We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in Perdido Key!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Purple Parrot Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in 40C the "Caribbean Soul" and it was amazing! It was not "right on the beach" but it is on a sand island so beautiful beaches are minutes away. Besides with a pool like they have the beach was just for pictures, the kids were at the beach asking to go back to the pool! (Not to mention it was nice to hang at the Tiki Bar while they played safely in the water). I have to say the Caribbean Soul did not seem like a condo to me, it is more like a cottage sine there are no adjoining condos. It is a two bedroom stand alone little house that had EVERYTHING. Full size front loading washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, three flat screen TVs, X-Box for the kids and a Margarita Machine for the big kids. We don't drink wine much, but there was even a built-in wine cooler. The king size bed and two full size bed were perfect for us and although we didn't use the queen hide-a-bed the couch was comfortable. When we did decide to leave the comforts of the condo the live band and food at the Tiki Bar were pretty amazing. Checking in and out was easy with J.D. and his staff. All in all, if you have a family I don't know why you would not stay here and use the money you save from not staying "on the beach" to go deep sea fishing or parasailing or something more memorable than living in what amounts to a giant apartment building.

Room Tip: Look at the map, we chose to stay in a secluded are versus next to the pool. We had quite, comfort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holiday-Rambler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This unique village of condos is simply adorable! We were very impressed with our entire experience from the moment we called to make our reservation.
The management group was exceptionally friendly and helpful during our short stay in the Peachy Keen unit. This condo was more privately located at the back of the village, which was perfect for us. It was immaculately clean and decorated so nicely!
The property was very charming and quaint. We loved the pool and the newly reopened Tiki Hut.
We also enjoyed the indoor pool, and hot tub. The indoor building also has a sauna and shower area as well as a workout area. We did not use those facilities, but certainly will next time we stay for a longer duration.
Of course, Purple Parrot is not located on the beach, which I thought was going to be disappointing until we went to Johnson Beach. There is an amazing National Park at the end of Johnson Beach Rd that is a true treasure! We loaded the car with all the day's necessities for a beach outing and drove to the furthest part of the park for our nearly secluded day at the beach! We had a huge area of beach to ourselves, quite a difference compared to the public beach access which also shares with many of the condominium buildings. Even if we stayed right on the beach in one of those condos, I would drive to the National Park for beach time because it was so amazing!
We loved returning to our little community of paradise after venturing out for the day, it was a cozy and comfortable return to "home". We could really get used to this on a regular basis!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Reasonably priced, excellent location less than half a mile from public beach access, and very nice pool. We loved our condo and the location is also close to Pensacola, Orange Beach, and Gulf Shores! Definitely will be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at Purple Parrot the week before Memorial day weekend. I loved that our family was in a self-contained 2 bedroom condo. I thought we might be sharing a building but it was just like a house. Perfect to relax and not worry about the noise the kids might make. The pools were both very clean and the hot tub was relaxing. They had to service the hot tub outside before the holiday, but that does happen. Close to stores, had everything we needed in the kitchen and bath. The staff and the residents were very friendly to us. Felt right at home and very welcome. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank monmonof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in unit 6A for a week and couldn't have been more pleased! We had visited my parents in the area for over 20 years so with my Mother's passing and my Dad's move to a senior living community we needed a place to stay for our visit. Having driven past the property many times over the years, we took a chance and booked a place. Our condo was comfortable and convenient. We have always loved Johnson Beach but the pool was a godsend as the week we were there was fairly cool (sunny everyday but cool). When it was too windy/cold to lie on the beach, the poolside was perfect! We bundled up and walked the beach and then relaxed by the pool in our swimsuits - being out of the wind makes all the difference.
We have always visited The Reef Bar and continued that tradition this year. It's a bit whacky but we like the atmosphere and always have a fun time ( we recommend the patio ). The owner is great! We ate for the first time at the Sunset Grill and will definitely go back - family friendly, laid back casual (right on the water) and great food. We recommend the grouper rueben. We found many suggestions in the condo guest book.
We had a wonderful time and hope to book a stay again next year, as our family travels from New York and Minnesota to visit Grandpa. The no-pet policy is a problem as we would like to bring along our 6# toy poodle who is blind (makes it hard to find friends to take care of her) - we are hoping we can negotiate that next year. Thanks to the wonderful management and staff of the Purple Parrot!

Room Tip: Upper units have less noise, although we had no problem with that at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachBMps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in house 9C for six nights. The house is nice and roomy. We wanted something so we could cook and enjoy our family time. This house was perfect for this.

The pool area is nice and large. The outdoor hot tub was tore up except the last night we were there. The indoor pool was warm and the hot tub was nice. They did have volleyball nets and horseshoes. However no horseshoes and no volleyball. Large area for the kids to play in the sand. The pool wasnt heated and was freezing so we didnt get to use the outdoor pool.

The air was tore up the first night we arrived (which was the hottest night of our stay). We called the manager JD. He had a repairman there within about 45 minutes. They worked all day until our air was fixed. We had several other things broken in our house, but told him I would report it to the front office the next business day.

I went to the office on Monday and turned in our list. Our oven was broken and the lights going up the stairs were broken. We asked them to fix those items. The others were only reported so they knew we didnt break them. The stairway was very dark going to the bedrooms and very dangerous at night. I almost fell a couple of times. It was never fixed during our stay. The repairman for the stove showed up at 8 PM one night and really freaked us out. I called JD the manager to make sure he was really a repairman.

The blonde short hair lady at the office was very nice. A lady named Natalie was not so friendly, but not rude.

We never tried the public beach access. We went to the state park. It was a beautiful beach and not too crowded. We loved being less than a half a mile to the grocery stores and the beach. Walmart and Target are about 5 to 7 miles.

I would not recommend this for anyone who is handicapp or has bad knees. The house sits back behind the other houses. You have to tote your luggage a good distance, then up the stairs into the house then up several stairs to the bedroom. The tubs also have the high sides and would be hard for anyone who had knee problems or replacements to take a shower.

Overall we loved it and would definately stay here again if we didnt stay on the beach. The manager was very helpful and very responsive. There is a special right now for the 7th night free on a week stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankieHawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed for 4 days in January in the apartment 13C.
Despite the bad weather we spent a lovely time there.
The house were clean and very cosy with all the facilities that you need, ma queen size bed and a sofa bed where to sleep and good kitchen.
We had the access to the swimming pools (one in door and the other not) but we didn't used it because of the cold weather of that days.
There is a Publix right next to the bridge and other shops.
The receptionist staff is very professional and kind.
A good place where to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thanks for the great review and we appreciate the kind words regarding our office staff. We looking forward to having you back again soon! Future guests, please note that this condo has a king bed in the master bedroom. Kindest Regards, JD Hallam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perdido Key
12.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
17.4 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,265 reviews
8.8 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
12.7 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#17 of 19 in Orange Beach
113 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Parrot Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Parrot Village Resort

Address: 13555 Perdido Key Dr, Perdido Key, FL 32507-4650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Perdido Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Perdido Key
Price Range: £124 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Parrot Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Purple Parrot Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Parrot Village Hotel Perdido Key
Purple Parrot Village Resort Perdido Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing