We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Okay, Cruise Transport Horrendous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Plantation
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked a two bedroom suite for my husband and I and my parents to share before leaving on our cruise the following day. Booking online claimed transport was included to the pier for all four of us round trip; however, upon the morning of our cruise, we were informed at the shuttle (which was over 45 minutes late) that we had only paid for two and only for ONE way. Needing to get the port and having had a stressful morning, we begrudgingly paid the driver directly. He failed to give us a receipt but we hoped in good faith they would uphold their end of the rather confusing bargain.
After our cruise, we waited another 45 minutes to be picked up at the pier after having made multiple attempts to get in contact with the front desk for transportation. That morning, the voicemail box was full, so it took almost a half hour to even get anyone on the line. We were picked up and taken back to the hotel, whereupon having already paid them a week earlier we went on our way. Not more than 15 minutes later, my father received a phone call from the hotel claiming the $10 in tip we had given was actually insufficient because they claimed we had never even paid for the return trip.
For $12/pp for a barely 10 mile trip, the services rendered by this hotel were totally unacceptable. Poor customer service (nothing like be argued with about whether you paid or not by a grown man) coupled with a frankly sub-par example of the Marriot brand will send us back to the Hampton Inn with its flamingo encrusted van and complementary service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmnop6312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Lmnop6312,

I am so sorry to hear that there was so much confusion with your transportation arrangements. I have already reached out to the transportation company about this inquiry. Punctuality is extremely important to me and I have clearly expressed my expectation. As far as the cruise package, this package includes shuttle service for up to two people from the Port Everglades. Additional people are twelve dollars each. Transportation to the port is not included with the package. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Again, I am sorry there was so much confusion. I hope you will give us an opportunity to regain your trust in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

I seriously don't understand some of the ratings that people have given this hotel. I booked this property because my family and I were flying out of Fort Lauderdale after a cruise and when I read that it had been renovated I thought that it must be pretty good. Boy was I wrong ! Upon arrival the lobby appears to be fairly decent but it's all downhill from there. The hallways are old and seriously over-perfumed as though they're trying to mask some other odor beneath it but all it did was succeed in making me sick. The rooms also smell VERY musty from the minute you walk in and are older than any other Residence Inn that I've ever stayed at (and I've stayed at many). The carpets were sticky so we never walked around without sandals. The furniture is OLD and in poor condition. The kitchen area was actually gross especially the cabinets and garbage area beneath the sink. The property was supposed to be 100% non-smoking but they don't mind giving you old smelly blankets with several cigarette burns in them. Even my 9 year old daughter who is generally so easy going complained that she couldn't sleep because the blankets smelled. I don't think i've stayed at such a dilapidated and unprofessional Residence Inn in my entire life. When my husband asked for some sheets to use under the blankets for the sofa bed and rollaway, they gave us nothing but fitted sheets saying that they ran out of laundry (and that too with stains). Renovations ??? What renovations?? When I asked the front desk clerk what reno's were done to the rooms she told me that reno's were in the lobby and outside areas but none to the rooms (which is completely apparent). Oh my goodness, there are so many negative things at this property that I could go on and on. We made a mistake by staying at this property but I hope that you read my review and avoid the mistake we made. I would NEVER recommend anyone stay here and I have no intention of ever taking my family back. I don't understand how Marriott has let this property slide because it is COMPLETELY sub-par for a Marriott property. Why aren't the regional reps reviewing this property? If anyone plans on being in the Fort Lauderdale area - look into Los Olas. We drove through this area a couple of times and were so impressed with the location that for the future I plan on finding something in this location. I think there are several hotels in this part of Fort Lauderdale, a beautiful mall, beaches within a short distance, great restaurants and I'm sure based on the look of the area - the hotels Los Olas must have a higher standard of quality.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DVIPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

DVIPortland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you stay was less than perfect and that you left unsatisfied. Please know that we are listening and committed to providing the Marriott experience that you have come to expect. We have already completed a professional cleaning of the entire property's corridors and are addressing/correcting all other concerns daily. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope in the future you will allow us the opportunity to provide you the service I know we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

If you have ever stayed on a Residence Inn avoid a bad experience and simply skip this one. It is a shame what the current management and procedures are in this place.
I arrived late on a Friday night. I was expecting a fedex letter but there was never a note stating any arrival. So I thought that the company did not send anything. (I will come to this later…)
I opened a safety box at the front desk. They never asked for my signature at the beginning, when I asked how would they know that it was me, they told me “they will remember me”… and probably ask for an ID….
I left the hotel next morning and came back late, just to notice that my room was not made, and it smelled like all the guests of the hotel had a barbeque in my room. Simply disgusting.
I complained about the matter and I got fresh towels and shampoo 45 minutes later, not even offering to clean up a little bit.
Next morning I complained with the manager and the way to “compensate” about the incident was to give me extra points for my staying.
Remember the fedex envelope I was expecting? It was there since I arrived, they just simply did not care to tell me. It was just at check out that I asked for it and after a while they remembered they had it.

Room Tip: Check for a change in Management first. Do not go if same people of december 2013 are still there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPM_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

MPM_WORLDWIDE,

I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences that you encountered throughout your stay. I am grateful for your feedback as it allows us to continue to improve. Please know that I have followed up with my leadership team and have provided additional trainings to the front desk and housekeeping department regarding your concerns. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent Thanksgiving night at this hotel. They did give us a warm welcome and provided a Thanksgiving dinner which was a great perk. However, our room needed a good cleaning. The building is older, but that's not an excuse for lack of good cleaning. I found a very dirty glass in the cupboard, someone had spilled something on top of the microwave and it looked like it might be getting moldy. The inside doorframe to the bathroom was stained and cabinets were difficult to open. There were no disposable cups in the bathroom or kitchen. We were on the 4th floor so cleaning the outside windows must be difficult...but; they were dirty and smudged-up. Lastly, there was no ice bucket and no ice available except at the registration desk. We were staying just one night so hadn't time to make ice in the refrigerator.

Had we been spending more than just overnight, we probably would have moved to another Marriott property as this one just didn't meet Marriott standards. This location is a rewards level 4 and just doesn't rate that high a rating.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Gingin410,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences during your stay. My housekeeping and engineering manager have been informed and we have applied your feedback for overall improvement. I appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My spouse and I spent two nights at this hotel for business in Fort Lauderdale.The staff is very friendly. On the second day, the dishwasher suddenly stopped, out of order, and the manager on duty brought us clean dishes and cutlery sonwe could prepare our dinner. This property is well maintained, and not pricey.

Room Tip: A few miles west is Sawgrass Mill Outlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woinic08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

woinic08,

Thank you for staying with us! I appreciate your feedback and am I am so happy to hear that our staff provided you a friendly experience. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a nice property in a good location.
Staff is mostly friendly and the free breakfast / pool / fitness center / rooms are what you would expect from this chain.
If you put a DnD on your door, be prepared for a plastic bag full of towels, etc. enough for a family of four...why? I don't know

Room Tip: No bad rooms, unless you don't want to hear pool noise, which was not a problem when i was there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd_amowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

sd_amowat,

Thank you for providing your feedback. Please know, after seeing your comment, my housekeeping manager and I immediately refreshed the housekeeping team on what the "no-service" bag should look like...no longer packaging for a family of four! We hope to see you again soon, thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Residence Inn by Marriott in Plantation is another great Marroitt Hotel. Check inn went smoothly.
I was offered a bottle of water and a cookie together with my room key. The hotel was clean ( and yes, there was a slight moldy smell in the hall way, but that is very common in Florida). The bed was very comfortable with a good selection of pillows. The kitchen was well equipped. The (free) breakfast had something for every taste and the Social hour 4 days a week was a nice plus with fresh salad, a hot meal and a selection of beverages (soda, wine,coffe,beer ect.). The Broward Mall is just across the road (in walking distance), the beach and Sawgrass Mills 20 min. drive away and there are several restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sol653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh R, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

sol653,

Thank you so much for your feedback! I will be sure to pass on the nice words! We hope your travel brings you back soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plantation hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Fort Lauderdale Plantation
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale / Plantation
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft Lauderdale - Plantation
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plantation at SW 6th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation

Address: 130 N University Dr, Plantation, FL 33324-2016
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Plantation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plantation
#4 Family Hotel in Plantation
Price Range: £107 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation has brand-new suites and features the ideal amenities to make it the perfect extended stay Fort Lauderdale hotel. Conveniently located off I-595, our Plantation hotel is just 15 minutes from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and the Fort Lauderdale Cruise Ports. Guests appreciate the close proximity to travel destinations such as the BB&T Center, Sun Life Stadium, and downtown Miami. Our new, pet-friendly suites include free WiFi, separate living area with pullout sofa, stylish furnishings and 50% more space than rooms at other Planation hotels. The highlight of every suite is the fully-equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances. We even have free grocery delivery to help stock your fridge. If you don't want to cook, enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning with a variety of fruits, cereals, and entrees including Belgian waffles. Maintain an active lifestyle in our 24-hour fitness center or outdoor Sport Court or just relax at our outdoor pool. Local travel is easy with the free shuttle service, making this the perfect Fort Lauderdale/Plantation Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ft. Lauderdale Plantation Hotel Plantation
Residence Inn Plantation
Plantation Residence Inn
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Plantation Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing