We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 6 day stay here was, in a word, perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I read the previous reviews and expected some rudeness, some disappointment ie: loud noise, ongoing construction. We found none of that; from check-in to check-out the staff was so friendly and happy to accommodate. The premises are immaculate with lovely well cared for gardens. The view spectacular from our ocean and city view balcony. We've stayed in several hotels along the beach from Miami to Boca Raton and never had such a large balcony with two cushioned lounge chairs! The lounge is small but cozy. Last night they featured a wonderfully talented singer. Food and drinks are of good quality. I can't say anything negative and if you've read any of my previous reviews, I usually have one or two!

Room Tip: I understand some rooms have not been renovated
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanGP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
There are newer reviews for Beachcomber Resort and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber Resort and Villas for one night during our motorcycle trip around Florida. We had room 701 an Oceanview king room in the tower in the far corner. It was the only room on the floor where you had to walk outside to get to it but afforded us another view of the Pompano Beach from the little balcony entry way to the room. The room was decorated tastefully but was very run down. The Air conditioning ran but did not cool the room at all so we slept with the door slider open all night listening to a very loud Central A/C unit cooling the rest of the hotel. The refrigerator was dented and had a broken foot pad so it was all lopsided. We had to put a phone book under it so it would at least stand up straight. The bathroom was very dirty. The bed sheets did not fit the bed and kept pulling up to reveal a disgustingly nasty mattress. The TV was outdated with a limited number of channels.
The balcony was large and had a nice view. If they would just update and clean the rooms this place would be perfect!
The most positive aspect of this hotel is the restaurant. The food was delicious and the service impeccable! They have a great piano bar and a very talented gentleman was playing the guitar and singing. Highly recommend the bar and restaurant. The hotel.. not so much.
We would not stay here again but I would visit the restaurant again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were lucky enough to stay here for the week of Christmas 2011. We have two kids in their early twenties that shared a massive two-queen room, overlooking the ocean with a kitchenette. We parents had a lovely room just below them, also overlooking the ocean. It is not brand new, but there is so much going for this hotel: comfy beds, the superb contact to the oceanfront, the wonderful pools and chairs available both poolside and right on the beach. Good location in Pompano close to other places to eat and have a drink or coffee. The restaurant staff in the hotel - and food - was of a very high standard. The hotel concierges which we met were helpful and friendly characters who not only saved us money with their good advice but found fun things for us to do. STAY HERE! It was great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Beachcomber is a lovely property. The halls and public areas are old Florida - think Golden Girls tropical motif - stucco and a little small. But the rooms are beautiful. Get an ocean view room - huge - like an efficiency apartment and beautiful terrace overlooking ocean with two nice loungers. The rooms have nice kitchenette with a two person table - big bedroom/living area and hall with dresser, closet and nice baths. They have been nicely renovated.
The pool and beach here is beautiful and offer a nice restaurant, lounge etc....
A nice week get-away place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel is located on a beautiful clean beach. The concierge is a 1person small desk located right in the lobby. The 2 different concierge men I delt with were friendly. There is a bus stop that is located in front of the hotel on the other side of the street (very easy to wak across) that will bring you to several locations, including Fort Lauderdale beach area. The bus is super cheap. The hotel also deals with a shuttle company that for a fee can pick you up/take you to the airport (about 20 min away) or the Port Everglades pier (about 15 min away). A shuttle is a MUCH cheaper way than a taxi. The bartender Steve in the tiki bar was one of the best bartenders we have ever encountered! He is very knowledgeable & is great company. John, the bartender that worked in the indoor bar was also great!

We had a oceanview room. This was one of the most beautiful rooms we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in many upscale hotels). The rooms are more that spacious. They were clean. The bed is extremly comfortable. The closet was a walk in one with a rack to hang clothes. You need to walk through the closet to get to the bathroom, which might seem odd, but it was not uncomfortable. There was a wet bar in the room which included a sink, mini fridge & microwave. On our semi private balcony, there were 2 lounge chairs with lounge body pillow to lay on that must have been about 1.5" think & very comfortable. There was also a little table on the balcony. We were over the pool & had an excellent view of the ocean. The pool did get busy at times, but you never heard it inside the room.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaraunt. The food and service was very good. Not very pricy. We also ate breakfast every day in the hotel as well. The food was delicious & again, not pricy. Do be aware though, that they do include gratuity in food/bar service. I believe that it was 15%, but that wasn't a problem as everyone earned it!

We did have a little minor issue when we got into our room. We couldn't get the ac unit to turn on. There was a thermostat on the wall, but it didn't seem to work. I called down to the front desk & a not so pleasant woman answered & said that someone would be up shortly.I asked if there was anything special that I needed to do with the ac (as I have seen in other hotels, there might be something special that you need to do to get it to kick on) she said "no" with a really snotty attitude. I then walked doen to the front desk about 1/2 hr later as no one has called or came to our room. The not so pleasant woman said to me that she told someone & that they are in the process of doing something with the fire alarm very snotty. I went back up to my room. About 10 minutes later the maintenance man came up. He was very nice. He showed me where in the room (in the closet area) that the switch needs to be switched up for the ac to kick on. I told him that when I called down to the front desk I asked the lady if there was anything special that I needed to do & she said very snotty, "NO". He said that she should have known that. The issue could have been fixed in 10 seconds, not an hour.

When I was checking out the same nasty lady was working at the front desk, which I found her name to be Latoria. I had a question about the bill & she got very short & nasty. All employees that we dealt with were all super nice & friendly except for her. I suggest not asking her for anything that you need or any questions you have.

All in all this was a terrific hotel! ps there is no gym on site but I believe they said that there is one across the street somewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JR05611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Beachcomber has something other hotel in the area don't have ...Location! Ocean front / beach access and great views. I am sure there are a lot of hotel developers that would love the piece of land this hotel sits on. Unfortunately, it just doesnt seem to be enough. The hotel it self is dated and worn. It seems like 90% of it is under constant repair during recent stays.
The rooms can be large with good views but are really not up to finer hotel standards. The beds and pillows are not uncomfortable they just feel cheap and could be better. Bathrooms are updated but plumbing is not. The housekeeping staff and maintaince seem to be falling all over the hotel as you often have to share the same elevator with them during the day. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful but again can't overcome the hotels shortfalls....they do try. The restaurant is average at best.

The hotel is not terrible by any means and at times the shortfalls might be worth putting up with if the price is right, especially during high season. Just know there is not much wow factor here ....just ho hum!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BFLOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Hubby and I really enjoyed staying for 4 nights while visiting with family. That being said, it's not as fancy as other resorts we stayed at in the Florida Keys, however, for being on the beach and seeing the ocean in Pompano Beach/Fort Lauderdale area, it was fantastic! The room itself was pretty "hotel basic". Nothing fancy but was kept clean. Internet wifi was great.

We paid a little extra to get and Oceanfront Room and it was totally worth it. We were lucky enough to get the 6th floor which had a great view of the ocean and an awesome balcony with our own lounge chairs. These rooms are right on the ocean. They had a nice pool with an outdoor tiki bar. Each night we got a great drink at the tiki bar, took it up to our room and enjoyed the ocean on our balcony. Wonderful!

The lobby is nice looking and the staff were courteous. The only negative is that the building appears rather old and kind of looking its age in places. Another positive was that there was plenty of parking available (for free) which can be hard to find near beaches. I can't evaluate the restaurant or lounge because the entire weekend we were there, everything was closed to the public for "private parties/weddings".

For our morning goodies, we ended up driving each day up Atlantic Avenue over the bridge to several bakeries and/or coffee places just a few miles away.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room because they have palm trees that may block the view of a lower "ocean view...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teechur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#26 of 38 in Pompano Beach
23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#8 of 38 in Pompano Beach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: £79 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing