We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham Sea Gardens - Waterfall Units need MAJOR help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wyndham Sea Gardens - Waterfall Units need MAJOR help”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a 10-2011 stay at ended up in a two bedroom unit in the "Waterfall" building. It is the worst example of a Wyndham Resort I've ever been too. The unit was a one bedroom with a queen size bed and an "efficiency" with a king bed. We had another couple with us and took the king bed.

That unit just had a hotel unit in the wall by the bed which meant the kitchen and bath areas had no air at all. That really sucked because there was no air circulating in the bathroom if you get my drift...

The two units were well laid out except for the air in the "efficiency" and there was lots of space and of course two bathrooms, with the "efficiency" unit having a large walk in shower and no tub and the one bedroom and tub and shower. The smaller unit also had MUCH more space to get read and was TWICE as big as the one bedroom which we found silly.

The furnishings were worn and so unlike anything Wyndham that we were appalled. The floors were cracked tile and the bathroom cabinets didn't "fit" where the old ones were and had three inches of concrete between where the cabinet hit the floor and where the tile began.

I haven't seen this kind of crap in the cheapest Motel 6 and was ashamed to have brought guest here with me to show them how great times shares are, especially Wyndham.

The appliances were VERY old, the fridge had no ice maker

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachfiinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    252
    117
    71
    53
See reviews for
251
240
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and the property is well maintained. We came during renovations, but it wasn't very noisy (they have a 3 floor shield between construction and rooms) and off-season (2 weeks after the start of school). Water temperature was 85 degrees in mid September and the beach empty. We had the run of the place. Resort has plenty of activities including wine tasting. There's a nice Polish gourmet on Atlantic avenue along with a grocery store nearby so you can stock up your kitchen with great food. Avoid the beach restaurants and go to out Highway 1 a mile away and you'll have plenty of great dining and shopping options.

We had a great time but giving 4 stars on the room (such as old TV's instead of flat screens but they were renovating so that may be done shortly).

Room Tip: If you have a small party (2 people), ask for the front buildings on the beach. They are efficienci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Had a great time relaxing and enjoying the pool and activities with family and friends that we met while we were there. The resort has a very beautiful tropical atmosphere and the people working there and the other people vacationing there were all very friendly. Would love to go back every year. Very clean, quiet, friendly and great fun!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlt-ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It would have been nice to be in the beach side properties but they were under renovations. The whole property needs a face lift, stay in the ocean palms building for a better experience. The ocean palms building has covered parking, more of a highrise feel and better units. The cabana properties are renovated with new furniture and flat screens but still stay in the ocean palms. Ask for Shek if there is no bellman( giving the bellman off on saturday of labor day weekend is pretty silly), evelyn was also very helpful and hospitable.

Room Tip: Ocean Palms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangyEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom/2 Bath unit in the newer Ocean Palms Building at the Wyndham Sea Gardens Resort. The accommodations were very nice and up-to-date. The only negative was a shortage of lamps and the use of low wattage bulbs. That made the unit nice and bright during the day, but quite dark at night. Parking was inside at one end of the building, and there were always enough spaces. Pompano Beach is a really nice place to stay, with numerous restaurants nearby. Vacationing without a car, however, would be difficult.

The big problem during the winter (we stayed there the middle of December) is that the sun has a very difficult time reaching the swimming pools. There is a beautiful pool adjacent to the Ocean Palms Building. The problem is that the sun is low in the sky in the winter, and the building is quite tall. With the pool located to the west of the building, the sun was gone from the pool area by around noon or 1 PM. Anyone who stayed at the pool after that time had to move their chairs into a nearby parking lot to find any sun. It doesn't feel much like a vacation when you have to get your sun in a parking lot. I would expect that the problem with the sun is not as significant in the summer, when the sun is higher in the sky.

The rest of the resort is set up a little like a motel, with most buildings two stories. The innner courtyard is beautifully landscaped and has a nice bar and grill area. Across the street, directly on the beach, is a separate building with smaller, older units that have been recently updated. The pool at that location is unheated, which makes it quite cold in December.

In conclusion, this resort deserves a solid 4 for the facilities and a 2 for the swimming pools. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time at the pools, this would be a great place for couples, families and friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the newer Ocean Palms Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisnuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I had to change rooms 3 times because of ants and air conditioning not working. Everytime I inhaled, I thought I was breathing in old stale, dustmite air. I was told by the general manager, because of the ants that there must be a "food source". I guess so, since they were in the bed, desk, bathroom and kitchen. I asked the hotel to spray while I was gone for a day and I got a can of raid. However, the front desk staff were very helpful and courteous but I still ended up with bed bug bites which resulted in skin rashes and hives. I thought I had an allergic reaction to something else but ended up going to my doctor when I returned home because of bumps on my face, arms, and legs that also itched. I thought the rooms were dirty and I could never see because of low lighting. Even though the beach was just across the street, This has to be the worst trip I have been on in which it took a year to save up. I was interested in signing up for a timeshare but not now.

Room Tip: Pictures can be deceiving! Make sure you don't get the rooms during renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pompano Beach hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were lucky and stayed in a front end studio unit.... with the greatest view of the ocean! It's true the decor is tired and can use a deep cleaning. Everything was livable and there is even a washer and dryer.The beach is beautiful. We really didn't use any of the resorts pools or tiki bar across the street but we did walk through it. I am glad our room was across the street and beachfront.... nice and quiet. Go have fun and don't sweat the small stuff LOCATION LOCATION great beach! oh, there is no balcony to sit , standing room only if that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olive21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Pompano Beach
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,329 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#6 of 38 in Pompano Beach
977 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Santa Barbara
Wyndham Santa Barbara
#1 of 17 in Pompano Beach
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Sea Gardens

Property: Wyndham Sea Gardens
Address: 615 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-4608 (Formerly Fairfield Sea Gardens Beach and Tennis Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Sea Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sea Gardens Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Wyndham Sea Gardens Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing