We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont count on the shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“dont count on the shuttle”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel due to the good review and the fact that we just wanted a clean place to sleep the night before our cruise and they had a free shuttle. We did get picked up from the airport in a timely manner but more people than should have been were squeezed in the van. Then when we checked in the only shuttle times available were 9am or 2 pm to the port which didn't work for us so had to pay for a taxi. Definitely need more shuttles. Rooms were fine, clean, although low water pressure and water could have been warmer. ice machine on our floor was broken as well.. Definitely would have stayed somewhere else if we knew about the shuttle issues.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kimcht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonelle B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Please let me begging by expressing my deepest apologies for the issues with our shuttle service. We are working on refining the procedures. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to reach out to us and would like to discuss this further. Please contact us directly at the property.

Thank you,
Shonelle Boucher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    260
    108
    39
    43
See reviews for
338
264
50
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great gym for a Hampton. Two treadmills (one was very squeaky and noisy), one crosstrainer, one seated bike. Bench for lifting and one for crunches, also had one of the home gym type weight machines. Just wish the TV was working the second night of my stay.

I appreciate the mid-week reception like the one on Wednesday night of my stay - they had decent pizza available. Much better than the usual chips and nuts. They also have beer.

Good enough wi-fi. Nothing out of the norm here.

My room (#325) had a terribly loud A/C system that clicked incessantly when it was cooling. And the continuous fan setting was not working so the room was quiet...quiet...BOOM tick tick tick during the A/C cycle. OK for me (sort of) because I'm a deep sleeper but it would have driven someone like my wife nuts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGetemTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonelle B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your response with us. We appreciate your time and your business.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,
Shonelle Boucher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise. The pool area was so nice and tropical (water tempature in the pool was a bit warm but to me that was better than being too cold). We sat by the pool most of the day and even in the evenning, the lighting of the trees around the pool at night made it a perfect Florida retreat.
Breakfast was fine, typical Hampton Inn choices. Managers reception in the evenning during the week was a really nice bonus. Tuesday night was a variety of munchies , beer,wine, soda, and water. Wednesday night was pizza, beer, wine,soda,water. Everyone really enjoyed just sitting and relaxing during the happy hour. Met some really nice people also staying pre-cruise.
A mall was right across the street with a Macy's, Dillards, JC Penny, Sears and lots of other typical mall stores. Food court with a Chick-fil-a and many other choices. It also has a movie complex attached to it as well.
A couple of blocks in the other direction was a shopping Plaza with a great Marshalls store and lots of chain restaurants, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Five Guys Burgers. Ate at a Cuban restaurant there, Padrinos...excellent food and service.
A little deli is right behind the hotel. The food there is also excellent. Had a tuna wrap and a salad and the portions were crazy big. Friendly service and they will deliver it to you at the hotel if you do not want to walk the 5 steps to the location. Good if you are sitting around by the pool..they will bring your lunch/dinner right to you so you don't even have to leave your loung chair.
Free transportation service to the pier. Driver was very nice David was great. Also free transportation to/from the airport. We did have a little bit of a wait at the airport but it was better than paying for a taxi.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Had a great sleep with the very comfortable pillows and mattress.
I will definately stay at this hotel again pre/post cruise. Service and accomodations were wonderful with lots to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelsnob4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonelle B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your response with us. We appreciate your time and your business.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,
Shonelle Boucher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juniper Mountain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This has been our hotel of choice for cruising over the past 3 years but they really outdid themselves this time with amazing service and genuine care for us. My wife injured her knee in a fall at the airport before our flight to Fort Lauderdale. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we asked if there might be a wheelchair available. Patricia the Sales Manager sprang into action getting one for us. Then she changed our room to an accessible room to be easier for my wife and check in was immediate (even though we arrived early). Then Patricia proceeded to create several ice packs for my wife and put them in our refrigerator. Then she found a step-stool as she suggested my wife could use it to elevate her leg. Hampton Inn is lucky to have such an amazing representative. We were told to use the wheelchair as long as we needed during our stay and Patricia told us to take it on our cruise and just return it when done. Patricia saved our vacation. Patricia you are AMAZING! We must also mention Dianne at the desk who arranged it so we could return the wheelchair via their cruise shuttle in between our back to back cruises and offered it for the second cruise but we wanted to return it in case someone else needed it. My wife was able to use a cane for the second cruise. I have never experienced service like this and again we are amazed how well we were treated. We have often recommended this hotel to friends and they enjoy it as well and we will continue to praise the Hampton Inn Plantation. Thank you again Patricia and all at Hampton Inn Plantation, we'll be back next year and hope to see you. The MacNeils from Nova Scotia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonelle B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your response with us. We appreciate your time and your business.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,
Shonelle Boucher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived around 7pm at night after a long flight, we had booked 2 rooms, but were told they were on different floors. I got the feeling that because we were in at the end of the day all the rooms were already allocated and we were given what was left, even though our booking was made 6 months earlier.
Apart from that the hotel is a little tired, but the rooms were clean and a good size. There was tea and coffee available 24hrs, there was free alcohol and snacks available in the evening. Breakfast was basic but adequate as it was included in the price. There is a laundry for the guests which was an added bonus. Westfield Mall was next door and a short walk the other way there were plenty of good restaurants.
I would stay there again if going on a cruise as it was central to everything and suited our needs.
The staff need to be a little more accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonelle B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your response with us. We appreciate your time and your business.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to improve our services for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Shonelle Boucher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here the day before our cruise. We took advantage of the free hotel transportation from the airport. We called the hotel once we landed that we were ready for the airport transportation and they told us it would be 30 minutes. Once we went to the waiting area at the airport they were there already. We lucked out. This place is in a good area with a mall close and a Target. The area for breakfast was small. The room was outdated but clean. The staff was friendly. Our port was in Miami, therefore we didn't use the free transportation to port Everglades. We had transportation pre-arranged with a shuttle service to Miami only 30 minutes away and this place is close to the highway.
Overall this is a good place to stay before a cruise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shonelle B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your response with us. We appreciate your time and your business. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you have experienced. It is our goal to provide every guest with an exceptional stay and apologize for falling short.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to improve our services for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Shonelle Boucher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stay ( 4 of us / 2 rooms ) before cruise. Hotel and the outside area/gardens is beautiful from the outside. Location is also very nice, with the walking distance to the mall. Inside the hotel is just average. Need some updates specially the bathrooms....décor is old and outdated everywhere trough property. Breakfast room is very small, guests had a hard time to find a table. Breakfast itself is nothing spectacular either, and is not replaced in time, we have to ask for everything ( for oatmeal, for milk, etc.) The only good things is that the tea and coffee is available all the time. Staff is not bad, but not very friendly and not very helpful. We had to ask twice to reprogram the keys to our rooms because they wasn't working after first night stay. Shuttle is totally bad, bad, bad, and don't count on it at all. Thankfully we had car rental for the first day. But after returning the car to the airport we wait first 30 minutes outside the airport (Terminal 1 ) directly under the sign for a shuttle. Driver from another Hampton feel sorry for us ( it was late, windy and cold ) and he call in for us again, he told our hotel front desk that we are party of 4 and need a shuttle - well, it takes another 2 hours before we where pick up. On top of it we get a 15 minutes speech from a angry driver, how hard we works and how he don't get enough tips, because people are dam, and is no way we wait that long. Well we did, every other shuttle come 3 - 4 times before he show up. On top of it he drove badly and angry with sharp turns not safe.
We didn't tip him, he did not deserved.
After addressing the issue to the management we was told that they don't have our name for pick up, but they did not ask for the name when we called in, they only ask only how many people. The last day staff was nicer, to bad not all the time. We don't plan to go back there.
Next time we plan to rent a car and stay further away from the airport. Pay less for the hotel and don't depend on the shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We appreciate your comments, and are really sorry you experience with us fell short of being a great one. Our loyal guests choose us because of our friendly staff, convenience and availability of our free shuttle, and free Hampton breakfast. We pride ourselves in being one of the most attractive properties to stay pre/post cruise. Our property will soon be undergoing a major renovation starting in April 2014 in hopes to make it an even better place for our loyal guests. Once again thanks for your comments which contribute to make us better every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plantation hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plantation at SW 6th St
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
Address: 7801 SW 6th St, Plantation, FL 33324-3209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Plantation
#3 Family Hotel in Plantation
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation Hotel Plantation
Hampton Inn Plantation
Plantation Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing