We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This stay was the worst in 20 years!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages by the Ocean
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This stay was the worst in 20 years!”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

When we arrived, we had to clean the cottage. There was mold in the shower, black dust on the counters and chairs and dirt on the floors.
The towels are stained and not very clean - previous tenants are required to do the laundry.
The remote for the TV does not work, you have to manually change channels and volume control at the TV for any changes.
The air conditioner leaks water and the couch receives water stains accordingly - be careful and document everything before you settle in... afterall you are responsible for all cleaning, laundry and of course, you are required to provide a "departure" cleaning fee $75 for anything you may have missed (even if it wasn't clean).

Bottom line, this cottage was represented as a "white glove" place to live and it was the farthest thing from living at home... even though the manager likes to portray herself as the home away from home.

In twenty years of travel - this is the worst place I have ever stayed. It was dirty, moldy and not comfortable in any way.

Hopefully after several reviews, "Trip Advisor" will publish this review. It will appear that Trip Advisor only publishes reviews in favor of the property and new sales. If an honest review cannot be posted, then how can any person trust the site that represents the product.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainebythebeach, Owner at Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
It is certainly a concern when any business receives a bad review, but we believe travelers who have read this will see through a “review” that is malicious for the pure point of being malicious. Every one of the earlier reviews shows that our guests believe they have received a first-rate experience. The Superior Small Lodging Association conducts lengthy and thorough surprise inspections of our Cottages, and it takes 100-percent excellence in housekeeping to be honored with a White Glove Award. We are proud to say that we are a multiple recipient of that award. We were also named the Pompano Beach Chamber’s 2009 Small Business of the Year. My staff and I work hard every day to go the extra mile in quality and service for our guests. We conduct our business honorably and to the highest standards, and we invite everyone to stay with us and enjoy our lovely cottages. Sincerely, Elaine Fitzgerald, Owner, Cottages by the Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

If you could design a perfect Cottage away from home, with all the amenities needed to move right in, well, pack your bag and bring a tooth brush. That's all one needs to enjoy a relaxing, exciting, and wonderful fantasy away from home.
Quiet street, with lovely grounds. Classy people, clean and everything one needs to live comfortably.
The beach is at most a 5 minute walk. Chairs are supplied, beach towels, and other beach toys to use. Washer and dryer on premises. Elaine is there if you need her.
Great restaurants, night spots, casinos nearby.
Just a great get away. I can't wait to book my next trip to Cottages by the Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LanaDorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband and I had a remarkable experience staying at this property. Impeccably clean rooms & property, owner left out no details (beach chairs, beach towels, ALL the comforts of home besides your toiletries!!)Very quiet, shady property - lovely screened porch to enjoy coffe in the am and cocktails in the pm. Walking distance to several restaurants, bars, Walgreens, etc. Beach is only a short walk (1.5 blocks at best). Oh - and the beach chairs - they are GREAT - wear them like a back pack and your hands-free walking to the beach. The property owner, Elaine Fitzgerald, was very accomodating as was the maintenance guy Paul. You are missing out on a great value if you pass up this property. Only drawback, no pool - but that wasn't important to us. Elaine told me though that one of the nearby hotels will allow you to use their pool if you buy food and beverages at the tiki bar outside (Sandpiper). We did some diving during our stay and the shower & hose directly behind our unit (and all units) allowed us to clean up our dive gear easily. And - it's only a 15 min or so drive to the Isle Casino and Horse Track - lots of fun if you've never seen harness racing. The casino was a blast too! We look forward to returning and sharing our "find" with all of our friends!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diver0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Firstly, the photos and website of Cottages By The Ocean really do not do it justice. It's the only place I've ever stayed where the place itself looked so much better than the photos!

Cottages By The Ocean is about a 3 minute walk to a gorgeous beach with lifeguards. It was always very quiet when we were there (although I've heard it can get a bit more crowded in summer). The cottage supplies things like beach chairs, beach towels and a eski (cooler), which was such a nice touch!

We stayed in a studio cottage which was actually pretty large and had a full kitchen and shower. It is not new, but incredibly clean with an incredible attention to design/detail which made me feel like I was staying at a friends treasured holiday home. The staff who came around every day to clean, garden etc, where very friendly and helpful too.

The highlight of the place for me had to be the courtyard. Every day we sat outside on the patio furniture (in a little porch behind mosquito screens) and looked out and it is BEAUTIFUL! The garden is stunning and at night there are fairy lights going up the palm trees that give it a lovely tropical feel.

This is the sort of place you go to for a super relaxed, mellow break and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyClaire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philla,Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

These are wonderful little places to stay. They are what they say, I found them very inexpensive and a treat to stay in. The cottages are very clean and neat. Everything is very close by and you can walk a block to the beach with chairs and towels provided for you. Even thought you are withing walking distance of the road you feel like you are in your own little piece of the world. I would recomend these little cottages to everyone that likes a quite place to stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zedywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Cottages by the Ocean are just what the name says. These really are little, individual studio and one bedroom units complete with porches and rockers all assembled around a nicely landscaped courtyard. Best of all, they're only a couple of blocks from the beach. Everything is provided for your trip to the beach, too--portable beach chairs, coolers, even beach toys. Actually that's typical of these places overall--they've outfitted them with everything, from laundry applicances and WIFI to pots, pans, nice china, and even magazines, books and games to play. And the decor is very clean with a nice homey feel. After a day or two you start to feel like it's really your own little cottage in South Florida.

The Cottages are close to nice restaurants so you wouldn't even need a car if beach and water activities are what you're after. But if you want to take some time away from the beach and see a few sights you'll find that Pompano Beach is perfectly sited in the middle of all the action--Boca and Palm Beach to the North and Ft. Lauderdale and Miami to the South. Besides the more well known sights all those places have, you can also check out less well-known places like Butterfly World and Morikami Japanese Gardens. If you like shopping, besides Worth Avenue in Palm Beach, there's the more affordable gigantic Sawgrass Outlet Mall and the bargain hunters dream--Festival Flea Market.
There's a lot to do in Pompano Beach and the surrounding areas and Cottages by the Ocean make a wonderful place to stay while you're doing it. You'll find yourself thinking about next year's visit before you've even finished this year's. I know I did.

  • Liked — The homey feel of having a cottage rather than a hotel
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaTravelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Private, Secluded, Immaculate, Quaint, Adorable, Charming! Everything you need is provided, from beach gear & towels to kitchen utensils. 1 block from the beach. Several great restaurants within walking distance. 3 blocks from the intersection of Atlantic Ave & A1A. We didn't even get a rental car this trip. Customer service was top notch - the owner called several times to make sure everything was OK & to see if we needed anything. Maintainance man was there every morning to take care of anything that might come up. Note that this property does not have a pool, but to us it wasn't a big deal since the beach is so close.
Triple-thumbs-up!!!! Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lctrcjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
632 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
#17 of 38 in Pompano Beach
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#3 of 38 in Pompano Beach
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#23 of 38 in Pompano Beach
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#16 of 38 in Pompano Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Ocean

Property: Cottages by the Ocean
Address: 3309 SE 3rd St, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-5505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming complex of six fully restored 1940s studio and one-bedroom cottages is nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. It's less than two blocks from our award-winning beach with lifeguards, lighthouse and fishing pier. Enjoy all the comforts of home with king beds, full kitchens, free Internet, BBQ and laundry facilities, screened porches overlooking tropical gardens. Cottages by the Ocean is a small, well-kept property of charming Key West-style studio and one-bedroom cottages. We are a White Glove award-winner and nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. Each restored 1940s cottage has a full kitchen, king or queen bed and sleeper sofa, lush, tropical garden views, large screened-in porches or open patio, private BBQ grills, with a central sundeck and coin laundry on site. The Cottages are centrally located on a quiet street in the safe, ocean side community of Pompano Beach, 15 minutes North of downtown Fort Lauderdale and 15 minutes South of Boca Raton. They are less than two blocks from one of South Florida's award-winning Blue Wave beaches (with life guards), and a short walk to dozens of restaurants, shops, nightspots, public fishing pier, snorkel/dive boats, charter fishing boats, jet ski and boat rentals, gym, day spa, drug store, gourmet fish market and more. It’s a five-minute drive to the new Pompano CitiCenter shopping mall, movie theaters, tennis and aquatics complex, dog park, air park for private planes and the Good Year Blimp base, 36-hole golf facility and driving range. The new ISLE Casino (smoke-free), next door to Pompano Harness Track, is a 15-minute drive. I-95 is a 10-minute drive for easy access to all South Florida business centers, shopping and attractions.Very clean, quiet and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Ocean Hotel Pompano Beach
Cottages By The Ocean Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing