We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MainStay Suites Pensacola
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
237 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Functional Suite”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

This property is promising, but it due for some renovations,replacement decor.
The rooms are a bit tired, though
Functional. Room details are worn. You can see repairs to walls, doors, floors and tile, cabinet molding is missing. The room repairs were done but shoddy, the suite works & is good spacing, bedding is great, but you can see rust on metal bathroom vents & Fans. It just needs some TLC. We Would stay again, building 3, lower level. Kudos to the chef, the hotel provides a wonderful breakfast& is dog friendly...TY!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    59
    26
    20
    18
See reviews for
120
35
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our Spring Break trip originated in Destin, but we made a last minute decision to stay in Pensacola for two nights, and found this place online. We got a terrific suite with a king bed in an upstairs loft area, a queen bed and a sleeper sofa. The unit also had a full kitchen, eating area, fireplace and 2 full bathrooms. All for a terrific rate!! The room was clean, and the place was really quiet, even though it was over half full. My daughter loved the outdoor pool, and my son loved that they had a basketball court right next to it.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Pensacola.

Room Tip: Get the larger suite - it's only a small cost to upgrade and you will have a ton of extra room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaiderMom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

First room wreaked of animal urine/feces. Second room wasn't much better. Toilet not secure. Only 2 towels with 2 queen size beds-should be 4 towels. Carpet and furniture not clean. Pool was ok, but used bandaid on deck. No pool towels. Although they did welcome our big dog, we should have done more thorough research-found a better place to stay. We saw an old mattress, torn poster, and interstate for view. Did not feel safe in this location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smallfamily5807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We are glad to accept pets and make every effort to clean each pet room and the carpet thoroughly upon a pets departure. We apparently dropped the ball on this instance and sincerely apologize.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Call me if you will be returning and I will personally inspect your room and waive the pet fee on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Paul Blake
General Manager
MainStay Suites, Pensacola, FL
850-479-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We chose this Mainstay because we wanted a room with a full kitchen and also based on the price ($84/night) and the relatively close proximity to the beach, lighthouse and National Aviation Museum.

When we arrived we were initially given room 214. Our room keys worked only one out of twenty tries - and we did try it twenty times. I went to the office to ask for new keys and was promptly scolded for putting the originals near a cell phone or credit card, neither of which had happened. The keys had been alone in my hand from the office to the room. We tried the newly updated keys and they didn't worry either. My husband went to the office to deal with the issue and was spoken to the same way. Finally, a maintenance worker followed him to our room and lo and behold, he was not able to get into the room either. Ultimately, after waiting outside for almost thirty minutes, we were told the door handle would have to be drilled into so they could get the door open. The maintenance staff was very apologetic but the office staff never acknowledged the issue with us directly. We were reassigned to room 224 and waited there until we could retrieve the stuff we had managed to put in the first room the one time we had been able to open the door.

Our room was basically what we were hoping for with the exception of three things. First, the room was extraordinarily musty/moldy smelling. Secondly, there were FLEAS in the room. By the end of our week long stay we were tired of waking up with flea bites all over and also of collecting them off our legs to be flushed. Ugh. The shower head had a leak/spray issue. Whenever the shower was turned on, water would spew out of the side near the top so that by the time we were turned the water off, anything that had been outside the shower curtain was soaking wet. Not good!

The daily breakfast was good. Our choices during the week rotated between eggs, bacon, French toast sticks, sausage links and biscuits and gravy. Every day had coffee, milk, juice, fruit, yogurt, a variety of cereal and a variety of pastries available. Belgian waffles were also a daily option and were very good.

The pool and hot tub were useable but not very clean. It looked like it had been quite a while since the bottom of the pool had been vacuumed. The chlorine smell was extremely strong, almost overwhelming at times.

The area the motel is located in is not the best. It is situated behind a mall that is old and almost empty. On several occasions, we saw carloads of people who were not staying at the motel, park and utilize the pool for hours. The behavior and language was not appropriate for children. We also finally had to ask two men to go somewhere else because they were having an incredibly expletive filled conversation under our balcony while we were outside with our girls. Lastly, when we drove by the Motel 6, right next to Mainstay, there was a man standing out in the parking lot talking on his phone while wearing his pants and underwear down around his knees. NOT exactly an experience I was hoping for my 8 and 10 year old daughters to have while on vacation. Also, the Mainstay is right next door to a crematorium (in an old Bennigans restaurant building). Didn't bother us, but some folks might be bothered by it. A main highway also runs right behind the motel as well.

All things considered, I honestly don't know if I would stay here again. The price was the best thing about our stay. I guess you get what you pay for. If your travel plans meant you'd only be in your room to sleep, it would be a good option. The beds were very comfortable. It was easy for us to get around and only two miles from the nearest Walmart and the airport. On the other hand, bargain price or not - fleas were not on the agenda. If you can afford a bit of a better place, I would go with it. If not, this will work if you don't need to spend the majority of your trip time in your room.

Room Tip: Stay out of 224 unless you want fleas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Paul Blake
General Manager
MainStay Suites, Pensacola, FL
850-479-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORT CHARLOTTE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Good place to stay if you are staying for several nights. It was not perfect, but we would certainly go back. The location is very convenient to I-10. The hotel was hard to find on our first try. It is on a road behind the shopping center as are several other hotels. Once found, we did not have any problems getting back and forth to our room. We stayed in room 612 which is a ground level room. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. I would have preferred dining chairs in the eating area rather than the two desk chairs provided.The kitchen was well equipped with full size stove, refrigerator and dishwasher. Kitchen supplies ( plates, cups, glasses, silverware, bowls, etc.) were minimal. Our room only had two of each item so we had to wash dishes frequently. I just couldn't bring myself to run the dishwasher for two cups, two spoons, two plates and two knives. The room also had a desk and sofa bed. Our biggest complaint about this particular room was the bathroom area. The tub and toilet area of the bathroom was separated from the sink and counter area by a pocket door which was heavy and difficult to close. Mold was beginning to form on the ceiling over the tub. We mentioned both of these things to the front desk at checkout. The staff was friendly and helpful. The guest laundry at the front of the hotel was clean and reasonably priced. The breakfast selection was good. Hot food, cereal, fruit, muffins, bagels, toast, and juice were available.

Room Tip: If you have problems with steps, make sure you get a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfCoastCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for staying with Team MainStay Suites in Pensacola, FL. Your comments are crucial to our success. We appreciate the many kind comments you gave us in your review and hope you will come be our guests again soon and bring your friends!

I will address the concerns you listed with our maintenance and housekeeping staff. Our goal is to have you 100% completely satisfied on your next visit.

Please let me know when I can be of service.

Thank you.

Paul Blake
General Manager
MainStay Suites
7230 Plantation Road
Pensacola, FL 32504
850-479-1000
850-477-3399 fax
mainstayflb78gm@outlook.com
http://www.mainstaysuites.com/hotel-pensacola-florida-FLB78
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayou La Batre, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

PROS: Nice place to stay, especially if you are staying several nights. The rooms are large and comfortable and could accommodate 6 adults. We were attending a Women's Convention and we slept 5 women to a room. (could have accommodated another adult if it would have been necessary) 2 queen beds and a full size sleeper sofa in each room. Large TV, full size fridge, microwave and stove. (like a small apartment). Lots of plug-ins for electronics (5 women with Cell Phones and laptops and we had enough plugs). Hotel is near the interstate, but very quiet. Lots of places to eat (Waffle House, Wendy's, Cheddar's...etc) Right next to the mall area, although we did not have time to shop :( . There was a Wal-mart nearby and a BELLS store very close. About a 10 min. drive to downtown and the P-Cola Civic Center. (drive there was quick and easy to access the interstate). Breakfast was good, better than I expected from looking at the menu posted on the wall. Variety of cereals, meats, toast, bagels, muffins, juices... we enjoyed it!

CONS: Neighborhood is kinda shady-looking, but we felt very safe and everyone was pleased with the location.... Initially the hotel was hard to find, BUT if you use your GPS (LOL) and FOLLOW the directions... once you find it, you will have no problem getting back and forth to it. Bathroom was kinda small, but everything worked. This is an EXTENDED STAY hotel, so there is no housekeeping everyday. We only had two sets of towels initially in each room, BUT ask for whatever you need (more clean towels, shampoo, soap, coffee, etc.) and the staff will be happy to accommodate you, no questions asked! :) Great STAFF! (ASK FOR Nora.... she was Fantastic)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
We are so glad you chose MainStay Suites when you attended the Women's conference in Pensacola. We appreciate the many nice comments you made and want you to know that your feedback is crucial to our success. Team MainStay wants you you and your family and friends to visit us again and our goal will be your complete satisfaction on your next visit. Please do not hesitate to let us know when we can be of service.

Thank you.


Paul Blake
General Manager
MainStay Suites
7230 Plantation Road
Pensacola, FL 32504
850-479-1000
850-477-3399 fax
mainstayflb78gm@outlook.com
http://www.mainstaysuites.com/hotel-pensacola-florida-FLB78
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Point, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Nicely renovated, clean, large suites. Receptionist at front desk was very pleasant. Close to some tasty restaurants, found some delicious banh mi nearby. Good value for the money. There were 4 traveling in our party, we each had our own suite, and found them to be equally nice.
We had no problems with air quality or odor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Korine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
2.0 mi away
At Home Inn & Suites
At Home Inn & Suites
#13 of 65 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Pensacola / N Davis Hwy
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola / I-10 Pine Forest Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Blue Angel Inn
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
#17 of 65 in Pensacola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 65 in Pensacola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Pensacola

Property: MainStay Suites Pensacola
Address: 7230 Plantation Rd, Pensacola, FL 32504-6334 (Formerly InnPlace Suites Pensacola)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Pensacola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home to MainStay Suites, Pensacola, Florida. All Suite types (Single King, Double, Penthouse, and Executive) feature fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, free high speed wireless internet, hot breakfast each morning in the gatehouse, sparkling pool with hot tub, fitness center, and the area's only in-room fireplaces. We are conveniently and centrally located near I-10 and I-110 at exit 13(Davis Highway); close to Univ. of West FL, West FL and Sacred Heart Hospitals, University, and Cordova Malls, and just minutes from Downtown, Pensacola Beaches, and Pensacola NAS and the Naval Aviation Museum. WE have Great Nightly and Extended Stay rates and are honored to offer special discounts for our heroes in the armed forces. Check us out on facebook at MainStay Suites Pensacola, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Pensacola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pensacola, Fl Hotel Pensacola
Residence Inn Pensacola
Pensacola Residence Inn
MainStay Suites Pensacola Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing