We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmetto Bug = Fancy Name for Cockroach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We went to the beachcomber for a wedding and stayed in a villa as we have children and that sounded much more appealing than toting our children up and down an elevator every time they needed something from the room. That, and I read on TripAdvisor the rooms had subpar water heat.

We were greeted by a welcoming crew of 6 cockroaches in our "villa." The children were excited to check the place out and before we noticed the welcoming crew (ie cockroaches) the four year old stepped on one during the excitement and CRUNCH! He started crying.

We were greeted daily with a new, little (actually quite massive!), nasty every morning and they (along with chips and other less desirables) were under the pull out couch.

An exterminator was called (no we were not offered another room) and it would have been ok, but WHY oh WHY were there cockroaches in every Villa our families were staying in!?

170/night and cockroaches. Gross. The service team was nice enough, but the compensation they gave us was = food in the restaurant.... um, the place we are sleeping is gross, why would we eat your food!? :P GROSS!! Crunchy scrambled eggs, anyone?

The hotel is on the water, but really, crossing a street is not a hard thing to do for cleanliness. EW. <1 for a review.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 55441girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

First thing we need to make clear is that there is no acceptable excuse for any type of pest control issue in any of our rooms whatsoever. And, we sincerely apologize for the issues expressed in this guest's review.

Our Villas are surrounded by lush landscaping and palm trees which is certainly attractive, but is also the ideal environment for the Florida Woods Cockroach also known as the Palmetto Bug because it is known to nest in Palmetto Trees also referred to as Cabbage Palms or Sabal Palms (reference credit to Wikipedia) which are the species of trees we do have around the property. So although we are located in a tropical paradise, it is an ongoing challenge to eradicate this very resilient species of insect.

When this guest informed us about the pest problem, our pest control technician was already on site that day, so we asked the guest if we could send him over and address this situation. Because we were sold out during this guest stay and because they needed 2-2 bedroom Villas, we did not have alternate accommodations to offer them to move. In our opinion we did respond quickly as evidenced by the fact that we had our exterminator treat their Villa within about an hour of being notified. We also did offer not only these specific guests, but there entire party (which was a total of 3 rooms) complimentary breakfast which worked out to be about 10 persons, and did write and hand deliver them an apology letter which also asked them to be sure to let us know if there were any other issues during their stay. We do hope that these actions are reasonable evidence that we were genuinely concerned and took this matter seriously.

Also this guest raised concerns about the cleanliness of our food and beverage operation (as a result of the Florida Woods Cockroaches they saw in their Villa) and upon reviewing the incidental charges on the guest room folios of all 3 rooms; their entire party did patronize our restaurant and Tiki bar during the course of their stay.

Rest assured that as the summer heats up and the conditions for bugs like these become more ideal; the Beachcomber is and will continue to be equally aggressive when it comes to addressing this issue of pest control head on.

Again, we regret that this guest had an issue like this and do hope that the folks who value TripAdvisor as a trusted source when it comes to making travel decisions will view this particular situation as more of an exception rather than the rule when it comes to the Beachcomber's general housekeeping and pest control practices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

This isn't the best hotel, but the location makes up for it. The rooms are okay. The pool is nice and warm. The ocean is the best thing going for it. The beach is so clean, You don't have to walk through seaweed to get to the water. Poolside has the best cheesburgers & fries in the country. The free parking is great! The only thing I didn't like was that they close the pool for a wedding. The wedding looked like a flop. It wasn't worth closing down the pool. They should tell you about things like that when you book your room. However, I waould stay her again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruiseoceansand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

We're glad to hear this guest enjoyed their stay so much that they would reccommend and stay with us again in the future. Due to our great location on the beach and our overall facilities we are an ideal venue for romantic beach weddings and special events. Since we do have 2 large pools and pool areas (one larger than the other) we will close the smaller of our 2 pool areas for weddings and special events on occasion. Usually we'll close this area from about mid-day into the evening. Our rationale is that we still do have the adequate facilities to accommodate our guests who are not part of the event and that they do have use of our main pool area where our Tiki bar is located and where we also offer poolside patio dining.

To address this reviewer's concern that they were not aware that the pool area they referred to in their review would be closed for a private event (and because we are hosting more beach weddings and other special events); we recently inacted a policy that we disclose during the reservations process that there may be a special event over the weekends and that there is a possibility that our second pool area may be closed for future private events. It is sometimes difficult to anticipate when the second pool will be closed since a guest may reserve before we reserve an event for this area, so we will therefore make this disclosure all the time for those guest who reserve rooms in our pool deck area (around the second pool area) as well as for those who reserve our 1 or 2 bedroom Villas.

We are also making an effort to locate the overnight guests associated with the event in rooms around our second pool area since these guests would be least effected by the event.

We appreciate this guests comments and hope this addresses how we can better communicate what our guests can expect moving forward. The best suprise is no suprise. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Couldn't have asked for a better place!
Always courteous staff - ever helpful
Easy access to everything...
Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachdreamer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Thanks for the nice review and being our guest. Hope you'll return and stay with us again soon. So glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you took the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

love the beachcomber great staff and wright on the beach clean pool and great view of the ocean

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreicate your business and hope to have you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The Beachcomber was a great choice for our stay the day before our cruise. Right on the beach. We had a wonderfully relaxing day, what a surprising find. The hotel staff was great, helped us arrange transportation to the cruiseport and were very pleasant to deal with througout our stay. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Tiki hut poolside was terrific place to gather and end the evening. The bartender was exceptional! Had breakfast at the Restuarant right off the lobby (twice) - very nice. Lots of other options for food nearby if you prefer something else. My only critique is that there's not much curb appeal but don't let that deter you, it almost frightened us off. Its a whole different world inside, good value for the money and very pleasant on the grounds. Picture submitted, you'll see what I mean.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLPeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thanks for selecting the Beachomber as your post cruise destination; glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are just a 14 mile scenic drive north along A1A (the beach) from the Fort Lauderdale/Port Everglades Cruiseport which makes us a nice place to stay maintian that tan and help with the back to reality adjustment after cruising the Caribbean. We also are a nice place to stay to put you in the proper frame of mind pre-cruise as well. Thanks for taking full advantage of the resort's food and beverage offerings and mentioning that we are conveinient to other dining and entertainment options in the area. Also appreciate your comment and noticing our lush tropical landscaping throughout the property; we do have some big plans in the near future to upgrade our building exterior and improve our curb appeal. Thanks for being our guest; we hope you will make the Beachcomber your resort of choice whenever you visit Fort Lauderdale whether it be pre/post cruise or as your primary destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I had a great time with my room and highly recommend this hotel, but be warned --- your experience likely depends greatly on which room you get. Thankfully, I got a great room with a great view, probably the best in the house. I had a large picture window, and the ocean was literally just 200 meters from my window. However, they have "European Style" rooms and others that may be less desirable, based on other people's reviews. My room was nicely furnished. It had a "home" feeling that was comfortable without being fancy, in contrast to the sterile, highly fancy feeling you get in a Hilton or Westin.

My room had a refrigerator and microwave; I don't know if all the rooms do. The WiFi speed was somewhat slow and intermittent in my room. Part of the time I had to rely on my iPhone to tether. If you're super-private, be warned that the pool-side rooms have venetian blinds that allow others to look into your room a little. This didn't bother me much, but you have to be a little careful where you change your clothes.

The swimming pools are great. I saw lots of folks hanging out by the pools in the copious deck chairs. There was a wide variety of young folks, families with kids, and seniors. There is a little covered bar near the pools where people sit and watch the TV. They have a little pool shop to get towels, sunscreen, etc.

The hotel is right on the beach. They don't charge a resort fee, but you have to pay for extras like Cabanas and beach chairs. They do provide a few hammocks for free on the beach. They don't charge for parking or internet access either, so overall I think it's a great bargain.

You will need a car if you choose this hotel, assuming you wish to see downtown and other FL attractions. The staff is super friendly. I don't know why other people were complaining. I too tried to get a late checkout and only succeeded in extending the stay to 12:00. However, there was another party coming to my room, and frankly I can't blame the hotel. They are in the impossible position of either disappointing me by making me check out on time like I'm supposed to, or disappointing the next guest by making him/her wait for me. The in-house restaurant food (tried hamburger, hotdog, and breakfast omlettes) is okay and home-like, but not awesome. Fortunately, Ft Lauderdale has many great dining alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-side room next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnesotan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for the thorough review. Looks like the person who wrote this review really enjoyed their stay and got to see and experience what the Beachcomber has to offer; which is certainly nice to hear. There was a reference made about our European rooms which are uniquely different just as our pool deck, ocean view, and ocean front rooms, junior suites, 1 bedroom suites, 1 bedroom Villas, and 2 bedroom Villas. The European room is value priced, more intimate size-wise, does not have much of a view, nor does it have a balcony, or a refrigerator/microwave. It is however still a comfortable room and works well for those people who might want to save a little money on their room and typically justify this choice as a place to sleep because they usually spend most of their time out of their room and around the resort facilities anyway. Some folks reserve a European room and are quite content; some do ask to see our other room choices and decide to upgrade to one of our rooms with a view and more space (as long as it is available). I also want to thank this guest for commenting on the tough position we find ourselves in when it comes to being able to extend our expected departure guests much past our posted check out time, simply put; they get it. Please note we are always happy to store luggage for departing guests and certainly allow them to continue to use the resort facilities until they (sadly) have to go. Thanks for being our guest, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband has stayed at the Beachcomber many times and strongly recommended it for our extended weekend trip to the Fort Lauderdale area. We were not disappointed! Our room was immaculate and spacious, the staff was friendly and very attentive and the conveniently located restaurant had great food at reasonable prices. We had a super stay and will surely return!

The Beachcomber property has a rather eclectic lay out with several types of buildings. There is a tall, beautiful,white building which seems to be the main building as well as lower buildings and small villas. There are two pools, one in front of the main building and one near the villas. The grounds are more beautiful that most photos show as there are lush, green plants in a garden like setting everywhere. Some reviews say that it is dated but I did not see that at all. It was clean, well kept yet with lots of charm. To get to the beach you need to walk down a couple of steps. Once there, there are cabanas and lounge chairs for rent. Since it was quite windy we never sat on the beach even though we did go swimming in the ocean.

We arrived at around 1pm and though I knew that check in wasn't until 3pm I went to the reception to let them know that we were here and that we would be happy to wait for the room. No need. The room was already available. It was on the 8th floor with a wonderful view of the pool area as well as a partial view of the beach. It was very spacious (a junior suite)! There was a small eating area with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and coffee. The room itself had a king sized bed and a queen sofa sleeper. It was beautifully decorated with large wooden furniture. The gorgeous balcony had two lounge chairs and a small rattan chair. The bath room was located at the back of the room next to a closet area. It was fairly small but clean and up-to-date. The Internet worked great: easy to connect to and very speedy. The TV was housed in a beautiful cabinet which also held a safe. I particularly liked the quiet air conditioning system which did not wake me up at night as has happened in other hotels. Our son loved how spacious the room was and immediately referred to it as "our apartment".

We spent a lot of time by the pool by the main building. The pool is large and quite deep, between 4-8 feet, which suited us perfectly. There is also a smaller pool on the property but we never made it that far (it also appeared to be quite deep). The pool was never particularly crowded even though the hotel was fully booked and there were plenty of sun beds and even poolside tables available.

We ate several meals at the restaurant by the pool, first because it was convenient and, later, because it was good. The menu was varied and the prices normal for a resort. I am not sure I remember the prices perfectly but I believe that a salad was around $11 and a sandwich $8. Our son enjoyed the jumbo hot dog with fries and the chicken tenders. My husband had the sheekh kebab. It was listed as a starter but with 3 skewers it was enough for a whole meal. The staff was kind and attentive: Service was prompt and helpful even though intense after noon showers sometimes made their job quite unpredictable. The bartender made a particularly strong impression; friendly, personable and very speedy.

We would have loved to have dessert at the restaurant or after dinner coffee, which were not available. Perhaps that could be added sometime in the future.

All-in-all, we had a great time at the Beachcomber and will surely return. The charming property, wonderful room, friendly staff and excellent location are hard to beat! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gtrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

We are very grateful to you for taking the time to offer up such a wonderful review of your most recent experience at the Beachcomber. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and gave such a thorough overview of the property and your overall experience.

As we are sure you know, the Beachcomber's goals are to make sure that we not only meet but exceed our guests' expectations and that we want all of our guests to have a great experience; return and stay with us on a regular and repeat basis. It is much easier to create a long term customer than it is to find new customers; we always want to make sure our first time guests become established long term guests.

Thanks for your loyal patronage; we appreciate your business! Look forward to having you back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 38 in Pompano Beach
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#7 of 38 in Pompano Beach
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: £146 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing