We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best shrimp sandwich ”
Review of Hot Dog Stand - CLOSED

Hot Dog Stand
Cuisines: Fast food, American
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best shrimp sandwich ”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is not the first time we have eaten here but it is the first time since it has been under new ownership. My son was not a fan of the hotdog, it was huge! But if you get nothing else, the grilled shrimp sandwich was amazing. Comes as fried, grilled not blackened shrimp. It's not bog but there is about four shrimp on it so you get shrimp in every bite and it is delicious. The place is much cleaner and prettier than it used to be and service is good. It's directly across the parking lot from the beach so it is a great place to grab a bite.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty/Overpriced!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

While the food was ok, the place wasn't the cleanest. Tables, floors, windows needed to be cleaned!!!!! Unorganized staff and no proper way of cashing out guests. To top it off the food was way overpriced!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TShaf26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Food was incredible! Service was as well. This place is a gem on the coast. I will definitely be returning and put the word out!

Helpful?
Thank beretverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Now 'Jody's Surf & Turf'”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had read about a hot dog stand when we were looking at a visit and when we stopped in, we were surprised at the senior couple and their granddaughter working in what was billed as Jody's Surf and Turf. Everything that was written about some of the uniqueness of the setting still appears to be true; they will still fix fish that you've caught, but they also have sandwiches, seafood entrees, burgers, and of course, hot dogs.

We went twice for a late lunch and was pleasantly surprised both times even though it seems the kitchen is still trying to find its niche. Some things are cooked to perfection, others are able to refill the crankcase in the car. They also seem to rely on grocery store staples for their menu items. I gave them four stars based on effort, friendliness, and really kitchy decor. (See pic). Behind the main building, there does seem to be an actual hot dog stand consisting of a 12 foot bar with stools and a newsstand style building(?)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome local diner”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Our favorite kind of restaurant. Very nice staff and a local hangout. There were legion riders, local kids sans parents, fishermen, and the after-church crowd all there for lunch. The owner? gave the kids free ice cream, and the food was good, prices very low.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DannySeavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing