We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had to make a last minute business trip to Ft. Lauderdale last weekend and I booked an Oceanview balcony room at the Beachcomber. Although we haven't been there for 10 years, we knew what to expect, as we used to stay there frequently.
We were given Room 229, but it did not have a private balcony or a view. I returned to the front desk and the mgr. on duty offered to take $35 off the bill or give us an upgrade to a villa at no extra charge. We chose to stay in 229, since the villa was not as close to the pool, I opted for a 6pm check out the next day and was quoted a rate of $85 for that. When I checked out, the same manager was there and took the $85 off our bill to further make up for not having a balcony room for us. He went ABOVE AND BEYOND for us and I was very impressed!
Our room was very clean and comfortable. It was right by the second floor sundeck, which served us fine as a balcony.
The Beachcomber is a great, affordable hotel, with nice pools on a very nice beach. It is not a 5 star, but Marriott Harbor Beach was $500 per nite, as opposed to the $185 we paid at the Beachcomber, so I was perfectly happy at the Beachcomber.
We will return again when we can stay longer than just overnight, and take advantage of all the Beachcomber has to offer!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

After a lengthy time on the computer searching for good deals I finally just picked up the phone and called this place. Online price quotes were much higher and there was no place to add in a CAA # so I am glad I called directly because the price drop was significant. The man on the other end was helpful, friendly and courteous.
Not knowing what to expect when we drove up to the place we sort of held our breath until we had the chance to see our room. It was perfect! Just what we were hoping for! Room #807 with a view of the pool and the lovely beach! Once settled in we went downstairs to look around and have dinner. We stayed here from Friday - Monday and except for one meal we ate here everyday . The food was perfect. The service was perfect. We went down Sunday night a little later than we realized and once seated we were told the chef had just started closing down but the waitress said she'd go double check. She came back with "No problem! He said he would still cook whatever we wanted!". Now that is service!
Front desk staff were courteous and friendly. The pool/bar staff were awesome! I like drinking Bloody Mary's and the bartender had this amazing concoction he invented and even came out to the lounger I was on to ask me my opinion on the drink!
We thought this place would be a great place to stay before or after or both while waiting for a cruise.
Thumbs up to this place! We will be back!

Room Tip: #807 has an awesome view and is the top floor. Has a beautiful balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber last April for a wedding for four nights. We had called and requested an early check-in, but when we arrived it wasn't honored. They asked us to leave and find something to do with our children and bags until they called us when the room was ready. So, we packed everything up and were heading up to a friend's room to crash until they were ready for us, when as we got off the elevator (not even five minutes had passed since leaving the front desk) they called us to tell us our room was ready. What a stupid fiasco. Anyway, we stayed in one of their one-bedroom villas. The villa was nice enough, but we were happy that we knew the people who stayed next to us, as we shared an ouside patio space. We each had our own lounge chair, but it might have been a little weird to lay next to a stranger and try to drink your tropical cocktail and read a book. The villa was pretty small, with a serviceable kitchen and bathroom, but we didn't spend much time there. It definately was not high-end. The beach was awesome, and they provided towel service. You could buy sand toys for the kids. The landscaping was very nice, but at one point one of their workers was making lots of noise early in the morning. The pools were nice, and we reallly appreciated table service at the larger of the two pools. We also loved the tropical drinks at that pool. Too bad the drinks and food at the restaurant were so very overpriced, and the food service was slow. We felt ignored, and almost disliked, by one grumpy waitress both at the pool and in the restaurant--she worked in both places. I think she was just not handling being busy well. The food was ok--albeit rather heavy. I couldn't eat there every meal for very long, I'll tell you that. We were relieved to be able to go across the street to the pizza place a couple of times, and then went on a long hike and found a different restaurant for dinner one night. For a couple of days, the restaurant will do. The wedding planner through the hotel had some issues and made some errors. The bride & groom were not given the room that they were promised when they signed the contract. Everyone was very nice, but there were mistakes that made the situation a little anxious for the bride. In the end, though, the wedding was lovely. I wouldn't necessarily call this a resort--more of a hotel with some extra services. It's nice if you don't expect perfection. The beach is fantastic, and the wedding really was lovely in the end. We would actually go back there just for a couple of days to get away from it all within our own country.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sun_lioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had stayed at this hotel twice before and really liked the balconies on the oceanfront rooms. We knew that Palm trees blocked the view on the lower level rooms, so we requested 6th floor or higher when we reserved the room. We were told that they could not guarantee it, but would do their best. Since we had not had a problem getting upper level rooms before... we went ahead with the reservation.When we arrived we were told we had a 4th floor room. We looked at it....sure enough the view from the balcony was a huge palm tree ten feet away. Could barely see the ocean. The clerk told us no other oceanfront available, but he did get us in a room on the side of the hotel overlooking the pool with an ocean view in the distance.
So, warning: when booking an oceanfront room for top dollar, you may get an oceanfront room without an ocean view.
Overall, the stay was pretty good. The restaurant breakfast was poor. The facility is old, but they make an attempt to keep it up. The room rates are high, as you are paying to be on the beach.
Probably will not stay there again, since you cannot be guaranteed an oceanfront with an ocean view.

Room Tip: No ocean view with lower level (5th and lower) floors of the oceanfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We loved the place. There was a total of four couples in our group and we all agree -- The staff truly know what it takes to provide excellent service - Kudos to Jack Miller. The front desk staff go the extra mile, Steve at the Tiki Bar was fantastic and very funny and the pool staff was very accomodating. The restaurant served a great breakfast and service was outstanding. Two great pools and the ocean at your doorstep. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for just one night after staying at 3 other islands. It was the best I stayed at by far - I had a twin room with ensuite which was gorgeous and so clean and comfortable. The beach is lovely, the sea slightly rough due to the bad weather but I still swam in it.

The food was delicious and the drink prices were reasonable and even better during happy hour! They had dancers to entertain as well as a band and a DJ which was all really great! Although there was a party vibe where the rooms are was nice and quiet so when you wanted to sleep you could.

Great island!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 nights here, and we were a little apprehensive because we knew this was a property that is roughly 50-years old (but affordable, and one of the few properties directly on the beach.) Our first night we were in the tower in a 1st floor room by the elevator. It was noisy, with little or no ocean view. A wonderfully nice and helpful front desk employee moved us up to the 7th floor for our final 3 nights. The view was spectacular! There is no denying that this is an old building, and the basic skeleton and plumbing cannot be changed. Given that fact, they have done a good job modernizing it. It was clean. We never saw a single bug. The staff was wonderful. We never ate dinner there, but breakfast and lunch were very good. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: It appears that rooms on floors 7 to 9 are slightly larger than on floors 1-6. Avoid the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort
#4 of 38 in Pompano Beach
646 reviews
2 mi away
La Costa Beach Club Resort
La Costa Beach Club Resort
#11 of 38 in Pompano Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Steps Suites
Sea Steps Suites
#7 of 38 in Pompano Beach
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#10 of 38 in Pompano Beach
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range: £92 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing