby, CAVU lounge, 1912 Restaurant, an in-house gift shop, numerous rooms and our Grand Ballroom; creating charming ambiance. Our fifteen story, glass, guest room tower attached to the train depot offers breathtaking views of Pensacola Bay and Historic Downtown Pensacola. We are pleased to offer a Sleep Advantage package in every room featuring comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake-up calls, and sleep amenities. The Pensacola Grand Hotel is just off of I-110, Gregory St. in the prestigious downtown district, just 10 minutes away from Pensacola Regional Airport (PNS) and conveniently located next door to the Pensacola Civic Center. Our hotel has received countless service awards; therefore, we know that you will be thrilled with the service you will receive. Businesses near hotel: Solutia, International Paper, Gulf Power, Andrew s Institute Attractions near hotel: Pensacola Beach, Naval Aviation Museum, Seville Quarter/Seville Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pensacola Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pensacola
Pensacola Crowne Plaza
Pensacola Grand Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing