We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cold pool & no guest service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Indianapolis, in
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ice cold pool & no guest service”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Was told pool was heated but it is broken and both pools are cold as ice. Manager would not come out of the office to speak with me & my vacation with my 1 1/2 year old daughter is ruined. Hotel room also in need of repairs- curtains won't close in bedroom, tile is dirty. Hotel staff not very attentive-waitress was on her cell phone and ignored us. Complimentary breakfast fair to poor.

The most disturbing thing about this is that Marriott corporate is totally unhelpful either in finding another hotel for us to stay in -told me that there is nothing on the beach available in all of South Florida and then hung up on me. I WILL NEVER STAY IN ANY MARRIOTT HOTEL EVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Tonya S,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your trip. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer A. Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    191
    67
    30
    40
See reviews for
276
125
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed Thanksgiving week in an oceanfront two bedroom suite. What a fabulous setup. One bedroom on the left with its own oceanfront sliding glass door and balcony, living area with couch that converts to sofabed, desk and chairs, and a big picture window facing the ocean, and one other bedroom with sliding doors that has a window and balcony. Looking at the front of the hotel with your back to the water, it is the windows in the center and the balconies on the right and left of the hotel’s front. Décor is nice as well. There was a flatscreen LG TV in each of the 3 big rooms, full kitchen, small washer/dryer, nice full length mirrors, and a safe. It appears that all rooms at this hotel have a south-facing ocean view.

Full breakfast was included. Various hot foods were alternated every 3 days or so, and there were also freshly scrambled eggs, and potato and sausage. Constants were muffins, breads, fruit, yogurt, waffle maker, oatmeal, juice and coffee. A nice variety and we were very satisfied.

We found the desk staff to be very helpful. There is valet parking only, with a daily parking charge.

Lovely beach and two swimming pools, though only one pool feels like it’s heated. There are lounge chairs to use on the beach at no additional cost; small charge for a cabana-type covering. A short walk to the inlet to the left, or a fishing pier to the right.

A few areas that need attention: room maintenance. We had a broken toilet seat, hutch door handle, and a derailed door that we had to call about for fixing. Maintenance fixed all quickly. As these issues were all very obvious to us, we would have appreciated if the housekeeping staff had noticed and reported without guests’ involvement. I have to wonder if they need additional housekeeping staff as our room was cleaned between 3 and 4pm; quite late and this is the time we’re returning to freshen up. The walls of the bathrooms need a good wipe-down. Several times we called the front desk to have our car brought around, but the valet had not received the message. While somewhat minor things, if the hotel made some adjustments as noted above, this could really be the perfect beach hotel.

There is a nice playground and outdoor adult workout area a little south of the hotel by the pier.

We ate at Houston’s on the Intracoastal and Atlantic Avenue and it was fabulous. Shopped at Publix for groceries. Dandee Donuts on Atlantic had really good donuts. We had one cloudy day so we went on an Everglades airboat ride. Check out the coupons on display near the computers in the hotel’s lobby level as there are coupons for various venues. Note the airboat ride requires purchasing earplugs which I wish I’d known; I prefer cottonballs and would use them next time instead of the bulky earplugs that don’t work well for me. We did see a large gator. Also we learned that since gators are nocturnal, it’s best to do the tour in the morning.

Taxi back to FLL airport from Residence Inn was $49 plus tip

Would I come back? Probably.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
mizlori,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We are very glad to have had you as our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your suite, the beach area, and our wonderful surrounding community. Please accept my apology for the housekeeping issues you encountered. Your feedback is helpful and it will be used to assist in staff development. We appreciate having you stay with us during the holiday week and hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco,NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing stay with my husband. With a great location helpful friendly staff and very comfortable rooms we will return.
Thank you to the front desk for their help in arranging a private car for a concert. The spa staff were excellent and the couples massage was a real treat!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaoFrisco_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
TaoFrisco_NC,

We're delighted to hear from you and receive such a wonderful review. It's great to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and expect to return. I'm glad you liked the spa, and I'm pleased to know we were able to help with your transportation needs. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

What can you say - rooms with a view - impeccable service - all the comforts of home (and probably a larger bathroom than most have at home) - hot breakfast every morning - cookies late at night - an apple during the day - sandpails for gathering seashells on the beach - oh... all at a single affordable rate!

We love Marriott - and btw - say hello to Mike, Erica and especially Richard, the best bartender on the eastcoast!

Room Tip: When the weather is nice, you can open the front door and the patio door for a beautiful ocean breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Darla G,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased to hear of your great stay with us at Residence Inn. I'm glad to know that you liked our property and friendly staff. We hope you'll plan to visit us again for another exceptional visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

On October 30-31 we stayed in a two-room suite that was very spacious and well-appointed. Two bedrooms and two baths plus a small kitchen were more than adequate to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We had two balconies from which could see the ocean. There were also a pool and spa. The breakfast buffet was better than average. The only problem we encountered was a double billing for our two night stay. We reserved the suite on one card but decided to use a different one when checking in. Both cards were billed, and we haven't had a resolution to the problem yet. I am certain that we will be credited for the overcharge in due time. The rates were reasonable for a hotel on the beach, and we will stay there again the next time we're in the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Ralph C,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Residence Inn. We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a comfortable, relaxing time in Pompano Beach. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and found it to be better than average. We have taken care of your billing and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We appreciate hearing from you and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Had a very relaxing weekend here. The hotel lobby is bright and inviting. The rooms and also clean,bright and relaxing. All the rooms the rooms have a small balcony with a bistro table and two chairs. All the rooms have an ocean view. There is a kitchenette(two burner electric stove, full size fridge and microwave). The bathroom is large enough to have a stacked washer and dryer.

The lounge/restaurant has great views of the beach. The food is average but the service is outstanding. The complementary breakfast was good. The choices were many with both hot and cold selections.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Theresa F,
We're pleased to hear from you and learn of your wonderful stay with us. I'm very glad to hear that you had a relaxing weekend, and I hope we were able to add a little to your comfort. We hope you will return for another great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

First off, I have never really found fault with any Marriott Residence Inn, but this one goes above and beyond. Every room has a great ocean front view and balcony (if keep balcony door open at night get nice breeze and can hear ocean-very relaxing), rooms are well appointed and clean (with its own washer and dryer), along with great kitchen space. Two huge clean pools, good sized and equipped fitness facility, decent complimentary breakfast, very nice restaurant with outdoor ocean front seating, and gas grill if you would like to cook your own fresh seafood (which can be purchased a few blocks away or caught on many fishing charters nearby)! Staff was also very friendly and receptive and I would stay here again without question. Also rates very competitive for area.

Room Tip: They are all good; guess higher up the better for expanded views and towards ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skmoore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Skmoore4,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your great description of our hotel, and hope it appeals to many viewers! Please come and see us again for another exceptional visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
2,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Pompano Beach
175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1350 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-3423 (Formerly Ocean Sands Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Florida beach vacation awaits you at Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean! Experience majestic sunsets from your private balcony in a spacious suite with fully equipped kitchen. Relax by our two sparkling swimming pools. Our Florida beach hotel blends together the best of any Stay-cation by offering stylish accommodations, delectable beachfront dining- - all tied together with genuine hospitality. Our friendly staff is ready to help you experience the best of what you want from your oceanfront stay, whether it's rejuvenating, relaxing or experiencing exciting activities! We're ideally located just minutes to Deerfield Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, Delray Beach and Boca Raton! Among Florida beach hotels, Residence Inn by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront hotel stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Hotel
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Resort Spa
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing