We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, declining location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites Pensacola
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was especially kind but the other tenants were sketchy. The location is convenient but I felt uncomfortable leaving equipment in my vehicle. It seems that the hotel has a lot of long term tenants that like to stay outside of their rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Awk004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take the feedback that we receive from our guest to heart, and have changed our security precautions as a result. We do not allow any congregation of guests on the property after dark, and have security cameras throughout the parking lot. We are also, happy to watch the transformation of the area as new businesses open around the University Town Plaza. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We come to Pensacola for our job and we always stay at the MainStay. It is like being in an efficient apartmaent unless you upgrade to the what we call the Pent house which is well worth the upgrade, LOL Nice and Clean always. Everything you need for an over night stay to a vacation stay. Everyone at the desk is very friendly and helpful. Your right in town but away from the traffic, just an all around good place to stay and there pet friendly, Fireplace, kitchen comfy beds clean and the beach is 15 minutes away

Room Tip: reserve your room, they always book up fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff very much appreciates your kind words. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel and I had black mold in ALL of the ac vents. I contacted the front desk clerk and she said that she will move me to another room, but the maintenance guy has to get it together first, so after about 2 hrs I arrive in the new room and I noticed all of the ac vents were replaced, but lo and behold there was mold growing inside the bathroom shower, so the Maintenance guy getting the room" together" meant replacing the ac vents throughout the new room. I contacted the GM and she told me that all they are able to do was refund me 20.00 per night (40.00) total. Nevertheless she never apologized for the inconvenience. They continue to book these rooms putting one health and safety well being at risk. I contacted consumer complaints and I am currently working with the state of Florida health department. I also have pics totally unacceptable. I would Not recommend this hotel to my DOG!#!!#!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We are sorry that you were not comfortable in your room. That is what is important to us, so we were happy to move you to a new room. Since you stayed there for three nights without complaint, we hoped that that meant you were comfortable. Since that was not the case, the desk agent adjusted your rate. When you spoke to me, I increased your discount (but as I told you, we don't trade discounts for reviews). You then made good on your threat, and called Choice, and received another discount. I do not know if you were informed that the health department inspected us and did not find any mold, nor any problem. I appreciate it when guests give us honest feedback that enable us to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was my second time staying at this location and though it wasn't as nice as the first time it was still an enjoyable experience. My family and I were in town for a funeral and needed a large enough place for 5 people and a dog without a large price tag. This place suited our needs. We had the largest room (king bed in a loft upstairs w/ private bathroom and a bedroom w/ king bed and bathroom downstairs.) We also had a sofa bed. The linens on it were dirty but it didn't bother us because we always bring our own linens to hotels and a big bottle of Febreze. The first time we stayed was just after they'd done some renovations so carpets and furniture were in better condition. That was almost 3 years ago. We actually stayed in the exact same room we stayed in the first time and it was obvious that natural wear and tear had settled in. The room could use a carpet cleaning soon. The kitchen was nice with a full size SS fridge, full size SS conventional oven, SS dishwasher and the sink has a garbage disposal. We were in town for 3 days so we bought groceries and cooked most meals in the room as if we were home. Extra pots could be useful but we just picked up a $20 pot set from Walmart to accommodate that issue. Staff is very helpful and friendly and will any request if possible. Overall, this is a great place to stay if you need a lot of space on a budget. This will be our "go to" place when we come back into town. About to make a reservation now to come back for the Seafood Festival in September!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FemmeFatale770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entire staff enjoyed reading your comments. We love welcoming back our repeat guests, and we can’t wait to see you in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We were given a"penthouse" room when they were unable to provide us with 3 rooms. We were in town for a funeral and hotels were quite full. Everyone we spoke to were kind and informative. Due to lack of available rooms we were give a 2 story room that could sleep 6. One king and bathroom upstairs. One Murphy double down with sleep sofa. Kitchen with all Appliances bathroom downstairs. No elevator for rooms on second floors. Rooms large. Nice free breakfast Not a 4 star by any means but we all agreed we would not hesitate to stay again if in that area. Nice pool we didn't use and hot tub. They have grills in pool area for guests use

Stayed: April 2014
Thank cruisinonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have relayed your comments to my staff, and they appreciated your kind words. I am very glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay; particularly since you were in town for a difficult reason. I hope you come visit us again for pleasure.

Thank you,

Julia Ferris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MainStayPensacola, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I travel 8 weeks every qtr and have never stayed in a hotel this bad before. There are patched holes not painted, dirt build up on the corners of the bathroom that you can tell hasn't been cleaned in a long time. The carpet seems are coming apart to were you can see the cement and the room has a smell like it hasn't been cleaned or dusted in a long time. Also there is dust buildup on the outlets(see my pic's).

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atonyjr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStayPensacola, General Manager at MainStay Suites Pensacola, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We share all guest comments with out entire staff so that we can continue to improve and enhance our guest experience. I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable, and did not want to move rooms. We are taking your comments to heart, and have our maintenance team tending to your concerns.

Thank you again,

Julia Ferris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola hotels
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 Pensacola West
Motel 6 Pensacola West
#26 of 65 in Pensacola
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
TownePlace Suites Pensacola
#17 of 65 in Pensacola
197 reviews
2 mi away
At Home Inn & Suites
At Home Inn & Suites
#15 of 65 in Pensacola
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Pensacola Bayview
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Pensacola Airport
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pensacola - University Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Pensacola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Pensacola

Address: 7230 Plantation Rd, Pensacola, FL 32504-6334 (Formerly InnPlace Suites Pensacola)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Pensacola
Price Range: £64 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Pensacola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home to MainStay Suites, Pensacola, Florida. All Suite types (Single King, Double, Penthouse, and Executive) feature fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, free high speed wireless internet, hot breakfast each morning in the gatehouse, sparkling pool with hot tub, fitness center, and the area's only in-room fireplaces. We are conveniently and centrally located near I-10 and I-110 at exit 13(Davis Highway); close to Univ. of West FL, West FL and Sacred Heart Hospitals, University, and Cordova Malls, and just minutes from Downtown, Pensacola Beaches, and Pensacola NAS and the Naval Aviation Museum. WE have Great Nightly and Extended Stay rates and are honored to offer special discounts for our heroes in the armed forces. Check us out on facebook at MainStay Suites Pensacola, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MainStay Suites Pensacola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pensacola, Fl Hotel Pensacola
Residence Inn Pensacola
Pensacola Residence Inn
MainStay Suites Pensacola Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing