We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our first choice in the Plantation area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We always stay at this Hotel when in the area usually prior to or post cruise. All the staff are friendly and helpful (unlike so many other hotels) As we get there relatively late in the evening - having flown into MIA from the UK the bar snack menu is a godsend and the well stocked bar a bonus.
There is a restaurant literally across the car park which is really convenient but understandably I think they finish serving around 9.30/10.00pm

Slightly bizarrely upon check in we were told that the king room we had booked and paid for - many months in advance - was not available due to a "stock over inventory" or words to that effect and we were offered a room with queen beds.

I agree with many of the other reviews - the hotel is looking a little tired - room furniture, carpets etc are in need of replacement and have a slightly grubby feel. The air conditioning unit in our room was very noisy - and I guess having worked for a number of years 24/7 even tho having been maintained (hopefully) is now definitely in need of replacement.

Despite these negatives we can recommend the location - it's peaceful, the room layouts are excellent, the screen between the bed area and the remainder of the room makes such a difference, in terms of not hearing corridor noise etc. We have not seen such a good hotel room layout in any other hotel, even 4/5 star properties.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scene-set
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for this kind review. We are discussing opportunities of refreshing the rooms and new carpet. I hope to have a more definitive answer soon.

We hope to serve you again soon, and I hope you enjoyed your recent cruise.

Thank you,

Don McNew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We used a cash back site for an even better deal and booked months in advance. Went for a week before a cruise and although it is a few miles from Fort Lauderdale and the port it is right next door to broward Westfield mall and a target. Few minutes drive to 595 / 75 & 5 or 10 mins to sawgrass mills mall. Excellent hotel & facilities - pool is a no go though, it was covered in leaves and looks nasty. That was the only negative. Room nice size & clean, breakfast very good choice and fresh. We will definitely come back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank novisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for this great review. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Don McNew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is located in a very calm place with restaurants and shopping nearby and free parking. Although the room wasnt as clean as expected, it was spacious and confortable. Breakfast had a fair variety and was complimentary. Its not as close to the beaches but will only take 15 to 20 minutes to get there. Its a good option for a fair price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Luis Felipe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation. I want to extend our sincere apology for you having housekeeping issues during your stay. Please know that these issues have been addressed with the Housekeeping Manager.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to our area, you will give us another chance.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Lovely place to stay. Staff were friendly and professional. Accommodating in every respect. Rates reasonable. Breakfast is available to all guests and was very well stocked with a variety of hot and cold breakfast foods. For dinner the night we stayed, we selected room service and ordered from the restaurant to be picked up. There were several items available: pizza,
sandwiches, chili, soups, seafood entrees, cheesecake and variety of other desserts, etc.

Check out is noon, which was very convenient for our family. I want to mention here that as we were loading our car, one staff member came over to our car and asked us if we needed some ice. We said we were going to get it from a gas station. The hotel staff member said she would get some ice for us so we wouldn't need to go to another place. She gave us enough ice to fill our cooler. I thought this was far beyond the call of duty. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure of how the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just completed a stay at this hotel, was very impressed. The staff was courteous, the rooms were clean, and the location was perfect for business. Theres a mall nearby with a theatre, and the usual big chain restaurants nearby to choose from.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was very concerned about staying at this hotel after reading a lot of reviews here, but I booked through expedia and couldn't cancel (won't make that mistake again!). When we arrived at the hotel, I immediately told the front desk about what I've read and about my concerns about the mildew smells, stained carpet, etc. The girl at the desk (didn't get her name) was VERY sweet and put us in room 615, by the elevator. It was clean, not at all moldy or mildewy, and rather pleasant. She said the rooms by the elevators are the least requested so they get the least use. It was really fine and I felt so much better. Yes, the furniture could definitely use an update, as could the carpet and the a/c units, not really sure why this hasn't been done because this hotel was very busy and I saw a lot of airport personnel there. Everyone who worked there was very, very nice. The free breakfast, which we only took advantage of only one day, was just ok, and very busy and plentiful. All in all, I was happier than I though I would be - but I've been to much nicer Hyatt Place hotels and I really think this one could be better too with a little more effort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justmitype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to know the staff was able to accommodate your requests and you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The staff here are wonderful and they do provide, business center, hot breakfast etc. However, in our room the carpet and sofa were very stained and need to be replaced. Shuttle or cab to/from airport or cruise port will cost you around $40 plus tip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kss1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPlace G, General Manager at Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation. We are ecstatic to know that the staff provided you with excellent service. We have shared your comments with our corporate office regarding renovations of the hotel. We know there are working on improving the rooms. We have already replaced many of the air conditioning units and will continue to make improvements.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Safe Travels!

Sean Pischeda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Fort Lauderdale Plantation
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
4.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plantation at SW 6th St
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation

Address: 8530 W Broward Blvd, Plantation, FL 33324-2610
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Plantation
#2 Business Hotel in Plantation
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range: £123 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation is located just minutes from Sawgrass Outlet Mall, Las Olas Blvd., Downtown Fort Lauderdale, beaches, casinos, shopping and restaurants. The Hyatt Place has food service available 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. We offer a complimentary hot and cold breakfast featuring our Signature "Hot Skillet" Breakfast Sandwiches. The hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, outdoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale/Plantation Hotel Plantation
Hyatt Place Plantation
Hyatt Plantation
Plantation Hyatt
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing