We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More Proof. . .”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Yes, there are honest hotel workers at the Residence Inn at Pompano Beach--EVELYN. She secured my purse, containing my wallet and cash, and returned it to me intact. Nothing was missing.
This Residence Inn is beachfront with a fully modern kitchen and washer/dryer set. Housekeeping ran the dishwasher daily. Our room had a large shower (separate tub), and tasteful furnishings. The bed was perfect for me. Clean with a full breakfast menu (oatmeal, too). The location was ideal. We went to the beach, casino, racetrack, and lesiure dining. I enjoyed several Spa specials. We drove into Ft. Lauderdale down US1 to see the nice hotels, and shops. We will return to this Residence Inn. Next time we will go deep sea fishing (it rained).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Ja: Thank you for writing a glowing review of our Pompano Beach hotel! I appreciate your commendation of Evelyn, we’ll be sure to recognize her great work. All of your nice feedback showcases some of the best features of our property. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    190
    65
    30
    40
See reviews for
268
123
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed there the week of July 4th. We had a 2BR/2BA suite on the 10th floor and the view was awesome! The hotel facilities were very nice - pool, spa, beach, lobby, etc. Very clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly. The room was very quiet. It was a very good deal for right on the beach with that size room plus a small kitchen. The room was clean and had obviously been renovated as everything looked quite new. For the problems - valet service was a bit slow at times and expensive. It seemed that at 1st they parked our car on site, but I guess the $2 tip we gave with each dropoff and pickup wasn't enough as they started parking it offsite somewhere which delayed the time it took to get the car. Some of the recent room renovations were done very poorly. Our kitchen sink fell out from under the counter. While maintenance was prompt, they struggled to fix it and were a bit of a nuisance. Housekeeping was spotty at best when we requested late cleanings. The dishwasher didn't work and we had to wash dishes by hand. One of the bathroom doors had a handle with no lock, it was a "closet" handle. Several outlets in the room did not work. There is no oven, just a combo microwave/convection oven. The had no baking dishes so we had to improvise and use the glass turntable. Breakfast was OK, but the seating area was small and they closed too early for a holiday week. All in all we had a good stay and it was a very good value. The poor work on the renovations is not the hotel's fault, just poor contractors.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, higher floor close to beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olddad420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
olddad420,

Thank you for staying with us during your vacation in Pompano Beach. We are happy to hear that overall, you and your family had a good time. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while staying here. We have been undergoing various renovation projects throughout the hotel so we regret the temporary fixes and nuisances you may have experienced. We hope you’ll give us another try on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three days last weekend. It is in real need of renovations or just plain "upkeep". The rooms were ok, but the so called "ocean view" is only partial from most rooms. Beach is not too nice since errotion has caused a big inclination in the beach, also water was full of weeds, although I realize this is not hotel's fault. Beware there is no self parking at all so you pay $20 a day for parking and $20 per day to rent chairs with cabana style cover. Breakfast is just so so.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martycaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Martycaso,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our hotel, I regret that you did not have a good experience with us and sincerely apologize for all of the above. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences and again, I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share yours.

Sincerely yours,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed here in June. Layout was unique and we agree that it's an older hotel that Marriott bought. As a Marriott platinum member I have to say this property just didn't meet expectations. The windows were filthy and we could barely see outside. Bathrooms had nice granite countertops, but both had showers - no tubs. The showers were dirty with old doors that wouldn't shut. My daughter woke up with numerous bug bites on her arms and legs. The pool was old and sub-par and the beach had a 10 ft drop between the sand and the water. The breakfast was included and was pretty standard. The location of the hotel was far from most major attractions in Ft Lauderdale. The clincher for the "not so great" experience? Only valet parking at $19 a night. Unacceptable. We won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Linda S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for bring this to my attention and I will be talking with my team regarding your comments. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope this experience does not deter you from staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed from March 28th to April 4th after reserve from Marriott's homepage. They offer a two-bedroom suite (partial ocean-view) which is really a one bedroom attached to an efficiency: in summary you can't go to the fridge without disturbing people resting in the efficiency.
To our surprise, the people at front desk told us that the whole building is designed in such way. Both "rooms" share the same front door, arrinving to a little hall with the laundry machines, suggesting that they have been independent "rooms".
It's just a shame that "Residence Inn" name (RI) is linked to this hotel. We took it due to our highly satisfactory experience at other RI properties.
Our surprise reached unexpected limits when fresh towels were unavailable until 6 p.m. during Sunday April 1st. What a service for a 300 $ / night hotel.

Room Tip: Explore carefully the option of oceanfront suites. The partial view ones do not woth the effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisianan_at_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Louisianan_at_Miami,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. The issues you mentioned will be addressed immediately and I will have our Suite Care Manager perform a review to ensure all rooms meet our high Marriott standards. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope this experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We just recently got home after a weeklong stay in Florida. Our original plan was to stay at this hotel for the entire visit, but after just one night we decided to change hotels. This hotel is not your typical Residence Inn. It almost reminded me of a motel from the early 70's. From the time we walked into the very small lobby we were sure we had made a mistake in booking this hotel. The lobby consisted of a small desk and a few small areas of seating, which were taken up by the TONS of people staying there. The elevators were jam packed with people bringing all their beach belongings back to their rooms. Once you got off the elevator you were outside (yes, outside). Although there were overhangs over the entrance door into your room, when it was raining you got wet just going to your room. And once inside the room, things did not get much better. The musty smell hits you like a ton of bricks as you enter. I made the mistake of taking my sandals off at one point and it was then that I realized that the rugs were wet, so wet that I was not able to walk barefoot in this room the whole night. I'm not sure why they were wet, except for maybe the fact that we were so close to the ocean. The room was a good size, although it would have been nice if they provided a single king bed instead of the standard queen/queen in each room. There was a very small balcony off the living area section of the room, but you could just barely turn around on it. The balcony did provide a nice view of the ocean, however, we had people directly below us that were talking so loud and cursing that we decided to close the door. Unfortunately closing the door did nothing for the noise coming from outside. At one point in time we considered trying to use the pool and hot tub, but after looking at it from our room we changed our minds. Both pools were overflowing with people and kids and there was not one lounge chair open, and the hot tub was filled way beyond the legal capacity. Instead of the pool we decided to walk on the beach and see some of the sights. As we headed to the water the smell almost took your breath away. It smelled like rotting fish the whole distance of our walk. Unfortunately this cut our walk short and because of the dark clouds approaching we decided to head back in. As we entered the lobby it started to rain. Suddenly the whole lobby was PACKED with people carrying beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, etc. There was no place to sit and even if we wanted to, people were sitting on the sofas and chairs in the lobby in their wet bathing suits. By then we had had enough and headed back to our room. There are no conveniences located near this hotel. If you want to go out to eat, you have to drive quite some distance before finding anything worthwhile. There is really nothing within walking distance. The breakfast buffet was horrible and the eggs looked like they had been watered down to accommodate the massive number of people staying here. Add to all this the fact that you have to pay $19 a day for valet parking is enough to make anybody reconsider staying here. All in all, would I come back here? NEVER! After only a few hours in this hotel, we looked online for other Marriott's in the area and found one in Delray Beach only a 20 minute drive north of Pompano. Don't waste your money on this hotel. Stay in Delray Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kats172225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
kats172225,
Thank you for your review of your stay. I would like to offer my apologies for the service you experienced as it does not meet the high standards of Marriott . Please know that we value all feedback. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I hope this experience doesn’t discourage you from staying with Residence Inn in the future; we appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your review.
Sincerely,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here in may 2012 for 11 days including memorial day. We had a two bedroom ocean front. The room was wonderful with a great view off of two balconies. There is a sitting area with a bed and bathroom and then a separate bedroom with a bath. There is also a small,stocked kitchen with full refrigerator, 2 burner stove and microwave. We had everything we needed. Breakfast was good, very good for inclusive. They had basics like scrambled eggs and potatoes, belgium waffles, oatmeal and cereal. Then traded out different types of meats. The beach is very clean with free chairs and a small fee for umbrellas. The staff was very helpful. We had some special requests and they were very accommodating. When we checked in our remote didn't work and there was someone there in less than an hour and then the manager called to be sure it was taken care of. I don't use teflon and called the desk to ask if they had stainless. Again, within the hour they delivered a new set of cookware. You do have to pay for parking but I can see why valet is the only thing that works. It was nice when it rained to have the car brought to us and then parked when we returned. Big thanks to Gilbert and Michael in management. Donna in the spa gives a great deep tissue massage (the spa is awesome and reasonable be sure to check it out) There was also a woman in the breakfast area that also delivered drinks to the pool. I didn't get her name but she had a blond ponytail and a great smile. She was there every morning and very helpful. I checked out several other places and no one had the amenities for the price. This isn't an inexpensive hotel but it is a great value for the area. If we return to the area, we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Like most hotels on the beach, higher up has got the best view and the higher the number the closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
jjhunt,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thanks especially for recognizing the staff, it made their day! We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Yours truly,
Jenny Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
627 reviews
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
2,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Pompano Beach
172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-3423 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing