We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day of fishing in our lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradise Fishing Charters - MOVED

Paradise Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: You found the place you want to be when it comes to catching fish!
Ottawa,ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best day of fishing in our lives”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I fish a lot in Canada. We do a lot of inland Saltwater fishing in Florida but this was incredible. Captain Steve's boat had broken a shaft but he made arrangements with another captain and took us out anyway. We caught Amberjack, Almaco Jack, Barracuda, Snappers and Grouper. We were so tired from reeling in big fish it was like a fishing dream. The crew went out of it's way to make the day a success. Steve knows his stuff, period. When it comes to fishing the Gulf you can bank on his knowledge and he knows the spots. I have booked a charter in the Bahamas and the crew never worked like this to make sure you had a good day. I read the bad reviews and all I can say is "oh well", he doesn't have a crystal ball and can't control machines or weather. As for double booking, I can't speak to that, it didn't happen to us. He did ok by us and I would recommend this guy to anyone. In fact we will be going back out with him.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank boattop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    1
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Left on the dock”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have always relied on Trip Advisor and have never been let down, I should have paid close attention to the latest review, however, I did not. I made a reservation on Feb. 5th 2014
for a charter on the 17th of Feb, for six friends eager to fish deep sea, Iwent so far as to check out
the boat and talk to the mate of the boat 10 days prior to the trip, I found the boat to be in disrepair
with a shaft issue and looked to be rather questionable as to seaworthyness, The mate, after I questioed him about negative reports In Trip Advisor, shrugged it off and said
"you can't please everyone, some people cannot be pleased " He did acknowledge that Paradise
did have a shaft problem and we would probobly be going on the "Hammerhead" as all the Captains worked together and we would have a good day fishing,

Three days prior to the charter , I attempted to contact the wife of the Paradise Capt. It took her some time to get back to me. When she did, she said she had been busy with things such as picking kids up at school. I was assured that we were all set with the charter and to make sure
we were at the dock at 730 am on the 17th of Feb.

We all got up early got to the dock to find that the charter had been double booked,
All 6 of us were left standing on the dock, According to the Capt. of Paradise this was the 3rd
time in 2014 this had happened. The Capt. made a lame attempt to find us another boat
Get a life Capt. you wrecked our day and all boats were ALREADY out. Time to find another
line of work.

For all who are considering Paradise Fishing Charters in Placida, FL., think again.

This is a poorly run operation with boat and people problems. Don't give it a second
thought.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank kendoo4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No Way To Treat A Repeat Customer!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My group has chartered 4 times within the last year and had successful trips, though the previously mentioned engine problems seem to be on going. When I booked the last trip, I called 3 times before the Captain's wife was able to take the call: dropping kids off at school, just going into the store, etc. Finally, I was able to schedule the trip. The wife knew I had guests from out of town and lived 1-1/2 hours South of Placida. She said she would call if there were any weather problems. We arrived at 7:45AM and the boat was still buttoned up. I called them, the wife answered, and told me that there were small craft advisories. She said that she was unable to call me because the cell service was out the day before! Hmmm.....she was talking to me on the cell phone! Could she have made the effort to get up during the night and call or text me about the cancellation? I mentioned that it was time to run the business from a land line. She replied that they DO HAVE A LAND LINE and then said something about returning home late the night before...blah,blah,blah. She offered a slight discount on a future booking, but that would not even cover the gas expanse of driving 3 hours for nothing, let alone the drive fro the replacement trip. The bottom line is that we will never charter with this company again. This is no way to treat a repeat customer, let alone a new customer. They need to run their company professionally,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank JohnnyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lack of Confidence”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Overall Capt Steve seems knowledgeable, but just left feeling with a lack of confidence in the trip and the vessel. The guarantee of catching something on a shark trip is questionable. We went out first time on a charter that i had given as a gift. Boat had one engine down so ride out was long and hot (that was blamed on a starter). Also limited where we were able to go. That trip was not successful. He did offer to take us back out. We went out and again it seemed as if there were issues keeping both engines running. We turned around after riding out 20 minutes and was blamed on choppiness. Perhaps that was accurate, but the oil coming out of the exhaust and engine issues make me question that. So we spent an hour driving there for a 20 min ride in the bay. That was it, no offer to continue to make good on the guarantee from there. I completely understand that the captain has no control over weather, but I left feeling that my trip was not successful because of a struggling boat and not conditions outside of his control.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Fishing Charter Ever”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent a couple of weeks on Little Gasparilla Island and chose Paradise Fishing Charters a second time . Captain Steve definitely knows what he is doing. My two 13 and 14 year old sons had the time of their lives. Steve has is own secret fishing places in the Golf of Mexico. We booked the all day trip and Steve even added another hour to our very affordable trip. We caught plenty of Snapper, Barracuda , Shark and Spanish Macarel. He even cleaned the Fish after we got back to the dock. His first mate Jay is also a super nice guy.
Steve and Jay, we will definitely be back next year. Thanks again for a fantastic day of fishing!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MARCUS024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradise Fishing Charters also viewed

Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
Placida, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing