We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saltimbocca Great at Giovannis in Pompano”

Giovanni Italian Restaurant
Ranked #169 of 378 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Best I ever had. Service great. Music is why we went - 12 of us on Fri. Aug 1. Yes, will go back.
The Politos

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Virgie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni G, Owner at Giovanni Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

The Saltimbocca is really good!!! We are glad you liked it and pretty sure you will love our other dishes as well!! Come try it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband supported himself through college by singing in a Sicilian restaurant in the Chicago area in the 1970's & '80s. It has become extremely hard to find an Italian restaurant with live music anymore, although we always look for one when we are travelling. When we were in the Pompano Beach area, we were pleased to find that the Giovanni restaurant offered music on the days we were in town. What was unexpected was the excellent quality of the food and service. Andre, the owner, told us that he makes trips to the farmer's market every day before coming to the restaurant to prepare food. In talking with Andre, we learned that he spends a lot of time in the kitchen. His sauces are freshly made - he mentioned that it takes 2 to 3 hours to make his marinara sauce. One can tell that the food has been prepared in a loving, authentic Italian manner. We enjoyed our visit so much, that we went back and ordered a pizza the next night! Everything we had was delicious. Michaelangelo, who played an electronic keyboard and sometimes sang, provided nice background music, He was an experienced pianist, and knew all of the Neapolitan songs that my husband asked him to play. Of course, my husband had to sing along! :) The staff was friendly and attentive and we were pleased to find we were among native Italian speakers. The restaurant is small, but has an intimate feeling. My husband & I highly recommend Giovanni Italian Restaurant for all the reasons given above!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rom15_4Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni G, Owner at Giovanni Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

We hope to see you guys again whenever you are in town!! If you liked our live music you will enjoy a lot our new singer Marie! She is great! Also we have great new dishes that we put in our everyday specials. Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was an intimate setting, with good food and good service. The biggest hit was the home made tiramisu that was gone in seconds. She said it was one of the best Tiramisu that she has ever had. I recommend this restaurant, but it is a tad bit pricey, BUT WORTH IT!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CorpusFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni G, Owner at Giovanni Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

We are happy you liked the restaurant...and yes we have to agree that the tiramisu is really delicious! it is one of our best desserts! Come to see us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This little restaurant is tucked away off Federal Highway. It is small and cozy with red and white checkered cloth table cloths. It has an extensive menu. We had mussels in red sauce, excellent, and eggplant parmesan, which was also excellent. They have live music on weekends which leaves a lot to be desired until the owner takes the mic and sings. He is excellent. The prices are fair for the wine and the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lehtorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni G, Owner at Giovanni Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2015

We are very glad you had a pleasant experience at our restaurant!! We have a new singer now who is very talented but Giovanni still entertain us with few songs in the weekends! Very fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

freshest fish ate the whole red snapper myself. veal rolantini the best we have eaten anywhere. giovanni sings and makes the place homey and warm. we keep coming back every few days to try something else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni G, Owner at Giovanni Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2015

Dear Wendy,

Great to hear you like so much this place!! Have yoy stopped by this year alredy? If not, come to see us!! We have a great singer and yummy specials on the menu!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni Italian Restaurant also viewed

Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Giovanni Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing