We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Pensacola
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent value for price”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2012 with my hubby, 2 yr old and our dog. The rooms are comfortable and spacious but could use some updating and better cleanliness in the kitchen. The garbage disposal had an awful smell and I had to cover it with a dish to keep it from stinking up the whole room. The beds were comfortable. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good, waffles were suprisingly good. They were in the process of replacing all the microwaves in the rooms. The hotel is right off the interstate but our room was very quiet. I would stay here again. It is one of the nicer pet friendly hotels we've found.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phant0mR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2012 with my hubby, 2 yr old and our dog. The rooms are comfortable and spacious but could use some updating and better cleanliness in the kitchen. The garbage disposal had an awful smell and I had to cover it with a dish to keep it from stinking up the whole room. The beds were comfortable. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good, waffles were suprisingly good. They were in the process of replacing all the microwaves in the rooms. The hotel is right off the interstate but our room was very quiet. I would stay here again. It is one of the nicer pet friendly hotels we've found.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family

Thank you for staying at MainStay Suites in Pensacola...I am sorry you experienced some problems with your disposal. Maintainence is available most hours to address such issues so I hope you didn't have to wait too long have that issue resolved. I am glad to report that INDEED WE HAVE CONTINUED our upgrades since you were here...I am glad to report that we now have ALL NEW STAINLESS APPLIANCES to accompany the new microwave you got when you were here. We have also installed new carpet throughout...that all goes with the new bedding...new 37" flat panel HDTVs...and new cabinery...and oh yes...new granite countertops as well...Please come back soo so you can see for yourself all of our upgrades !!

Team MainStay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    59
    26
    20
    18
See reviews for
120
35
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
211 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed here the night before a very early airport departure. I've never stayed at MainStay Suites before but learned here that this property used to be a Residence Inn, which I've stayed at many times and liked. This hotel is hard to find behind an ailing shopping mall along a frontage road filled with low end and weekly rate hotels, a closed restaurant and a radio station.

At check-in, I asked if any of the rooms I had reserved, a 2 bed + sofa bed room, were upstairs, and was told no. I was asked if I'd rather have the Penthouse suite and I said sure, as long as it is the same price as the room I reserved, and that's what I got, so I was pleased. Those suites have a king bed upstairs in a loft area plus a bathroom and downstairs there is a full size Murphy bed and bathroom, sofa bed, wood burning fireplace, living room, small dining area and kitchen. Neither bedroom area is behind a closed door for privacy.

The space was great for our group but very ragged around the edges. The odor coming from the disposal was so foul I almost retched, so I covered it with the rubber stopper.The microwave was so old we were afraid to use it and the other appliances were old and stained, chips out of the counter top and paint smudges were on the carpet. We couldn't figure out how the ceiling fan worked upstairs but the beds were comfortable. Behind the furniture we found food crumbs, dust/hair globs, a broken outlet cover, hair clips, etc. Why don't housekeepers look behind furniture and clean it up?

They must have trouble with guests stealing TVs, bedding and towels, since there are signs that tell you what your account will be charged if any items are found missing and the TVs are alarmed. We had a quiet night, the breakfast was fine, the grounds are well landscaped and the employees were pleasant. I'm not sure the value was there for the price I paid, even with the upgraded suite.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank ksheff-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thanks for the comments from your stay in December...I am glad to report that since your stay we have been busy working on a complete renovation to make your next experience with us even better. We have just completed installation of new carpeting throughout the entire hotel. In addition...we have all brand new Stainless Steel appliances in our Full Kitchens that go very nicely with the brand new granite countertops. The new flat panel 37" HDTVs were installed right before your visit along with our brand new bedding. We hope you will come back soon to see first hand all of the exciting improvements.

I am also glad to report that work is getting started on the exciting rennovations at Former University Mall...For brand new anchor stores as well as additional restaurants are planned so there is alot in store for our area...come back soon and ofter.

Thank you.

Team MainStay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Mainstay Suites is a conversion from a former Residence Inn. The rooms are very generously sized, albeit a bit dated in their furnishings. The second story rooms are pretty huge and have a loft in them which is nice. For the most part the first floor rooms are nice and comfy, but if you are staying on a weekend night and you want a quiet night pick the second floor room. The hotel tends to host a lot of military kids who want to get off base on the weekends and they tend to be up late at night going in and out.

I stayed at the hotel four times over a four week period. I stayed in various rooms scattered throughout the property. Some complaints that I had were not constant. Those included one room that did not seem to be cleaned very well (others were), noise on weekend nights and occasionally the internet was extremely slow and the cable tv would go in and out freezing on the screens. The maid service is weekly and you only get enough linens for two people regardless of the room size. All that being said, the hotel staff seems very receptive to constructive criticism and I never experienced any complaints I had on a prior visit on the subsequent one.

Room Tip: Excellent alternative to a cheap hotel at a similar price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennk1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your comments from a previous stay...I just wanted to follow up on the many exciting rennovations that have been going on since your last stay. Since you were here last, we have installed new carpeting throughout to compliment the new bedding and 37" flat panel HDTVs in the guest area. We are also glad to report all brand new Stainless Steel Appliances in our Full Sized Kitchens. They look GREAT with our brand new Granite Countertops and new cabinetry. We are sorry for the problems you had with noise on the weekends. On the one hand we are so PROUD to welcome the young military members who join us on some weekends and are so thankful of them for serving our country. However, I WILL NOT CONTINUE to let them be so loud that they are a problem for our other guests. I am working on a good partnership with them so that the noise and fun times don't bother anyone.

Please come back soon and often...We trust that all of our improvements will make your next stay GREAT !!!

Team MainStay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Had an excellent experience here at the Main Stay Suites. Great rooms for a good price. Very close to the interstate and lots of resaurants nearby. Will be back again!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel this past summer. We wanted a place to stay for a week while our kids attended camp at the Christian College. This was perfect for our stay.

Pros: The breakfasts were hot and plenty, get there early if you want to make waffles to avoid a long line. They had coffee in the main lobby pretty much all the time. The staff were friendly and it felt safe enough in the general area. There were even a few geocaches close by to find :o) The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was a welcome feature. Tennis court was cute, small, but the kids liked it (bring your balls and raquets. Didn't try out the pool; a little small, but the guests seemed to be enjoying it.

Cons: Only one bathroom was a little tought to share, but worked out ok. Would have been great to have two bathrooms for a unit that would sleep at least 6. We forgot to ask for a top floor room and got stuck on the bottom with noisy kids running around for 2 nights on our ceiling. The noisy neighbors left a large bag of garbage near our door, which stayed there for several days until we reported it. I was a bit surprised it didn't get picked up by staff when they cleaned that room, but who knows.

You need to be aware that they do have a kitchen, but only one set of utensils and limited plates and such. They did have pots, but you would be smart to bring paper plates, plastic forks, etc. to be sure you were covered.

Go ahead and ask for an extra set of towels/rags/handtowels for each guest you bring beyond two. They only have two sets in the room. That apparently is their policy. You will need to ask and go get them if you forget to ask upon check-in. I think they have pool towels to use at the pool area. Same for sheet sets; we had to ask for another set for the fold-out couch. I guess they had a problem with those sorts of things walking off.

That about covers it. Only a few odd things, like you can't park by your room unless you stay in the front rooms. You don't get room service or maid service, which we never want anyway. Lots of candy wrappers and such under the sleeper sofa, but nothing too nasty. I really didn't have many complaints and appreciated the space this hotel provides for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you want to be sure to get a quiet room (but walk softly so the family downstairs will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catchristo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

For a middle class family not expecting the Ritz Carlton, this place was great! Free hot breakfast, pool, gas BBQ grills, real fireplace in each room and a price 50 bucks cheaper than competing "Suite Hotels". Location was excellent in center of Pensacola for the soccer tournament we went to. I was worried being next to Interstate would be noisy but none at all. King bed was extremely comfortable. Obviously an older property that was recently renovated, but it was nice, clean and had a complete full kitchen - full fridge, oven, dishwasher, etc. Room set up was unique, more apartment style than traditional hotel, but we liked it better. Nice manicured and trimmed plantings and grounds. We will definitely stay again. One note, they don not have daily maid service to make up the room.

Room Tip: All room are ground or second story. Second story only accesible by stairs, so if you can't haul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

After along road trip from texas going to Tempa stayed 2 nights the two room suite that thay had was awesome had a fireplace and full kitchen, the room was clean and everthing was in working order. We will alwas stay at this property on our return trip or when ever we are in pensacola.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
2.0 mi away
At Home Inn & Suites
At Home Inn & Suites
#13 of 65 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Blue Angel Inn
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
#17 of 65 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 65 in Pensacola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Pensacola

Property: MainStay Suites Pensacola
Address: 7230 Plantation Rd, Pensacola, FL 32504-6334 (Formerly InnPlace Suites Pensacola)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Pensacola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home to MainStay Suites, Pensacola, Florida. All Suite types (Single King, Double, Penthouse, and Executive) feature fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, free high speed wireless internet, hot breakfast each morning in the gatehouse, sparkling pool with hot tub, fitness center, and the area's only in-room fireplaces. We are conveniently and centrally located near I-10 and I-110 at exit 13(Davis Highway); close to Univ. of West FL, West FL and Sacred Heart Hospitals, University, and Cordova Malls, and just minutes from Downtown, Pensacola Beaches, and Pensacola NAS and the Naval Aviation Museum. WE have Great Nightly and Extended Stay rates and are honored to offer special discounts for our heroes in the armed forces. Check us out on facebook at MainStay Suites Pensacola, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Pensacola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pensacola, Fl Hotel Pensacola
Residence Inn Pensacola
Pensacola Residence Inn
MainStay Suites Pensacola Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing