We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful oasis in pompano beach!! Owners go above and beyond to make your stay pleasurable! The rooms are emaculate!”
Review of Sea Horse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Horse Motel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed at the Seahorse motel in pompano beach this wknd! What a wonderful clean and quiet motel in a safe neighborhood! Beautiful courtyard and heated pool! I found the owners to be very involved and will bend over backwards to make sure your visit is beyond your expectations! I will definitely stay there again and again! And extremely close to the beach! Only pool courtyard that gets sun all day long! Check it out for yourself's! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 146,810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is the most charming little santuary! We stumbled upon it two years ago, and although we like to try new things each year, we came back. The owners provide the perfect balance of being engaging, yet respectful of your down time if that's what you're there for. The rooms are clean, quaintly decorated, and have many of the comforts of home. Instead of the crowds of a large scale hotel, it's refreshing to mingle with just a few other guests. The location to the beach is fabulous, and many other things are within walking distance. The owners are truly dedicated to their guests and business and seem to always be updating and maintaining their investment. This is truly a hidden little gem!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I grew up going to Florida every spring to visit my grandma, who lived a few miles down the A1A, and am all too familiar with the usual Florida fare - the daunting condominium high-rises that litter the beach and the small, run-down motels where the stale smoked air chokes your lungs.

My grandma is now in her 90's, and my husband and I went to care for her for week determined to find a place in Pompano that we could actually enjoy -

The Sea Horse Motel fit the bill perfectly. Our room was a suite so clean we could have eaten off the floor. A few other reviewers have used the word "charming" - and I'll use it as well. It's charming. If you're a building geek, you'll recognize all the architectural details from that delightful period in the 30's and 40's where folks loved colored bathroom tile (we live in San Francisco; it's all over the place here) - and Philip and Darren have appointed the apartments beautifully.

It's just enough Florida kitsch to feel fun and welcoming - and the property outside is immaculate, with a pool and plenty of room to lie in the sun.

Moreover, the ocean is right across the street - and speaking as one who's stayed inland and spent her weight in quarters paying for meters at the public beach parking lots, this was infinitely more preferable.

Last, but certainly not least, the hosts are incredibly warm and welcoming. The time and care - the true pride in ownership - that they take for the place is abundantly clear, and that alone is worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

everything was perfect (Thank you Darren and Phillip) - very clean and everyone was extremely friendly. Nice safe neighborhood and easy access to everything. Wonderful little quiet motel with a very nice pool and courtyard. Basic rooms had a little microwave and fridge with comfy beds and easy parking. Beach accross the street was very nice and not touristy or crowded.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAgentDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed here in November this year for a few weeks. I stayed in room 2 which is one of their standard rooms for a few days and then moved into room 5 which was larger and had it's own kitchen and sitting area. I found both the rooms very clean and Darren and Philip the owners extremely helpful and kind. If you are looking for somewhere quiet but close to the beach you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than a few days pay the extra money and go for one of their efficiencies.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank gluegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I booked this property very last minute and late in the evening. The owner was very kind and made sure we had everything we needed. We booked a basic room with a king size bed. They also have larger rooms with kitchenettes but we opted for the least expensive. The room was very clean and had a charming look and feel to it. The bed was comfortable, the A/C was cold, and we had a great stay! I'm not sure what other people were talking about, but we received prompt housekeeping service during our stay. The pool area was nice although we didn't actually use it. It appeared that the beach was right across the street (on the other side of some condos) but we never walked over to it so I can't comment on the beach either. If we ever find ourselves in Pompano Beach again, this will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed two nights at the Sea Horse as we wanted to visit the Ft Lauderdale area prior to the departure of our cruise. We were looking for a well mantained, no frills place at a resonable price with access to ocean, dining and relatively close to Criuse port. We found all of this here.

The facility is well maintained both inside and out, the owner/operators live on site. You can contact them the old fashioned way if you wish. Knock on their door!

Facility is retro 60's with original tile fixtures etc. Renovated where it was needed. Owners gave us a tour of a couple of unrented rooms. Each is slightly different and it was neat to see the different period decorating themes etc.

It was refreshing to find a neat quirky place with very helpful people running it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
640 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
1.7 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#7 of 38 in Pompano Beach
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Motel

Address: 901 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-4005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pompano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: £70 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Horse Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coin Laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea Horse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Horse Motel Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing