We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surf Rider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Rider Resort
Sturgis, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice clean resort”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We used points to stay at this resort during spring break. Check in was quick and easy. We had a 1 bedroom on the 3rd floor that opened to the parking lot. The unit was nice and large and gave our family lots of room to move around including our two teenagers (boy 16 and girl 14). One and a half baths were very helpful. Unit included a master bedroom and a hide-a-bed in living room. Although the hide-a-bed was technically big enough for both teenagers, they felt more comfortable with one sleeping the couch. The unit was very clean and well furnished. The only problem we had all week was the blow dryer quit working towards the end of the week. The front desk was told, but it wasn't replaced while we were there. The resort does have wi-fi, but the signal was a little slow at times and sometimes was hit or miss. Pool is very large and clean and shuffleboard courts were used quite often. The beach is a short walk across the road and was fairly clean and quiet. There is not a lot within walking distance of the resort, but quite a bit to do within a mile or so either way (Atlantic Ave. to the north and Commercial Ave. to the South). Staff was pleasant and helpful and checkout was a breeze. All in all a nice relaxing week at a resort that is very nice. I almost downgraded the resort to very good because of the wi-fi issue, but decided that in the overall scheme of things it was a fairly minor problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coachvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    22
    14
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A family trip using our time share exchange. Pool has a god zise and it is clean. Access to the beach is OK usinga path between two towers. A Code for the door's path is given during check-in.
We got two bethroons 1 1/2 bathrooms.with laundry inside (need coins?).
Major problem was with cable tv signal. No signal (in our apartment only) for two days until a helpful guy came monday.
A disgusting note warning a $40 penalty if you do not check-out by 10 am.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marqluisdMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The apartment was well equipped and roomy. The whole site was clean & staff were helpful. The beach is just across the road with clean white sand.
There is a bus service goes past but a car is better as nothing close by. They do not have a restaurant on site. Ft Lauderdale by the Sea is about a mile & a half away with plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smartmart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed here May 7-14 with some friends. We are all young guys in our teens/early 20s. For us, this place was perfect because it was a basic resort and we got a cheap rate through my grandparent's timeshare. The beach access is very convenient being right across the street. Also, there is a bus stop right in front of the resort, which was helpful for us since my brother took our car with him to the Keys for a few days. This resort has a very nice pool with an 8-9' deep end (nice!) and it has 2 shuffleboard courts and a tennis court. We had a one bedroom condo and it was extremely roomy. Even with the murphy bed down, there was still plenty of room to move around, and we fit a full size air mattress on the bedroom floor without a problem. The murphy bed is a very nice feature. The staff was super friendly. What we didn't like was that the whole living room has a tile floor. Also, everything inside seems outdated. But since we were a group of young guys, we weren't looking for frills so it wasn't a big deal! They did not have wi-fi at this resort. Also, we killed 10 cockroaches in our room during our week at this resort - not a big deal to us (this IS in south Florida!), but some people might have a problem with this. Also, our room did not have a patio. Only a few rooms had patios or balconies. Despite the negatives, everyone staying at the resort seemed to be having a great time hanging out at the pool! We definitely enjoyed our stay! I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a cheap vacation with no frills. The pool and beach are nice and if you are like me, you will spend most of your time there anyway. And definitely take a day trip to go snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park in Key Largo!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

My family of four stayed here for 5 nights. They only give you enough towels for one each person to use once. They only replenish your towels once a week. They expect you to wash them yourself in the coin operated machines inside your unit. Why would I want to do this on vacation? Also, there is no maid service daily so be prepared to take out your trash daily. If you don't, ants will come. Also, the drain stopper in the shower had to be pulled up to use the shower. You don't even want to know what came up with the drain stopper. The murphy bed in the living room was very uncomfortable. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

I had a great time at the Rider not because of the amenities (pool was great, coin-op washer dryer in room, beach close by, etc.) but because Howard kept things lively and interesting, He was the most helpful person there - although others were polite not too interested in going out of their way to make your stay more pleasant. Negatives, had to change rooms because of non-working ac (assured that it was) had little help with moving despite the fact that I was traveling with two elderly people, smoking area was too close to office and pool area, and I didn't have a car (not their fault). Met some other very interesting people along the way. All in all I would go back if Howard is still there! KC
PS: Could have used frames under twin beds and a tv in that room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casey0234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

First off the ad never mentions how far from the beach it actually is. Beach access yes but far walk & can't even see the ocean or beach from the nicer condo's towering in front. We asked for a 2 bedroom condo for 4 adults, got to our room to find a queen bed in 1 room & 2 twins in the other. Went back to office to ask for a room with 2 queens & was informed all rooms are the same but there is a larger wall bed. Came back to room to find the wall bed in the middle of the living room. On top of that our room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke & was SOOOO hot!!! Turned the air down but still didn't cool off & NO fans to turn on. Called to have a maintenance man come to check it out. A knock on the door revealed a Jamaican man with a mouth full of gold teeth & dread locks. We didn't know whether to give him our wallets or invite him in to check out the air. He came in & immediately started repeating "this air conditioner is brand new. People been stayin here for 3 weeks. Then he proceeded to turn our air back up!!!! & said he would tell his manager! A little while later he came back & repeated what he had already said, therefore I told him he was being very rude & could just leave. So he stood there arguing with me about how he was not being rude!!!!! So all in all this place is horrible!!! Too far from beach, rooms hot as Hades, old fashioned, horrible ammenities, & RUDE staff!!!! Please for your family or friends sake stay somewhere else trust me!!! I rarely complain when it comes to the beach but this is by FAR the WORST place I've ever stayed. Even have to pay $1.50 to wash your clothes in your own room!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gagrits83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pompano Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#10 of 36 in Pompano Beach
166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
1,306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#14 of 36 in Pompano Beach
112 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#16 of 36 in Pompano Beach
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Rider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Rider Resort

Property: Surf Rider Resort
Address: 1441 S Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-7305
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Rider Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf Rider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Rider Resort By Evrentals Hotel Pompano Beach
Surf Rider Resort Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing