We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel, a little frayed around the edges.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights, during Florida stay for a visit to Sawgrass Mills and I stayed here three years ago and was impressed by the hotel and its staff.

This time I was underwhelmed. We checked in mid afternoon after quite a long drive from the Gulf Coast. Check in wasn't busy but a got little more than a grunt from the agent as I checked in and no information about the hotel etc.

The room was fine - clean and comfortable with two queen beds. First stop was the exec lounge for a coffee - no! There was water and juice in the fridge but no coffee - I don't think I have ever known that in an exec lounge before. Clearly they are pushing customers to the Starbucks downstairs.

The pool was okay but some of the doors, facilities and fittings were looking tatty and in need of a remodel. There was nothing major wrong with the hotel, but equally, there was no wow-factor, either with the building or its staff.

The drinks in the lounge in the evening are very expensive - I have got used to the comp drinks you get in UK, Europe, Asia and Australia.

Breakfast in the lounge was good - the staff also worked hard re-stocking and clearing tables making it a pleasant experience.

All in all, no disaster, but I won't bother going back. There are a huge number of hotels to choose from in the area and this one does very little to encourage repeat business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Nick -

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Feedback like this is valued and will help us continually improve. I would love the opportunity to service you again in the future. Could you possibly provide me with your contact information so we can discuss further?

You and your business matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

I loved this hotel. It was decorated stylishly with metallic colored leather furniture in the lobby and an attractive bar. Free parking. The pool and hot tub were clean and wonderful. They close at 10:00, but we were told that the staff doesn't mind if you stay later as long as you are quiet. The towels and amenities were great. The room was clean and comfortable. One bed had down pillows and the other had synthetic, so I called room service and two more down pillows were delivered promptly. There was a small lake right outside our window, so the view was lovely. The staff was extremely pleasant. I loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for the great feedback! Your comments will be shared with our entire team. On behalf of all 110 team members, thank you for staying with us! We know you have a choice of hotels when you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Rooms were small, but clean. However, the bathroom door in our room wouldn't close all the way. When checking in we were given a room with two double beds when we reserve a king - however, they quickly moved us to the requested reservation. Definitely a business persons hotel. Breakfast was expensive - $30 for eggs for the two of us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieinsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to respond. Your opinion matters! I will share your comments with our entire team as we continue to strive for excellence.

On behalf of all 110 Renaissance Plantation team members, thank you for your business. We know you have a choice of hotels when you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Not only is this a nice hotel, but you can park and lock your car here in an expansive lot for no charge. No shuttle available, but a taxi round-trip cost ($70 including tip) is less than parking at the port for 5 days, so a 7-day (or more) cruiser really saves. Great restaurant within walking distance of the hotel (Bokampers).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Richard -

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We also believe the hotel represents a GREAT value! Our hotel strives to be the best hotel in Plantation. This type of feedback will be circulated throughout our hotel.

I know you have a choice of hotels when you travel. On behalf of all 110 Renaissance Plantation team members, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on business. Travel 10 times a year on business and try to use Marriott wherever possible, as the service is usually outstanding. I booked the room months ahead of time and when I checked in after a long day was told that although I reserved a King, they did not have one, as the hotel was sold out. I asked for a couple of drinks or some extra miles as compensation for taking a double bed instead of a king, but got nothing. Credit card machine wasn't functioning, so the checking in process took about 20 minutes which after a day of travel seems like an eternity.

Room itself was fine given my request wasnt honored. Pool was nice. Breakfast buffet is a ripoff at $20. Location is fine if you want access to Sawgrass Mills, but you're a good 25-30 minute drive from the beach. Nowhere to eat that is less than a mile or so away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mphopkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your stay. We are committed to ensuring our guests have the best experience possible. I am terribly sorry for the challenge you received with your room type. I can certainly understand how frustrating that must have been.

On behalf of all 110 Renaissance Plantation team members, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spent three days there at a printing association conference of about 150. Room was quite nice and bed was comfortable. Room was very quiet. Catered meals for the conference were good but nothing fancy. A little out of the way and a $35 cab ride from FLL but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_lanterman, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to reply. Your feedback will be shared with the entire leadership team as we strive to continually improve our service levels.

We appreciate your business. At your service,


David Lanterman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights given it's proximity to the Sawgrass Mills and past experience with Marriott and Renaissance. Very comfortable and well appointed, reasonable rates, good breakfast (the bar and dinner were good too).

Well managed - upon arrival discovered there was no safe in the room and one was delivered very quickly, late checkouts are sometimes difficult to get but the hotel did accommodate our request. Only concern, which the management knows about, is that the air conditioning in the public areas and corridors is set much too low and you need to have a sweater or jacket.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumar A, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay at the Renaissance Plantation. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and our location. Thank you for the feedback regarding the air conditioning being too low in the hallways, I have requested my Director of Engineering to address the issue immediately. We hope to see you again soon! Kumar Anne. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Fort Lauderdale Plantation
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
4.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Plantation
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plantation at SW 6th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel

Address: 1230 S Pine Island Rd, Plantation, FL 33324-4402 (Formerly Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Plantation
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
Price Range: £92 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel boasts style and sophistication, making it a top choice among Fort Lauderdale, FL hotels. Located adjacent to the Jacaranda Golf Club, our luxury property features unique amenities including an outdoor resort-style pool, an onsite restaurant (Bin595), and more than 10,000 square feet of beautifully-appointed event space. Modern guest rooms feature Renaissance PLUSH luxury bedding, microwaves and mini refrigerators, and Wi-FI. Our Fort Lauderdale boutique hotel is located just minutes from all South Florida has to offer including Sun Life Stadium, Sawgrass Mills Mall, and the BB&T Center. As a member of the Florida Green Lodging program, Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel has been awarded the prestigious Energy Star label for efforts in protecting our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Plantation Fort Lauderdale Hotel Plantation
Plantation Renaissance
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing