We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We arrived for our stay on a Sunday about 1:30 and asked if our room was ready even though check in is at 3:00. We were told our room wasn't ready yet but she would call our cell as soon as it was. She gave us a parking ticket for our car and we went to their tiki bar until our room was ready. Steve was the bartender and we were enjoying the atmosphere, friendly patrons and good drinks. My husband went back to the front desk at 3:00 to see if our room was ready. They apologized and gave us a room upgrade to a corner suite. Beautiful! Everyone we talked to on our trips to the tiki bar said all the rooms were wonderful. This is now my preferred vacation spot and will try to get there as often as possible.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thanks for the positive review and kind remarks. So glad you've found your place in the sun (and on the beach). Look forward to having back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Beachcomber Hotel this year 2011 from Fri. May 6th thru Thurs. May 12th. We started out in a double room on the 3rd floor which I thought was nice but the view was not what I hoped it would be. We put our names in for a room with a single King bed later that day There's a loud, annoying blower on the roof just below the balconys that runs non stop and prevents you from hearing the ocean. Later that night I noticed a cockroach on the bathroom sink!...yes, I killed it! Nasty! My husband said it's just a Florida thing so I didn't mention it to the staff. Anyway, by Sunday the manager told us we could move to a different room on the 7th floor with a king size bed. It was an awesome room with an awesome view! I was very pleased!

Now tho get to the point of my complaint...After we packed and moved our things to the new room I noticed later that I was missing my wrist braces that I have to wear at night for my carpal tunnel syndrome. I called the desk and told the manager that they were left in the bed. She said they would look for them and ask the maid that cleaned the room. Of course the maid said she did not see them. I asked everyone , even the laundry staff. No one acted as if they really cared! How can 2 black 10 inch wrist braces just disappear in just a few hours? My guess was that the maid must think she needed them more than I did. Unfortunately, I suffered a few nights with terrible pain in my hands and arms because of the lack of trustworthy staff there!

~ M.E., Pennsylvania

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guestonaquest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

We appreciate your feed back; it seems like this review is pretty good but with some issues that we do want to address.

As the summer heats up we've stepped up our pest contol efforts. Although your husband's comments that the Palmetto Bug is common to Florida, we need to know when our guests have an unwanted "pet" in their room. You see these insects are attracted to moisture which may be why you found one in your bathroom sink.

Glad to know we were able to accommodate your request to move rooms and that worked out for you. Yes, we do have a hood system exhaust fan on the building that houses our kitchen and that fan is shut down when the kitchen closes, so it should silent by 10 PM Sunday thru Thursday and by 11 PM on Friday and Saturday. Regret that this is located within earshot of some rooms and not much can be done to eliminate this. We do regularly clean and maintain the hood system to make sure we keep the noise to a minimum.

As for your missing brace for your wrist, the staff did attempt to track it down but came up empty. The majority of our housekeeping staff has been with us for quite a while and we have many more good lost and found stories to tell than bad ones from laptops, jewelery, phone charges, and yes even an iPad was turned in and properly returned recently, so our record is very good. Our houskeeper would not keep any items found left behind in a guest room we have lost and found procedures in place for this very reason. There's a better chance it got accidently discarded; we did not learn about the missing item until the day after the room move. For what it is worth, we too always encourage all of our guest to use the in room safe (which is free of charge to use); always better to take advantage of any added security whether it be at home or on vacation. With all due respect, please do not imply that our housekeepers are not trustworthy; that is just not fair.

We do value your business, take your comments seriously, and do hope you will view the lost but not found matter as an isolated incident and that it will not discourage you from returning to the Beachcomber in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We have just returned from another wonderful three weeks at the Beachcomber Hotel and Villas. As always the friendly and efficient staff have gone a long way to making our holiday so enjoyable. The beachcomber is set right on the beach with wonderful views of the ocean from our room balcony. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast in the hotel restaurant but ventured out at night to one of the numerous local restaurants where we enjoyed a wide variety of food from steaks, to fresh fish and authentic italian. This hotel is ideal to relax and recharge your batteries whilst soaking up the sun on a sun bed by the pool or lazing in a hammock on the beach. We are already looking forward to returning later in the year.

Jennifer and Brian Down

Room Tip: Best views above third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer_down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thanks for being one of our valued long term repeat guests. Really appreciate the time you took to post this review and of course your business. We're thrilled that you ranked you most recent visit as tip top and are even more pleased to hear that you are already considering another visit later this year. Your loyalty to the Beachcomber is the ultimate compliment. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Outstanding Customer Services, Rooms were Clean, Modern and BIG....I upgraded to the Ocean Front Suite and it was EXCELLENT...180 degree view of the beach. Well worth it. Hotel is located directly on the beach. Located near shopping, places to visit, etc. I'm coming back to Pompano Beach just to stay and play at the Beachcomber Resort. They also have nice villas located direcly on the water. Free Parking and Internet Service.

Room Tip: The suite is excellent for special occasions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keezgrl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Wow! What more can we say but thanks so much for the very nice review and being our guest. Hope you come back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We went to the beachcomber for a wedding and stayed in a villa as we have children and that sounded much more appealing than toting our children up and down an elevator every time they needed something from the room. That, and I read on TripAdvisor the rooms had subpar water heat.

We were greeted by a welcoming crew of 6 cockroaches in our "villa." The children were excited to check the place out and before we noticed the welcoming crew (ie cockroaches) the four year old stepped on one during the excitement and CRUNCH! He started crying.

We were greeted daily with a new, little (actually quite massive!), nasty every morning and they (along with chips and other less desirables) were under the pull out couch.

An exterminator was called (no we were not offered another room) and it would have been ok, but WHY oh WHY were there cockroaches in every Villa our families were staying in!?

170/night and cockroaches. Gross. The service team was nice enough, but the compensation they gave us was = food in the restaurant.... um, the place we are sleeping is gross, why would we eat your food!? :P GROSS!! Crunchy scrambled eggs, anyone?

The hotel is on the water, but really, crossing a street is not a hard thing to do for cleanliness. EW. <1 for a review.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 55441girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

First thing we need to make clear is that there is no acceptable excuse for any type of pest control issue in any of our rooms whatsoever. And, we sincerely apologize for the issues expressed in this guest's review.

Our Villas are surrounded by lush landscaping and palm trees which is certainly attractive, but is also the ideal environment for the Florida Woods Cockroach also known as the Palmetto Bug because it is known to nest in Palmetto Trees also referred to as Cabbage Palms or Sabal Palms (reference credit to Wikipedia) which are the species of trees we do have around the property. So although we are located in a tropical paradise, it is an ongoing challenge to eradicate this very resilient species of insect.

When this guest informed us about the pest problem, our pest control technician was already on site that day, so we asked the guest if we could send him over and address this situation. Because we were sold out during this guest stay and because they needed 2-2 bedroom Villas, we did not have alternate accommodations to offer them to move. In our opinion we did respond quickly as evidenced by the fact that we had our exterminator treat their Villa within about an hour of being notified. We also did offer not only these specific guests, but there entire party (which was a total of 3 rooms) complimentary breakfast which worked out to be about 10 persons, and did write and hand deliver them an apology letter which also asked them to be sure to let us know if there were any other issues during their stay. We do hope that these actions are reasonable evidence that we were genuinely concerned and took this matter seriously.

Also this guest raised concerns about the cleanliness of our food and beverage operation (as a result of the Florida Woods Cockroaches they saw in their Villa) and upon reviewing the incidental charges on the guest room folios of all 3 rooms; their entire party did patronize our restaurant and Tiki bar during the course of their stay.

Rest assured that as the summer heats up and the conditions for bugs like these become more ideal; the Beachcomber is and will continue to be equally aggressive when it comes to addressing this issue of pest control head on.

Again, we regret that this guest had an issue like this and do hope that the folks who value TripAdvisor as a trusted source when it comes to making travel decisions will view this particular situation as more of an exception rather than the rule when it comes to the Beachcomber's general housekeeping and pest control practices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This isn't the best hotel, but the location makes up for it. The rooms are okay. The pool is nice and warm. The ocean is the best thing going for it. The beach is so clean, You don't have to walk through seaweed to get to the water. Poolside has the best cheesburgers & fries in the country. The free parking is great! The only thing I didn't like was that they close the pool for a wedding. The wedding looked like a flop. It wasn't worth closing down the pool. They should tell you about things like that when you book your room. However, I waould stay her again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruiseoceansand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

We're glad to hear this guest enjoyed their stay so much that they would reccommend and stay with us again in the future. Due to our great location on the beach and our overall facilities we are an ideal venue for romantic beach weddings and special events. Since we do have 2 large pools and pool areas (one larger than the other) we will close the smaller of our 2 pool areas for weddings and special events on occasion. Usually we'll close this area from about mid-day into the evening. Our rationale is that we still do have the adequate facilities to accommodate our guests who are not part of the event and that they do have use of our main pool area where our Tiki bar is located and where we also offer poolside patio dining.

To address this reviewer's concern that they were not aware that the pool area they referred to in their review would be closed for a private event (and because we are hosting more beach weddings and other special events); we recently inacted a policy that we disclose during the reservations process that there may be a special event over the weekends and that there is a possibility that our second pool area may be closed for future private events. It is sometimes difficult to anticipate when the second pool will be closed since a guest may reserve before we reserve an event for this area, so we will therefore make this disclosure all the time for those guest who reserve rooms in our pool deck area (around the second pool area) as well as for those who reserve our 1 or 2 bedroom Villas.

We are also making an effort to locate the overnight guests associated with the event in rooms around our second pool area since these guests would be least effected by the event.

We appreciate this guests comments and hope this addresses how we can better communicate what our guests can expect moving forward. The best suprise is no suprise. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Couldn't have asked for a better place!
Always courteous staff - ever helpful
Easy access to everything...
Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachdreamer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954-941-7830, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Thanks for the nice review and being our guest. Hope you'll return and stay with us again soon. So glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you took the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#7 of 38 in Pompano Beach
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#27 of 38 in Pompano Beach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: £78 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing