We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLO MO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Purple Parrot Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SLO MO”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Have stayed here numerous times and this condo is great. All you need and the owners are great to deal with. The pool area is outstanding and the beaches are 5 minutes away. Flat screen tv's and nicely furnished make it seem like home. Not big on crowds and this place fits the ticket for us. Only complaint is couldn't stay longer!! Thanks Fred.

Room Tip: rent this condo and take the guess work out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    33
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
76
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We really want to like the Purple Parrot...but, we just seem to have had bad luck there. I'd say this is a 3.5 star review.

Our first stay was Sept 2012 in Return to Me (45C). The master bed was extremely uncomfortable (though, in fairness, our friends said it has been changed out now), the doors didn't close completely (warped), and we had roaches in the bathroom. This year, our friends stayed there during our June trip, and the A/C went out and had to be replaced.

Maybe my caution would be to avoid that particular unit. I will say that the condo they were moved into by the manager after that was amazing (Caribbean Soul - 40C). Really amazing! I mean, I would go back just to stay in that one condo unit. And, really, that's the caution - the condos are mostly all priced the same for the same layout. And, one may be wonderful; another may be a real bummer.

Our stay in June 2013 was in Ain't It Nice (19CU). The layout of the loft-style unit was really neat, and the condo was very clean. But, like before, maintenance issues plagued the overall image of the condo. The promised Internet connection was not hooked up (meaning: it was not available from the cable company). That also meant no cable TV. The managers said to try and hop on surrounding WiFi hotspots throughout the complex. And, that worked, at times. Just not during the rain, not during the mornings, and not if you weren't out on the front porch. <sigh>

Speaking of the front porch, some animal had created a 6-inch hole in the screened-in porch, and it let mosquitoes in to the porch. Whatever the animal was (a cat?), it visited several times and went through what was on the porch, looking for food. The last maintenance item was the staircase that led up to the unit. The support bolt that held it was detached from the unit (and shouldn't have been), which made it bounce like a rope bridge as you climbed it. While my 3-year-old loved that, it didn't inspire confidence as we carried our luggage upstairs.

All that said, the location of the Purple Parrot is ideal. It's quiet, and the pool is wonderful. They even restored the bridge and the "island" in the pool this year. The bar is back open (which means they don't want you bringing food and drink down to the pool now). The grocery stores are really close, and Johnson beach is just literally minutes away. And, I think the price is a good value against surrounding areas like Orange Beach, Gulf Shores or Destin.

Maybe that is what concerns me the most (and maybe this is due to my lack of comparison of the surrounding Gulf Coast areas): it is so expensive to stay near Pensacola/Mobile/Destin, no matter the time of year. For comparison, we stayed in Maui, Hawaii at an upscale resort for 10 nights for what it cost to stay here for 7 nights. That's not vacation value, in my opinion, especially when coupled with maintenance issues.

The management staff was very nice, and I know they try to help and do their best for customers. I think the weather and economy has just been really harsh on this island community. We would probably stay there again, just given the location, convenience and pool. Though, I'll definitely be reading specific reviews on specific condos, in hopes that we can find a "winner", like Caribbean Soul.

One word of caution about the loft: this loft-style unit has a ladder that leads up to the loft. There is a door that covers the opening up in the loft, and it is fairly heavy. We allowed my 3-year-old to stay up there for daily naps, when we were in the living area or kitchen, but we didn't feel comfortable letting him stay up there overnight; luckily, there is a hide-a-bed couch in the living area he could use. The door was probably heavy enough that he couldn't lift it up all the way, but it even made me, as an adult, a little uncomfortable climbing up and down the ladder.

Room Tip: Make sure to read specific reviews on specific units, as they are not all equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MauiBoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerdidoKeyFlorida, Manager at Purple Parrot Village Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. The queen bed in 45c has been replaced with a new comfortable king size. Along with the new master bedroom bedding, the downstairs flooring was recently replaced and the condo owners bought new decor and kitchen items. The building, like all of the Purple Parrot condos, sits on piling so we occasionally do see some settling which cause the doors to rub however most of our guests are out enjoying the deck, pool or beaches for this to be an area of concern. Since this post, our maintenance went to the condo and adjusted the door found to be rubbing a little. Concerning bugs, we take this very seriously because unfortunately in a coastal area in Florida we do see an occasional bug especially in the warmer months. Please know that all of our condos are sprayed regularly by our pest control vendor and if a guest sees a bug it's usually dead as a result of the effective pest control service we employ. We do care very much about our guests as do the owners of the condos in which our vacation get to enjoy, so when something unforeseen happens like an AC failure we do our very best to take care of our guests on vacation. The AC in this condo was replaced in the fall of 2013. Return To Me is a great condo with many great memories beginning here for the guests we have who rent this particular condo. This is even one of the few which has repeats that have been coming back to the same condo for more then 5+ years.
Concerning the loft condo mentioned; glad you liked the floor plan. The loft condos are really neat. The one you rented has internet, but not wireless which was the reason for providing the other neighboring networks log on info. Good news however it that since your stayed the owner added a wireless routed in the condo. Also, the screen was repaired. When guests leave trash bags outside it tends to attract cats or racoons. Please don't leave and food or trash on the deck and you shouldn't be bothered with the screen issue. I reported the bouncy stairs to the maintenance to check and address if needed to ensure everything is safe.
Glad you had a good time and thanks for the kind words about our rental office staff. We really do try out best to ensure that everyone who vacations with us has a great time leaving them looking forward to their next visit. Value is one of the things we hope to be clearly apparent to all of our guests when the consider with the complex's amenities, the selection of different privately owned vacation homes to choose from, the local attractions and the beautiful beaches Perdido Key boasts. The Maui vacation sounds great, but I bet the airfare was outrageous.
Thanks again for the feedback. We hope you vacation with us again and that we get the chance to wow you into coming back over and over. Give the office a call if you have questions about specific condos before booking one as we would be glad to help. Kindest regards, JD Hallam PKRM Rental Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monroe,la
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

First time to stay at the Purple Parrot Resort wasn't sure what to expect, Check in was easy, property was well maintained and secured. The condos were very clean and the pool area was one of the best in the area, much better than any hotels or even some Condos on the beach. The resort was within minutes of the beach, could even walk if you felt like it. For the price and cleanliness I would recommend this to any families, could not beat the value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisianaladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Spring, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Very accessible to beaches and groceries and eateries. Pool was dirty when we went out to swim. Nice colorful place. Recommend for families who are crazy with swimming. Price is a little high but understandable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFJF06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in 40C the "Caribbean Soul" and it was amazing! It was not "right on the beach" but it is on a sand island so beautiful beaches are minutes away. Besides with a pool like they have the beach was just for pictures, the kids were at the beach asking to go back to the pool! (Not to mention it was nice to hang at the Tiki Bar while they played safely in the water). I have to say the Caribbean Soul did not seem like a condo to me, it is more like a cottage sine there are no adjoining condos. It is a two bedroom stand alone little house that had EVERYTHING. Full size front loading washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, three flat screen TVs, X-Box for the kids and a Margarita Machine for the big kids. We don't drink wine much, but there was even a built-in wine cooler. The king size bed and two full size bed were perfect for us and although we didn't use the queen hide-a-bed the couch was comfortable. When we did decide to leave the comforts of the condo the live band and food at the Tiki Bar were pretty amazing. Checking in and out was easy with J.D. and his staff. All in all, if you have a family I don't know why you would not stay here and use the money you save from not staying "on the beach" to go deep sea fishing or parasailing or something more memorable than living in what amounts to a giant apartment building.

Room Tip: Look at the map, we chose to stay in a secluded are versus next to the pool. We had quite, comfort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holiday-Rambler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This unique village of condos is simply adorable! We were very impressed with our entire experience from the moment we called to make our reservation.
The management group was exceptionally friendly and helpful during our short stay in the Peachy Keen unit. This condo was more privately located at the back of the village, which was perfect for us. It was immaculately clean and decorated so nicely!
The property was very charming and quaint. We loved the pool and the newly reopened Tiki Hut.
We also enjoyed the indoor pool, and hot tub. The indoor building also has a sauna and shower area as well as a workout area. We did not use those facilities, but certainly will next time we stay for a longer duration.
Of course, Purple Parrot is not located on the beach, which I thought was going to be disappointing until we went to Johnson Beach. There is an amazing National Park at the end of Johnson Beach Rd that is a true treasure! We loaded the car with all the day's necessities for a beach outing and drove to the furthest part of the park for our nearly secluded day at the beach! We had a huge area of beach to ourselves, quite a difference compared to the public beach access which also shares with many of the condominium buildings. Even if we stayed right on the beach in one of those condos, I would drive to the National Park for beach time because it was so amazing!
We loved returning to our little community of paradise after venturing out for the day, it was a cozy and comfortable return to "home". We could really get used to this on a regular basis!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Reasonably priced, excellent location less than half a mile from public beach access, and very nice pool. We loved our condo and the location is also close to Pensacola, Orange Beach, and Gulf Shores! Definitely will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perdido Key
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
12.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
10.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
9.5 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
16.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Parrot Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Parrot Village Resort

Property: Purple Parrot Village Resort
Address: 13555 Perdido Key Dr, Perdido Key, FL 32507-4650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Perdido Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Perdido Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Purple Parrot Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Purple Parrot Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Parrot Village Hotel Perdido Key
Purple Parrot Village Resort Perdido Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing