We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-suite hotel, good rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great all-suite hotel, good rates”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton Suites Plantation several times pre or post cruise. It's a very nice hotel with wonderful rooms. We have had rooms facing the interior courtyard and the front - both are good. Each room has a large bathroom with double sinks separate from the shower/toilet area and large closet; bedroom with TV; and livingroom with sleeper sofa, wing chair, TV, desk and mini-bar area with fridge and pod coffee maker. It is quite and beds are comfortable. Rooms and common areas seem clean and well maintained. There is a pool, hot tub and fitness center on the roof (I haven't used any of these, so can't comment on them). There is free Wi-fi and a complementary small bottle of water in the room. Staff is generally friendly and accomodating.

We always choose this Sheraton because it's a category 2 for SPG points - one of the cheapest options. The location is great too. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants. The only downside is that it's attached to an old, abandoned mall, which is a little creepy. We have never had any problems though. This is also probably why this hotel is a lower category even though it is very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard might be a bit quieter than those facing the parking lot. Some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxcanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary E, Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review pdxcanby. We are so happy to hear about not only your last stay with us, but your Starwood loyalty and to our property. Even with being attached to the mall, once you're inside you forget that the mall is there. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next cruise, and feel free to call us prior to your arrival so we can pre-block you in a room facing the courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    386
    122
    47
    25
See reviews for
320
278
62
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Poor service. I enquired if they have shuttle pick up from the Fort Lauderdale cruise terminal by email three weeks before. Then on the date I finished my cruise trip, I phoned the hotel and left a message for them to call back. Nobody called me back. After half hour, I called their 1800 number, and the operator told me that this hotel does not have shuttle pick up. So I took a taxi to the hotel, and I saw their shuttle bus parks just outside the lobby. On their advertisement, it says they have free shuttle going to Sawgrass Mall. So after check in, and asked the front desk about the free shuttle. I was told to talk to the bellman. Talked to the one of the bellmen and he told me to ask the front desk. Then after run around for another half an hour, the driver said he just went to Sawgrass, and convince us not to go there as there will be lot of people. We ended up going to an ready mall with another guest. On the way I asked what time there will be a shuttle going to Sawgrass. The answer was 10 in the morning. So we got up the next day and waited for the shuttle before 10am. No shuttle after 10, so I asked the front desk, and I was told the shuttle is 11 am. The poor service did not end up there. I was phoned by the front desk that I will be picked up at around 5:30pm. After a number of phone calls (long distant cell phone charges) we were picked one hour later.

Right after these 2 days in Plantation, we are staying in another Sheraton hotel in Toronto (4 Point) for 4 nights, and have no issue with this one.

For Sheraton Suites Plantation, I have to concur the previous reviewer's remark that the best I can give is a 3-star hotel. But on the bright side, they can improve if they can somehow improve their performance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby5187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Fantastic rooms for the rate we paid. Rooms were clean very well presented with free WiFi and coffee machine etc. We had a room on 2nd floor which faced the front of the hotel which was still very quiet.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a higher room - there was a very noisy wedding reception on ground floor when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Pros:
Really cheap hotel if you use points
20 minutes from the beach

Cons:
Dated rooms
Below par Bar Service
Outside appearance of the hotel is sketchy
Platinum recognition was minimal

Overall, a decent place to stay for the points, but I probably would avoid this place in the future...

Room Tip: I would recommend staying at the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadmzimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Lobby was decent, bar had decent drinks. Restaurant seemed unremarkable so we chose to eat off the property. We were disappointed with the rooftop pool, and chose not to try it. We wish there had been a poolside bar or cafe of some sort. Gym looked good, didn't use it either. One bedroom suite was nicely sized, big bathroom had separate sinks which was nice. Nice and clean. The bed had nice pillows but could have been more comfortable in our opinion. We were surprised to see dogs staying with some guests, and one dog in the hallway was barking really loudly until 1am but we were at the end of the hallway and sleep with the tv on so we were able to drown it out. Overall would not stay again, although we got a decent rate.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DoctorMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I got a great hotel room during my stay. Wonderful staff and very updated room. The layout of the room makes for a very spacious feel as if it were a nice studio. I chose this hotel for the value. Due to it's location, I would only book here again if I had to conduct business within a 5 mile radius of here.
I came to the area as a Ft Lauderdale tourist. With that said, I regret staying in this property because it was so far from beaches, casinos and tourist spots. I would highly recommend not staying here if you have a touristic agenda like I did.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary E, Manager at Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review Paul. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the layout of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My Daughter was married October 13th of this year. She chose your hotel for the wedding quest. It was closed to the Country Club and thought it would work prefectley. Well that was not the case! The person that did the contract with my Daughter was not truthful. My Daughter spent 2 weeks before the wedding fighting for every thing that was promised. I don't know how a big chain hotel could operate like this. I felt so bad for my Daughter. All your hotel did was add more stress to her. If your hotel was the last hotel standing during a Cat 5 hurricane, I would not stay there. I am SO disappointed!! Also, alot of our guest had problems with you. Your hotel is VERY unorganized!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 315Runninggirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plantation
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale-Plantation Hotel
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West

Property: Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West
Address: 311 N University Drive, Plantation, FL 33324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plantation
#5 Business Hotel in Plantation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Fort Lauderdale West, is an all-suite, newly renovated, full-service hotel within walking distance to the Broward Mall, close to major office complexes, and just 10 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Hotel Plantation
Sheraton Plantation
Plantation Sheraton
Sheraton Suites Plantation, Ft Lauderdale West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing