We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”
Review of The French Place Bistro - CLOSED

The French Place Bistro
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Minnesnowta
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We visited for lunch and were wowed by the range of interesting choices, the reasonable prices and the welcoming ambience of a small family operation. We wish we could have found it earlier because we may not have time to return ths trip, though I will make every effort. We shared an inventive fish stew dish and a sautéed and marinated snapper. Both were fabulous, and we were well served by the friendly family operating this out of the way place. We loved their creme brulee and thought their lobster bisque was savory without excess richness. Most of the luncheon specials were south of $10, but the preparation, ingredients and presentation were outstanding. We look forward to our return and hope you check them out if you appreciate continental dining and a very pleasant but simple ambience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesnowtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Price fixed dinner included appetizer, entree, and dessert and was priced quite reasonably. We were a party of four and we had four different appetizers and four different entrees and all were delicious. There was live French music and numerous Belgian beers and French wines. The restaurant is a little out of the way but is worth the effort to get there.

Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilsborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a Little Gem”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

a store front French restaurant which is truly a gem. we were warmly welcomed by the co-owner/hostess, enjoyed a very French meal of chicken francaise and shrimp curry and look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amm812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Delicious Bite of French Food”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

A wonderful hidden gem. The food was plentiful and tasty. The staff warm & friendly. I recommend this for family, friends and business lunches and dinners. They serve breakfast too!

Helpful?
Thank SYClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, FL
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“French Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We visited this restaurant after reading about it on tripadvisor. It was an excellent choice. I made a phone reservation but when we arrived at 8 p.m. I saw it wasn't necessary because the place was empty. Our waiter told us that it has just reopened for the season a few days earlier.

The decor reminded me of restaurants I had visited in Quebec, Canada, with French style paintings on stucco type walls. The waiter brought an easel with the large board of price fix specials to our table. He read and described them all. We ordered but then learned that all items he talked about were not available, stating that they were still getting restocked for the season. This is the kind of thing that happens when traveling in Florida in the off season.
We made other choices. I loved my duck (the last portion available that night we were told) and couldn't finish all the food. My husband enjoyed his beef which he said was liberally seasoned.

Later another couple arrived for dinner and the same waiter went through his discussion of the menu, not saying that they were out of some items. They ordered and then he returned to tell them that the duck and another items were not available. I wondered why he didn't tell them that before they ordered. It seemed strange to me.

We enjoyed our meal and the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Place Bistro also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing