We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a funky motel on the beach. Not a resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's a funky motel on the beach. Not a resort.”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

It's clean. It's on a nice stretch of beach. The pool is wonderful at night when there's not one around. That's it for the pros. A few highlights of the cons:The furniture in our room seemed to be an array of hand me downs. Nothing matched. The bathroom was miniscule. The foam cover for the mattress and the foam pillows were beyond the pale uncomfortable-- not to mention hot!! My husband and I were literally stiff the entire time we were there.The fridge had two trays for ice-- no ice machine anywhere in the property. We had to go buy ice. It's the tropics, for heaven's sake. The A/C was an old through the wall unit that made enough noise to cancel my husband's snoring-- (ok, maybe that's a plus... ) The TV's were ancient. Our unit had a "living room/kitchen" but you entered through the bedroom which was next to the pool-- making it the sunny and less quiet of the two rooms. It's really too bad that more thought has not been given to the property. It could be a little gem if only an architect/professional designer could make some serious indoor changes. As it is, I would not return. I had actually wanted to leave, but we had to pay upfront... We paid @ $120 per night-- hardly a deal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mambisa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkaram, Owner at Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you for your candid review of our resort. The hotel is only 24 rooms, so I know the couple who posted this review as some of the statements are familiar. In respectful answer, I offer the following: The hotel was built in the 1950's as a mom and pop beachfront hotel and has never changed, but is constantly maintained. Trip Advisor is such a great way of finding out about what others think of the hotel and therefore, had you read them, you would have seen what exists today. I would never want to change the type of ambiance that exists today but only maintain it. I enjoy the castaway feeling of the place and hope it continues this way even when one of my grandsons take over. In Fact, we have just this month been awarded the "White Glove Award" through Superior Small Lodging, which we have been a member since 2010. This is a huge goal for us and finally, we have achieved it. Please understand that the office is available 24/7 and anything you need can most always be afforded within minutes. All you had to do is ask and we would have been happy to accommodate, if possible. Had you told us you wanted to leave, we would have refunded your money gladly, as we understand that this ambiance is not for everyone. With Kind Regard......Karen Karam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    174
    41
    15
    15
See reviews for
246
207
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hialeah, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I asked my friend if she knew of a nice place at the beach that was nice and quiet and see told me that I needed to go with my husband to Ebb Tide in Pompano Beach. I told her that I had never heard of it but I would give it a one night try and see. Well, it was awesome!We had the best room in the house room #24 with the beautiful view of the beach. Not only was the view beautiful the staff was very nice and friendly. It is a quiet family oriented place. Its a place that you can just forget about the world and just relax. I will come back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The outdoor areas were fine---nice beach close and clean and lovely view. Sleeping area roomy, but a/c unit ran all night and was noisy. Towels were plentiful, but the 2 large cockroaches in the bathroom area during our 2-night stay were disgusting. No tissues in room and no coffee packet to use with the coffeemaker in kitchenette. While we were trying to relax mid-afternoon in the outdoor seating area near the beach, a guy decided to prune the hedges right near where we were sitting----extremely noisy, then came back with a loud blower a few minutes later. The manager (Susan) was very nice and called us with arrangements for our later arrival (7:30pm). Also, the mattress wasn't very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler101046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkaram, Owner at Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
We are so sorry you had a bad experience at the Ebb Tide Resort. Palmetto bugs live in the Palm Trees which totally surround the property and usually stay outdoors unless the doors are left open or food is left out. We have a pest control company spraying for all types of insects on a monthly basis but still sometime they sneak in. As far as the lawn service, there is nothing that can be done when it is time for them to maintain the property. We have them come late in the day when the patrons are resting before dinner. They are definitely loud but I have yet to find a quiet one. Thank you for the comment about the views and cleanliless of the property, as we try our best even though the ocean and beach are very hard on us. Karen Karam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The structure is old S. Florida but has been well-maintained and upgraded where necessary. Our room was less than 30 steps to the beach sand, about 50 steps to the pool and had chairs, porch and tiki hut for eating outside or enjoying the ocean. Walking distance to Pompano Pier. A/C stays on (doesn't cycle on and off waking sleepers during night). Full, clean kitchen and the staff was wonderful, informative and friendly. We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-in-S-Fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

What a great weekend we had at the Ebb Tide. From the moment we arrived until we drove away, everything was great! The rooms were very clean. The grounds were well-maintained and very tropical. Karen was a friendly, gracious hostess. And you absolutely can't beat the view. If you're looking for a real laid-back Florida experience, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsTheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Read all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor about Ebb Tide. Actually I don't think there were any negative ones. Turned out to be just what we were looking for. A smallish, low rise hotel right on the beach with a nice pool right in the middle of the horseshoe shaped building. Susan and Karen were very hands on making sure things ran smoothly.
Our room was a spacious efficiency with kitchenette. The area is very low key too, which we liked. Hope they don't change that too much. The city broke ground to improve the main part of Pompano and parking while we were there. The design looked intelligent.
A few blocks away is the pier also Franks Restaurant. Its an Italian restaurant right out of the Bronx. Breakfast is served at tables on the sidewalk in front of the pizza part of Franks. There's also a sit down restaurant for dinner. Felt like I was on Arthur Ave in the Bronx. Great service, if a little quirky, and great food.
I just read what I wrote..sounded like it was written by the hotel. Trust me it was written by true first time guests. We will be back there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meechster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIttleton, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We just returned from a trip staying at the Ebb Tide. It is a taste of old Florida. Very low key.... not the usual high rise madness. The owner, Karen, and the manager, Susan, as well as Billy the maintenance guy, were all the friendliest people you could expect to meet. They accommodated special requests we had, such as loaning us champagne glasses for a birthday celebration. The resort was not full, and we received an upgraded room with a kitchenette without asking for it. One of the other reviewers complained about only getting 2 bath towels per room, but we requested extra towels from the housekeepers, and they remembered to give them to us every day we stayed. Free parking was greatly appreciated, as this is not always found in South Florida resorts. Located on the ocean front, but they also have a very nice swimming pool we enjoyed when the ocean waves were a little too rough for our liking. This was the place to spend a relaxing week getting away from it all. It is also in a great location near Atlantic Blvd., which takes you quickly to US1 or A1A to get to Ft. Lauderdale or the other coastal towns.

Room Tip: Call and talk to Karen or Susan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody14U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Coral Tides Resort and Beach Club
Coral Tides Resort and Beach Clu...
#21 of 38 in Pompano Beach
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelican By The Sea Motel
Pelican By The Sea Motel
#12 of 38 in Pompano Beach
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort

Property: Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Address: 312 Briny Ave, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-5804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a heated fresh water pool and thatched tiki huts, our amenities provide you with ample areas, public or private to enjoy the beautiful south Florida atmosphere. Ebb Tide Resort is located on a beautiful pristine 200 feet of one of the most beautiful sandy beaches in the world. Centrally located to shopping, sporting activities and world renowned south Florida attractions, the resort is also walking distance to food stores, pharmacies, and some of the finest restaurants and pubs. Stay with us in our lovely boutique style resort and feel the ocean breezes. Let the Ebb Tide Resort be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort In Pompano Beach, Florida Hotel Pompano Beach
Ebb Tide Hotel
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing