We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant discover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Purple Parrot Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed for 4 days in January in the apartment 13C.
Despite the bad weather we spent a lovely time there.
The house were clean and very cosy with all the facilities that you need, ma queen size bed and a sofa bed where to sleep and good kitchen.
We had the access to the swimming pools (one in door and the other not) but we didn't used it because of the cold weather of that days.
There is a Publix right next to the bridge and other shops.
The receptionist staff is very professional and kind.
A good place where to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thanks for the great review and we appreciate the kind words regarding our office staff. We looking forward to having you back again soon! Future guests, please note that this condo has a king bed in the master bedroom. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was a great little condo! The inside was very clean. We stayed in Hakkunah Mattata and enjoyed a few rainy days inside. This condo is not walking distance to the beach, but a very short drive. We did run out of toilet paper and had to go buy some. The staff at the office was friendly but we did not bother to call them to deliver TP as they are off site.

The best thing about this place - Hakuna Matata condo was clean
The worst thing was the road in the community. I felt like I was off roading. DRIVE SLOW!
Those little flying bugs get into the screened porch so we did not enjoy the porch, but it is cute! The pool is not so great, but you have a beach near by so you make the decision.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vickster M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thanks for the great feedback we appreciate the kind words regarding our office staff. We work very hard to maintain the vacation home sin good clean condition for your arrival. Good news, regarding the road; we had them resurfaced since your stay. It's a rock road, so this is something we must do annually at a minimum. We looking forward to having you back again soon! Kindest Regards, JD Hallam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The appartments at the Purple Parrot feels like home away from home. I spend most of my time in the remote dune and beach area one mile after the Fort Mcree road ends and that area is really nice. The Seabrook single bed room home was well equiped and because of the close proximity of two super markets and a few more about six miles out it was convenient to cook dinner every night. Perdido itself is a lot quieter than Orange Beach or Pensacola but if that us what you prefer, that is why I did not book in those other places. Not having an ocean view was no problem for me because the beach is maximum ten minutes by foot. Overall this was a very positive experience for me as a novice winter bird.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank DdeKerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thanks for the great feedback. Johnson Beach and Fort McRee are wonderful places to spend your time while here in Perdido Key. Glad you enjoyed yourself in one of our one bedroom vacation homes. We looking forward to having you back again soon! Kindest Regards, JD Hallam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We rented through booking.com, but read the reviews and looked at the pictures here. From the description and pictures we thought the resort was on the beach with a short ten minute walk, as mentioned. This really disappointed my wife, as we had to drive to the beach several times a day. In the unit we stayed in, we had dated and old furniture, some soiled. The bed cover and sheets were extremely old. The people who were behind us had their porch lights on all night. These lights shined into our bedroom. The frigerator and coffee pot were very used. On a positive, the outdoor and indoor pools and hottubs were nice. We did email the booking on the AM of our first day, but they did not reply.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

We are sorry you didn't enjoy yourself. When booking through a third party website rather than directly through the resort rentals office it does have the potential to make communication a little more cumbersome. Upon arrival we provide guests with a receipt that has our contact info on it which includes a phone number that will even ring a staff member for after hours emergencies. We do this in an effort to ensure that all of our guests know how to reach us directly rather than contact the party which through which they made the reservation. Concerning beach access; all of our listing indicate in writing that this resort in not directly on the beach. The resort is not far from the beach, but the Purple Parrot primarily attracts families and Perdido Key does not have sidewalks along the road. That being said, I never feel comfortable advertising the resort as within easy walking distance. The best stretch of beach is about 2 minutes away by car and, though it is not the closest beach, it is definitely the nicest. I am referring to the National Park area and they have restrooms, showers, picnic tables, a walking trail, and covered pavilions in case anyone gets too much sun. More importantly, the Park area is the only area on the island with lifeguards. So, you can see why I recommend the short drive. The closest beach is the public beach access and is ½ way to the park area. A note for all of our future guests: if upon arrival anything is in need of attention please let us know as we want to ensure that you are comfortable and that you enjoy your stay in our vacation homes at the resort. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam -Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here over Labor Day for a family reunion and could not be more pleased. The unit we had, Peachy Keen, was so charming and exquisitely decorated that we took notes in case we ever build our own beach house. Both pools were impeccably maintained despite it being a holiday weekend, and the people in the office were friendly and courteous. Note although it is not far from the beach, maybe 4 blocks, you will have to drive as the road to the beach is a fast highway, we started to walk it and decided against it. The beach is beautiful white sand and worth the one minute drive. The price was far less than a hotel would have been; if you use their website to book, note their website quotes the price for all nights (but not some taxes and surcharges). Some people have complained about the $75 cleaning charge but we thought it was worth it; it is impossible to not get sand inside even if you leave your shoes outside. We would go there again.

Room Tip: Print out a map from their website so you can choose a room towards the back if you like quiet. We l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merry_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Glad you had such a great time. You are absolutely correct about the sand. We go through vacuum cleaners much quicker than most homes as a result of the sand accidentally being brought into the vacation homes by guests. The cleaning for each condo after departure is more competitively priced than most other professionally managed vacation rental properties, however some travelers are not accustomed to staying in a vacation home so the cleaning fee catches them off guard so I appreciate your kind words concerning the charge ultimately being totally worth its value. Again, glad you had a good time. Condo Peachy Keen is a nice one and the couple which owns it takes great pride in maintaining it in good condition for our visitors. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam -Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We are currently staying in the Purple Parrot resort were in room 10 A right by the pool on the first floor, totally love this place. It is so clean and not really crowded. Nice workout room indoor pool, hottub, outdoor pool, and outdoor hottub, screen in porch.AC worked great had plenty of towels, washer and dryer in room. Only complaint is the tiki bar is not open we new this before we got here,but you can take your cooler to the pool eat and drink no glass. People were friendly and fun. I will be back what a great value and a unspolied place.Plenty of places to sit at the pool in the shade and or sn, sand volley ball and with in a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Right by the pool is the place to be. We booked direclty with the resort but found out we could of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubahottie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thanks so much for the great feedback. We are looking into having the tiki bar reopen and operate in a way which compliments the resort. You will have to check the resort website by searching purple parrot resort in google or yahoo for updates on our frequently asked questions page or call the rental office. The resort webpage is our company name all spelled out as one word Perdido Key Resort Management. Hope to see you back this year! Kindest Regards, JD Hallam - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked the Purple Parrot for a Labor Day family reunion/birthday. We booked through the Perdido Key Resort Management for two bedrooms both with queen beds because we had two couples with tall men. When we arrived one room had two twin beds. Needless to say I wasn't happy. We called the manager J.D. and he searched every single room that had not been checked into to try to find us what we originally asked for. There was not a room to satisfy our needs but he apologized profusely and brought us a gift card for dinner. We made do with the room just fine and were pleased with the way the manager tried to compensate us. The condo was EXTREMELY nice. We stayed in Cecelias Dream 15 A and family members stayed in 11BD. We noticed that the AC filter in 11BD was dirty and the receptionist brought us a new filter within 10 minutes. The pool was clean and nice, good temperature and mostly shallow great for kids! The resort was well kept. I would like to let renters know to bring paper towels, toilet paper in addition to normal bathroom items that you need. If you want to wash clothes or dishes you need detergent to do so. Again in the end VERY PLEASED with the condo itself, the pool and the resort manager J.D.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikizjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thanks for the positive review. The vacation home which was originally reserved had maintenance issues, so we had to move this reservation. Though rarely, this does sometimes happen. We are always trying to ensure that our guests are kept happy throughout their stay. I appreciate you being understanding of the circumstances and for the kind words regarding the vacation home we relocated you to, Cecelia's Dream, which is a two bedroom condo that since the departure has been updated with bamboo flooring and new paint throughout. If you search Cecelia's Dream 15A in google you can seen updated photographs on the perdido key florida website. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perdido Key
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
8.8 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
17.4 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
16.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,189 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#16 of 19 in Orange Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Parrot Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Parrot Village Resort

Address: 13555 Perdido Key Dr, Perdido Key, FL 32507-4650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Perdido Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Perdido Key
Price Range: £110 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Parrot Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Purple Parrot Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Parrot Village Hotel Perdido Key
Purple Parrot Village Resort Perdido Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing