We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible”
Review of Peking House

Peking House
Ranked #482 of 670 Restaurants in Pensacola
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not terrible”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We didn't want to make dinner, and this is close, so we stopped to get some take out. It's not a particularly friendly place, but most Chinese takeout places I've been to aren't. The sesame chicken and moo shu pork were mediocre. The fried rice was good, but it didn't look very appetizing. Overall, it wasn't bad for the price, but we probably won't go back unless we're starving.

The cafe next door has much better food if you're there during the day.

Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Just not quite up to par”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Average service (quick food production, poor customer handling), not too good fried rice (yellow coloring was weird too), good vegetable delight, bad beef chow mein, fair prices. Just an average Chinese restaurant. A good Chinese restaurant would take off in this area and put this place out of business since there's really no close options nearby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the Chineese”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a place that is located near the NAS Pensacola. So after enjoying the light house and the NAVY aviation museum, then stop buy here and enjoy the food. They serve alot so you should share your dishes.. We had the steamed Dumplings along with other dishes and we're barely able to walk away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rustycnrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bland at best, metal shard at worst”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a family get together in Perdido Key and decided to order Chinese to go. Got the "usual" mix of fried rice, cashew chicken, crab Rangoon, Kung pow.... None of it had any distinct flavor. Bland, bland, bland. And the fried rice was a very odd yellow shade and quite dry. Did they put dye into it? The final straw for me not eating my meal was biting into a small metal shard. Needless to say- I don't recommend and can't understand the other high reviews

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pontevedragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This Chinese takeout place mades for a reasonably good choice.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Was looking for a good Chinese take-out place near Perdido key and I finally found it. Really just a strip-mall take-out restaurant nothing exciting or innovative but the fried dumplings and cold sesame noodles made for great appetizers. The sesame chicken and fried rice was as good as anywhere else. Kitchen, which you can see from the front of the restaurant, was clean and organized. Next time your in the mood for Chinese takeout this restaurant made for a reasonably good choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisiana_DVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peking House also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Peking House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing