We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent oceanside resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor,Michigan USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent oceanside resort”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this property for 4 days in February 2014, as a get-away from the frigid Northern winter. (It helped that the weather was unseasonably warm-- just right for the beach or pool!)

Apparently the property changed management (as noted in some other reviews) in the recent past. You could see the evidence of recent updating here and there, and some renovation was i progress during our visit. Overall the entire physical facility was fresh, attractive and clean.

Staff were consistently attentive with the occasional exception of the poolside bar, where from time to time it appeared that the bartender was overwhelmed. But, the environment made for a comfortable wait.

I noticed an expression that must be part of Marriott training, consistently used by staff; when you thanked someone, they usually said warmly "It's my pleasure." I found this a welcome improvement to the "no problem" that seems to have become a common expression.

This resort is great for a beach get-away; as noted, both an attractive outdoor pool and lounging area as well as a beautiful, quiet beach just steps away.

A few limitations to be aware of (not complaints, but considerations): first, there is only one restaurant/menu; some places like this will offer several choices. Second, this entire neighborhood is about 98% resort and residential; there are no restaurants, shops, etc., within walking distance. There are plenty of great outside places to eat nearby, but you'll need to drive.

Room Tip: All rooms have some view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    246
    98
    46
    36
See reviews for
253
231
30
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The location is perfect. Away from the traffic and noise but close enough to go everywhere. The beach is beautiful and the view from our balcony was perfect! The rooms are big and were very clean. The staff was all very pleasant. Our bartender Terry was excellent. He took great care of us all week. He was very kind and gave us great recommendations for food and for local attractions and restaurants. Briann was a great waitress. The breakfast buffet was very good. Lots of fresh fruit! The beach is large and very clean and not too crowded. The hot tub was great especially in the evening when all the kids left the pool area.The water taxi up & down the intercoastal is a great way to spend a day. $23 and you can get on and off all day. It stops at lots of shops, bars & restaurants and you get to see all the yachts and mansions along the way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gailmI915XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
348 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

As Platinum Elite, I have stayed at many Marriotts.This has the potential to become one of the great ones.This is a franchise location and they recently changed management companies.They outsource most of the staff functions.don't know why they "cleaned house" with all the previous staff, but the current staff is very up and down.Breakfast food is excellent, but the staff is very uncoordinated and walks around without purpose or is running to get something and "sorry, sorry" is heard all the time.Breakfast is very expensive, at least $50 for two plus tip.Dinner and lunch same story, excellent food, poor service.In fariness, staff tries hard in most cases, but lack of training is clear.Most servers don't know menu items, types of beer, wine,etc.Bar is very shy in choices other than rum and beer.Valet is great and hard working.With some time, this will be a top Marriott destination as the location and facility are great.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth the upcharge as ocean view over the pool and play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knife_n_fork32168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We originally planned to stay right in Fort Lauderdale, but were advised not to with our family because of spring break and we stumbled on this resort. It was the best thing that could have happened to us! This resort is new, unbelievably clean, and directly on a quiet beach. From the minute we walked in, the staff greeted us with a smile and attended to our every need. They not only acknowledged my husband and I on a daily basis, but were also very attentive to our three year old. Staff stopped throughout the day to listen to her stories and play with her whenever they could. The view from our hotel room on the 8th floor, facing the ocean was AMAZING and well worth the price. The rooms are quiet and quite large. Valet was very quick and VERY friendly. The food was delicious and the buffet breakfast had a great selection of fresh fruit daily along with LOTS of other goodies AND our three year old ate for free every morning! The only downside to this resort is paying for chairs on the beach.... BUT... it is nice that they are set up and taken down for you! We have definite plans to return!

Room Tip: Executive Suites, Oceanfront are AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort073113, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent response regarding your stay at our Resort. I am very happy you had then exquisite experience here at our Resort. I am very happy we were able to give your family wonderful vacations memories. I look forward to many more visits from your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I loved that the hotel is right on the beach. The room has a nice balcony and was very clean. The staff was very friendly, especially the valet service. However, the restaurant was disappointing in every way. The food was overpriced for the quality and I spent an hour waiting for my meal.The waiter hardly paid us any attention. Unfortunately, we later made a poor decision to order room service. The chocolate lava cake tasted store bought and was dried out. Next time I'll buy the $3 microwavable brownies from a grocery store instead of the $16 cake from this restaurant. On top of everything, the delivery girl stared as we were writing down the tip and acted annoyed that she had to talk to us. So overall it is a great hotel, but eat elsewhere!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort073113, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback regarding our hosts. We strive for all our guests to have an exceptional experience. I am sorry your room service and restaurant experience was not to the level we strive to provide. This information is very helpful for our continued training program. The next time you choose to stay with us again, please reach out to me directly. I would like to ensure you have a flawless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nestled quietly on the ocean between some condominiums, this relatively small, completely renovated gem was a very pleasant surprise. I was there as part of a business retreat and found the staff, facilities and hospitality to be top notch.
Natasha, the catering captain, saw to our needs and her crew executed with aplomb and smiles. Bravo.
Price was very reasonable for in-season (of course, it was negotiated since we were occupying 20+ rooms)

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view. The "00" numbered rooms are directly on the ocean. The The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I'm generally a Marriott fan and I booked a four night stay here with my wife and two teenagers mid February. The hotel is located in a quiet beach location in Pompano. The facility is generally quite good, our two queen beds were comfortable, we had a nice view of the beach, the workout facility was very good and the beach was large.
But there were several annoying features: one as others posted is the valet fee - though the valet guys were really responsive. What is really ridiculous are their beach fees. First day and we head down to the beach and the very helpful beach valet sets us up with four chairs and an umbrella - for $71. I asked him if using the chairs and umbrella at the pool was similar charge and he said no there was no charge. So sit at the pool which they have to maintain for free but charge you at the beach? What a ticky tack approach - figure out how to build it into the room fee. We had spent a few days at a competitor hotel in Miami before this and there you received a couple beach chairs and umbrella at no charge.
So between the valet charge and the beach charges, you are quickly racking up substantial miscellaneous fees. Also on our last day, we were out all day on the beach returning at 5pm and our room was not cleaned.
Had to call housekeeping and request towels.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort073113, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your recent response regarding your stay at the Pompano Beach Marriott Resort and Spa. Your feedback is very important to us regarding the various charges with valet and beach chairs. We continue to have discussions on how to improve these services and provide a seamless experience for all our guests. What we have done regarding these charges is we have packaged them for our guests to have these items included in the room rate. I am sorry your room was not serviced in a timely manner. We offer a scheduling feature communicated on a card in the bathroom to inform our guests of this feature. We have observed this to be a great program and have been able to accommodate guest needs more efficiently. Thank you very much for the wonderful comments regarding the room, beach and views. We are very privileged to have these beautiful views here in Pompano. If I can be of additional assistance, please feel free to reach out to me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 37 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1200 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-4061
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing