We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Native Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Native Sun Resort
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family and I have stayed at this time share for a week over spring break about 19 times! The atmosphere is lovely, nice pool, hot tub, shuffle board, tennis court, and golf holes. It's right on the ocean and has great views! The staff is all really friendly and will help you whenever in need. The rooms are nice- 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, family room with a pullout couch, bedroom with another pullout couch, and a patio. Close to many restaurants and shops. Great for families or couples.

Room Tip: Getting a room on the ocean is very important, definetly worth the extra money. Also, if you get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were in town for work and stayed there for 5 Weeks. The front desk staff was very entertaining and very helpful, always in a good mood and extremely friendly. The cleaning staff was by far the best I have seen ever in a hotel, motel, or resort. The maintenance staff were equally great. The grounds are always well kept. The facility is located right on the beach with very east excess. There are Gas Grills for you use. Very nice patios for your enjoyment. There is a pool and hot tub both very clean and inviting. Walking distance to shopping and food. The parking lot was very accessible and had shopping carts for you to bring in your groceries. The place is well secured with locked gates and doors.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEDEPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Native Sun is the perfect beach holiday vacation. We liked the place so much, that we purchased 2 weeks of the timeshare. The rooms are very clean and everything you need is there - full kitchen (dishwasher, full sized fridge, stove, microwave, etc), comfortable living room setup (with sleeper sofa), a large balcony. There are gas BBQ's available for the guests to use along with a tennis court, nice heated pool and jacuzzi - even a sauna. The grounds are well maintained. The staff is excellent - always friendly and very helpful - they are always willing to provide directions or recommendations to restaurants. The resort is well situated for access to grocery stores, and other conveniences.
This is not a "PARTY" resort - is a family oriented resort...once you go there, you won't want to go anywhere else. For our family of 5, Native Sun is our home away from home (at least for 2 weeks of each year).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItaliaSoccerFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We just checked out of The Native Sun today. Sad we had to leave. We had a wonderful experience! It's not one of the new plush highrise timeshares with jacuzzi tubs, but we loved it! We stayed on the ground floor, just a few steps from the pool. Very convenient! There are only 4 floors. We arrived a few hours early on check in day, but they graciously let us go ahead and put our groceries in our fridge, and we laid by the pool until our room was ready. Nice! A huge benefit of the small resort! Very "personal service." You have maid service 2 times during the week. There is no restaurant/bar on property, but you are very close to Publix. You do have to check out a hair dryer, dvd player, and blender at the front desk, if you need those items. There was a maintenance man walking around all the time. The property is kept up very nice. We felt very safe. The room was spic and span clean. We had control of our air conditioning, kept us nice and cool! Nice tv's in the living area and in the bedroom. We had a huge porch with sliding glass doors from the living room and from the bedroom. Again, the property is older, but we've grown to love the smaller properties with "character!" We will be returning to The Native Sun.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is the third time in the last four years that we have stayed with our family (children 10, 7 & 4) at the Native Sun. It is the perfect place to stay for a relaxed family vacation on the beach. The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean and comfortable and comfortably fit a family of five that spends most of its time at the beach or in the pool. Each room has a large balcony with a view of the ocean, which is the perfect place to start or end the day. Wi-fi is available for free throughout the resort. The staff are friendly and do everything they can to ensure your stay is comfortable (there are even blenders available at the front desk to mix smoothies, shakes or something more tropical).

The hotel is right on the beach, and there are beach chairs available for guest use for free. The pool is clean and heated to just the right temperature. There are two shuffle board courts and a small mini-putt area. There are no fancy amenities, if you are looking for water sports, and the atmosphere is calm and relaxed. This is not the place to stay if you are looking to party. However, it is definitely welcoming and family-oriented and a terrific place to stay for a week or two (or more).

Room Tip: Almost all rooms overlook a courtyard where the pool and other activities are located. All rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finalhorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The resort was great. Michael and the staff are wonderful. Everyone that stays there are very friendly. There is shuffle board and mini putting green, my son really enjoyed that. The only negative thing I can say is that there isn't screens on the sliding doors, it was a real pain because you would love to sit inside and hear the ocean but your worried about bugs or lizards coming in. And one just about did come in. I think the resort is good for seniors and families. The beach is nice, you have use of lounge chairs right on the sand. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Mike and the staff were great. Rooms were clean, well stocked. The grounds were manicured. Great pool, jacuzzi, and sauna. Grills were hard wired to gas and cooked great. Beach chairs were nice and ready for use. Mike hooked us up with beach towels too. If you're looking for clean, well appointed, and friendly, this is it. On the other hand it's quiet. Don't expect any night life here. You'll have to travel to Lauderdale by the Sea 1.2 miles south and hit that at night if you need that type scene. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean you have to go up to the 3rd floor because of the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plainoleredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
1.2 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
1.5 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#15 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Native Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Sun Resort

Property: Native Sun Resort
Address: 1950 S. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Native Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Native Sun, a 35 unit family oriented resort located ocean front in a quiet residential area of Pompano Beach/Lauderdale by the Sea. The resort is only a short walk away from fine dining, shopping and area attractions. The Native Sun is situated on more than 500 feet of white sandy beach. Comfortable lounge chairs are located right on the beach. They allow you to leisurely soak in the warm South Florida sun. Swim in the heated pool, unwind in the hot tub, or refresh yourself in the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Take a romantic stroll along the beach while the kids are having fun in the playground. If you feel energetic, you can play tennis on the practice court or take it slower and enjoy the putting green or shuffle board courts. If you haven’t had enough fresh air for the day, you can always have a barbecue and invite your neighbors, and afterwards sink into the quiet relaxation of one of our sauna rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Native Sun Hotel Pompano Beach
Native Sun Resort Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing