We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value; Nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites Pensacola
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value; Nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel this past summer. We wanted a place to stay for a week while our kids attended camp at the Christian College. This was perfect for our stay.

Pros: The breakfasts were hot and plenty, get there early if you want to make waffles to avoid a long line. They had coffee in the main lobby pretty much all the time. The staff were friendly and it felt safe enough in the general area. There were even a few geocaches close by to find :o) The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was a welcome feature. Tennis court was cute, small, but the kids liked it (bring your balls and raquets. Didn't try out the pool; a little small, but the guests seemed to be enjoying it.

Cons: Only one bathroom was a little tought to share, but worked out ok. Would have been great to have two bathrooms for a unit that would sleep at least 6. We forgot to ask for a top floor room and got stuck on the bottom with noisy kids running around for 2 nights on our ceiling. The noisy neighbors left a large bag of garbage near our door, which stayed there for several days until we reported it. I was a bit surprised it didn't get picked up by staff when they cleaned that room, but who knows.

You need to be aware that they do have a kitchen, but only one set of utensils and limited plates and such. They did have pots, but you would be smart to bring paper plates, plastic forks, etc. to be sure you were covered.

Go ahead and ask for an extra set of towels/rags/handtowels for each guest you bring beyond two. They only have two sets in the room. That apparently is their policy. You will need to ask and go get them if you forget to ask upon check-in. I think they have pool towels to use at the pool area. Same for sheet sets; we had to ask for another set for the fold-out couch. I guess they had a problem with those sorts of things walking off.

That about covers it. Only a few odd things, like you can't park by your room unless you stay in the front rooms. You don't get room service or maid service, which we never want anyway. Lots of candy wrappers and such under the sleeper sofa, but nothing too nasty. I really didn't have many complaints and appreciated the space this hotel provides for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you want to be sure to get a quiet room (but walk softly so the family downstairs will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catchristo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    58
    26
    20
    18
See reviews for
120
34
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

For a middle class family not expecting the Ritz Carlton, this place was great! Free hot breakfast, pool, gas BBQ grills, real fireplace in each room and a price 50 bucks cheaper than competing "Suite Hotels". Location was excellent in center of Pensacola for the soccer tournament we went to. I was worried being next to Interstate would be noisy but none at all. King bed was extremely comfortable. Obviously an older property that was recently renovated, but it was nice, clean and had a complete full kitchen - full fridge, oven, dishwasher, etc. Room set up was unique, more apartment style than traditional hotel, but we liked it better. Nice manicured and trimmed plantings and grounds. We will definitely stay again. One note, they don not have daily maid service to make up the room.

Room Tip: All room are ground or second story. Second story only accesible by stairs, so if you can't haul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

After along road trip from texas going to Tempa stayed 2 nights the two room suite that thay had was awesome had a fireplace and full kitchen, the room was clean and everthing was in working order. We will alwas stay at this property on our return trip or when ever we are in pensacola.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed during the Labor day weekend Saturday thru Tuesday. The room w/loft was awesome. Fireplace, full kitchen 2 baths..for the price a steal!! Excellent daily breakfast.... going back again soon. Thanks to my new grand daughter!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the two story (penthse). The view was a field & on ramp for xpress way...no the pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmadruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ALTOS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We liked how roomy our unit was--we had 2 bedrooms (with a Queen bed in each) and a sofabed, so there was plenty of room for 5 of us. It was also quiet and restful, and the breakfast was pretty good. What we didn't like was the location--it's behind a boarded up shopping mall, near several closed (or very run-down) motels--overall a very depressed neighborhood.

Also, our unit was dirty. I called the front desk as soon as we entered our room because there was sand all over the carpet and floors. The bathtub was also dirty. They said someone would come to clean--we stayed 3 nights and no one ever came to clean (we called 2 days in a row.) They don't offer daily maid service--it's more like condos that they only clean between customers, but clearly they only straightened our unit and didn't bother to clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dyingtogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for staying at MainStay Suites in Pensacola. We are glad you stayed and we are happy that you reported being happy with the spaciousness of our rooms. We are also glad that you enjoyed our Hot Breakfast that is served daily in our Gatehouse. You also reported that our hotel was quiet and restful...which is definitely a plus at any hotel.

I was sorry to see that you listed not liking the location behind a boarded up shopping mall. The mall IS IN TRANSITION...I am sure the 3 open and very viable Anchor stores would rather see it reported as being a redeveloped outdoor shopping center with the old mall being torn down to make way for the NEW UNIVERSITY TOWN CERNER with new shopes and restaurants. We hope you will come back when all of these exciting changes are completed.

I was disappointed that our housekeeping policy was clearly explained at check in and you initialed this understanding on your registration, and that you still reported that as a problem. We are an Extended Stay hotel that is able to offer expanded amenities without higher rates because we don't have the added expense of cleaning every day. This is a NORMAL POLICY AT ALL EXTENDED STAY HOTEL BRANDS. The majority of our guests report that they don't do a full cleaning of their own homes every night and appreciated not being interrupted by daily housekeeping service. I am sorry if our policy of offering daily cleanings by request was not explained as it should have been.

Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Main Stay Suites is a wonderful place to stay if you are going to have some fun with your friends. We arrived at 11pm and were pleasantly surprised how friendly and proffesional check-in clerk was. Room by itself was really HUGE! We didn't find any issues, as far as everything worked just fine and room was properly cleaned.

Room Tip: try do not miss breakfast, it's delicious!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liatan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

548.00 for 3 nights included a 75.00 fee for our 6lb chug dog, but even without that fee this place is insanely overpriced given the fear factor of parking your vehicle there overnight. We chose this only because of a short notice chance to spend a few days near the beach, but this facility has ruined the town for our family. We will never return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missouriplowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
We are sorry that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction.

You asked with?? ? 548.00 for that? Here is what you got for 548.00 for three nights. You were in one of our Penthouse Suites that approaches 1,000 Sq. ft. and has 2 floors for sleeping areas and entertainment AND a FULL SIZED Kitchen. At no additional charge you were treated to a DELICIOUS Hot Breakfast bar each day of your stay. Yes...we do charge a pet fee so that YOU can bring your pet with you AND we can deep clean the room after each pet carrying guest leaves. Many of our competitors do not allow pets at all so most of our pet lovers are glad to pay the fee so FIGHTO can enjoy the family vacation as well.

Speaking of our competition...we are 20.00 per night less than our true competition that has a kitchenette (not Full kitchen like us), and does not have the FULL HOT BREAKFAST that we do. As far as any competition that is directly on the beach...Their rates would approach 548.00 for 1(ONE) night for anything close to the amenities we provide during the High Summer Season when you were here. We are sorry that you indicated that you will not be back...HOWEVER...after you shop around next time and you find that you will not find any hotel with our amenities at the rates we offer...we will be glad to welcome you back if you choose.

Sincerely...Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
2.0 mi away
At Home Inn & Suites
At Home Inn & Suites
#14 of 63 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blue Angel Inn
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
#16 of 63 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#20 of 63 in Pensacola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Pensacola

Property: MainStay Suites Pensacola
Address: 7230 Plantation Rd, Pensacola, FL 32504-6334 (Formerly InnPlace Suites Pensacola)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Pensacola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home to MainStay Suites, Pensacola, Florida. All Suite types (Single King, Double, Penthouse, and Executive) feature fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, free high speed wireless internet, hot breakfast each morning in the gatehouse, sparkling pool with hot tub, fitness center, and the area's only in-room fireplaces. We are conveniently and centrally located near I-10 and I-110 at exit 13(Davis Highway); close to Univ. of West FL, West FL and Sacred Heart Hospitals, University, and Cordova Malls, and just minutes from Downtown, Pensacola Beaches, and Pensacola NAS and the Naval Aviation Museum. WE have Great Nightly and Extended Stay rates and are honored to offer special discounts for our heroes in the armed forces. Check us out on facebook at MainStay Suites Pensacola, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Pensacola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pensacola, Fl Hotel Pensacola
Residence Inn Pensacola
Pensacola Residence Inn
MainStay Suites Pensacola Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing