We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK... Cheap Rates, No Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Pensacola - Historic Downtown
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This Days Inn was OK. We stayed there two nights, booking the second night only after making sure our first night was decent. It isn't new, it isn't fancy and it isn't expensive. The room was clean and smelled good. The fixtures were OK. The hallways were clean and decently bright. The breakfast was about average for a Days Inn. The staff was friendly enough. The pool is of the outdoors variety, and fairly small, but it is well maintained.

Internet service signal strength was strong and the speed was adequate. The bed was reasonably comfortable. There is a restaurant but we didn't eat at it, and there are several more within walking distance.

My stock disclaimer: Most of the time when people write reviews for motel or hotel, they only do it when they have a bad experience. I am writing reviews of every motel I stay in to give as unbiased of a review that I can.

The motel reviewed here is a low-priced budget, and it is unrealistic to expect it to be on-par with higher end motels, so comparing it to a higher end 2 and 3 star chain hotels is not fair... I am comparing it against its peers.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sabbath999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

First, let me say I read most of the reviews here, and was nearly scared away from this hotel. The bed and breakfast inns we were interested in were already booked, and the rates here were low, so we took a chance. I booked the room at daysinn.com, and was informed that the booking was non refundable. We brought our own sheets, blanket and pillows, a can of Lysol spray, and flip flops so our bare feet wouldn't touch the carpeting. Checking in was nice, and a manager went ahead to make sure the room was clean before they released it. I told them we might only be staying one night instead of three, they said no problem, we would only pay for the nights we stayed. We found the room looking clean (the carpeting was a dark color, so we couldn't be sure about that), and the bathroom was clean. There were no bad smells, it was like a normal hotel/motel- incidentally, we stayed in room 262 which was in the lower building. We pulled down the covers and checked the sheets, they looked clean but we stripped off the covers and used our own sheets anyway. The room had a nice sized refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, it was actually pretty well equipped and comfortable; a second chair would have been nice, though. An earlier review had noted the ice maker at their building was not working, it still isn't- so it meant a trek to the upper building for ice (the place isn't huge, so it was no worse than the big hotels where you have endless hallways to contend with. The pool area is quite nice, and we spent a sunny Friday afternoon there by ourselves. That is a clue- the place is deserted during the day because most of the guests seem to be working, and from the looks of them I'd say construction jobs, railway repair- blue collar, get dirty kind of jobs. After six o'clock, many of them were standing outside their doors with a beer in one hand and a smoke in the other. We found no problems, though, everyone we met was polite and quiet.
Breakfast is included, and it was your typical continental offering with bagels, toast, cereal, juice and coffee. A nice touch was a waffle iron with cups of batter to fix your own. Saturday morning they ran out of batter fifteen minutes before breakfast ended and the incoming guests were told they were out of luck- the orange juice had run out, too. I heard from a Pensacola resident that the Cajun dishes they serve in the restaurant at lunch and dinner are actually good, but we didn't try it.
The location is very good, right off I-110, (the motel is next to the interstate but it was quiet in our room) and we could walk to the center of downtown, and there is a residential neighborhood nearby with historic houses, a nice place to stroll. After taxes, our room came to $65 per night, and we felt it was a great bargain. We had friends that stayed in the Marriott Courtyard Downtown, they had a huge room and it was really nice and fresh, but they paid almost triple what we did. If you like oysters, check out the Marina Oyster Barn on Bayou Tejar- head east on Cervantes and it's to the left just after the bridge- great views, the fried mullet was good and the raw oysters were fresh (yeah, I know we took a chance eating raw oysters, but they were really good), and the place is fairly inexpensive.
Note: some of the rooms are ground floor right off the parking lot, I wondered if some of the dirtiest carpets were there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queequaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I had the occasion to stay here for 2 nights while on a layover between a conference and returning home. I picked it out because it seemed close to downtown and was a great deal, at a rate of $59.95/night. I should have heeded my initial hesitancy.

The room was not very clean, with a layer of dust on the bedside table that I cleaned off myself with a damp cloth. There were a lot of marks on the walls, and the bathroom door looked like it had taken a beating. The hotel does allow pets, so maybe one had gotten bored and chewed on it.

Speaking of pets, one of my neighbors had some very loud dogs that liked to bark a lot. I had to call the office once to have them send someone to find out where the noise was coming from. There was also a lot of noise from the "club" that is located in the main office area. When I called to ask them about the loud music, the front desk person seemed sympathetic but said she had tried to ask them to turn it down and failed. I resorted to putting in a pair of earplugs.

The free wireless internet is pretty spotty; I never got a very strong signal. Don't expect to get a lot of work done with it.

The ice machine in my building never worked, so I had to drive to the next building over to fill up my cooler for the beach.

The second morning I woke up to no power in my room. The phone was also off, so I couldn't phone the office to find out what the problem was. I took a shower in the dark, and just as I was going to head over to find out, it came back on.

I never got housekeeping service in my room because someone put a do not disturb sign on my door after I had left for the day. Not necessarily the fault of the hotel, but an indication of the clientele. Generally speaking there were a lot of sketchy people loitering around.

The one positive thing about the place: I saw no evidence of bedbugs or cockroaches.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This was a very nice place to stay. All interactions with the front desk were great. The pool was clean. Breakfast had a lot of variety and the staff was great about refilling everything despite it being a busy morning. I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dav12412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We stayed in this hotel when traveling for summer break in June. The room was clean, management was friendly, the reception staff were very helpful. This is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael11137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

my stay was great, the beds were comfortable, people were friendly,pool was very nice and clean. I would highly recomend this hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmyers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I was a little concerned after seeing some postings but I have to admit that my stay was enjoyable. We spent three nights and and were very happy with the accomodations and the staff was very courteous. The room was clean and the price was reasonable. The location was really convenient. We also had a great meal at Maguires. It is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gills100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Pensacola Bayview
3.9 mi away
Motel 6 Pensacola West
Motel 6 Pensacola West
#25 of 65 in Pensacola
173 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Pensacola Fairgrounds
4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Pensacola-NAS
0.4 mi away
Pensacola Grand Hotel
Pensacola Grand Hotel
#12 of 65 in Pensacola
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Pensacola - Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Pensacola - Historic Downtown

Address: 710 N Palafox St, Pensacola, FL 32501-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range: £51 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Pensacola - Historic Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fun in the sun or a historic trip through the capital of Florida, head over to Days Inn Pensacola-Historic Downtown. Located in the heart of downtown, off I-110, our Pensacola hotel is the ideal home base for experiencing all the Gulf Coast has to offer. Wake up to a free Daybreak continental breakfast and scout out area attractions with free WiFi. Take a refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool, relax by our picnic and barbeque area, or take advantage of guest laundry facilities at our pet-friendly hotel. Relax and enjoy a meal at our onsite restaurant, Big Easy Tavern and Cajun Cafe. Enjoy live performances at Pensacola Civic Center or experience history at Pensacola Village. See military aircraft and historical records of U.S. naval battles at the National Naval Aviation Museum. Visit Cordova Mall and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico shore, where you can fish, swim, and scuba dive. Sam's Fun City is just minutes away, with rides and amusements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Pensacola - Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Pensacola Historic Downtown Hotel Pensacola
Pensacola Days Inn
Days Inn Pensacola - Historic Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing