We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Central Islip, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay on the beach”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at the beachcomber hotel July 5-7 2012. The hotel was very nice and the room was pretty good. The room was large and nicely decorated with a view of the ocean from the balcony. Was so nice to sit out there at night and just relax and listen to the waves crashing against the beach. The staff were very nice especially Brian Petersen who worked the front desk. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. The only complaint i had were the hard pillows and the toilet roll holder in the bathroom. They have a very sharp metal cover over the toilet paper which cut my arm a few times.

Room Tip: any room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pisces11105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    442
    189
    70
    57
See reviews for
368
557
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

First- the view. The view was great. We booked an ocean front (the best they have) and were on the 5th floor above the palm trees.... the 2nd and 3rd floor, and maybe 4th floor would have a restricted view due to the trees. They should cut them down, except one or two. I mean really, pay for an ocean view and see trees? crazy.
Other than that the view is perfect.
The side view rooms have a pretty decent ocean/pool view (south side). I cannot comment on their condition, etc.

Location-- The beach is good, lots of folks around as it's next to a public beach access, but it made for fun watching from the balcony. On rough days we could 'body surf' and calm days the snorkeling straight out from the motel is really satisfactory. There is a reef line running north and south, that has pretty good life and is about 10-15 ft. deep. You 'could' do without a car if you ate at the resturant daily, and had some quick microwave meals, but a car is recommended for sure.

Amenities-- The pool is acceptable. Nothing magical. A chap played guitar pool/bar side most of the week and was good enough to enjoy. There is a charge for beach equipment, but we did not rent any as we snorkeled, swam and dived in the ocean and enjoyed the balcony mostly. They have a nice resturant it looks like, but we did not go. Went locally to other dining options.
There are 3 casinos not too far. One in Hollywood about 30-40 min drive, one in Coconut Creek about 25-35 min... both of those are Seminole casinos. The other casino is a little closer. It's at the Pompano Park racing place (horse racing I believe)... it's the Isle of Capri casino. All had acceptable poker rooms, but for slots I think the Isle is a little looser.

The room--
Bed - The bed was good enough...rates a 7 on a scale of 1-10.
TV - The TV was a joke. Fairly small, only about 8 or 9 watchable channels, and no way to hook a DVD to it at all.
Bath - clean, mostly maintained. Not large by any means. They provided basics if needed. except toothpase.

Furniture-- The furniture was good. The lamp was loose and clumsy, but lit up :) Enough storage for a couple of people, but I wouldn't consider this room for more than 2 by any means.

Condition-- The doors are somewhat hard to open. Some maintenance concerns during the stay, such as the kitchen sink stopped up, and the tub drained slow. The phone stopped working during the first call, and the microwave burned out. They were fairly timely in their responses though. Except for the phone, which I think they forgot about.

Kitchen-- Had a small 4 cup coffee pot. Worked well actually, but small. Microwave was very basic, and died when we used it the first time. The fridge is small but adequate, and had a freezer. The doors of the fridge required pushing shut every time. A two person table, round with two chairs, and was cramped as the kitchen is small. No stove whatsoever, and no grills allowed on site. Umm....go to the restaurant?? I think that's their preference here.
The sink is tiny, barely big enough to wash dishes...if you had any. That is a BIG problem here. You are provided absolutely NOTHING in the kitchen other than the basic appliances I mentioned. No forks, no spoons, no plates, no anything....cups, pots, pans, dishcloths, towels, etc. Nothing. The entire (small) kitchen is bare. We had to buy everything as we were unprepared for this.
If you do venture to go to this resort, take dishes, utensils, and anything else you need.
A week of platic knives and peanut butter isn't the vacation you dream of.

Service-- They provided new towels and made the bed everyday if you let them, which we appreciated. Nothing was stolen from our room, but the staff are neither overly friendly or rude. Just sort of there...
They responded quickly to service needs like the microwave, and the stopped up sinks, etc.
Checking in was fairly easy, and they add a $10 per night 'incidentals' charge on your card, but do not collect if you don't use it. Checking out was quick, but when we loaded our cart and were about to head out the door, they hailed us down and made us stand and wait until we could be 'monitored'. I asked why, and they said it was hotel policy. I understand they need to avoid theft and such, but really?? stand and watch you unload stuff into your car? It made us feel like criminals, especially since we were parked by the front door.

Which reminds me..... If you are out at night, don't plan on finding a parking spot close to the resort. They have an additional parking lot across the street which we had to park in every night.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The room didn't smell and we didn't see any bugs.. .no one got mugged, raped, or murdered. There was a little maintenance/construction around the area, but nothing intrusive or out of the ordinary. The price was acceptable in comparison, and the best things about our unit was the view, and it was farily quiet away from the elevators, etc. If you go, turn off the A/C and open the front door. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean at night was fantastic.
~ Peace and safe travels to you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
This is one of the most comprehensive reviews we’ve seen in a while; let’s see if we can respond to some of this reviewer’s observations…

 Understand the comment about the palm trees; sorry by law we cannot trim the palm trees on the beach, this is strictly controlled by the state’s Department of Environmental Protection. But what’s a tropical beach without palm trees?
 As for the kitchen area discussed in this particular review; it very important to stress, not all rooms have this set up which is why we do not promote kitchens per se. Some of our Ocean View and Ocean Front rooms have a small area in the front entrance of the guest room that has a small café style table and 2 chairs, with a granite top “convenience area” that is where the coffee maker and microwave are located, and some of these rooms have a small bar sink; there is also a mini refrigerator under the counter top. True, we do not equip these rooms with kitchen utensils or flatware; reason being, these rooms do not have a dishwasher, and we are not set up to properly sanitize kitchenware. State law requires appropriate sanitary standards for kitchenware, etc. in these situations which is exactly why we do not provide kitchen and dining ware. We do recommend to be prepared to add plastic/paper dining ware to your grocery list if you intend to forego the hotel’s dining options (which include a 3 meal per day indoor restaurant, poolside patio and beach all day dining for lunch and dinner, Tiki Bar, and room service available during the restaurant’s operating hours). Also, there are plenty of local restaurants and restaurants that also deliver to the hotel (which we do not restrict as long as it is consumed in your room and not around our pool, beach, and public areas). But yes, do regret we do not stock the rooms with this type of set up like one would set up a full kitchen, and yes the sink is a bar sink, intended for rinsing, not washing dishes like at home and not on vacation. The Beachcomber is a full service resort hotel; not advertised or operated like an apartment or condo-hotel/timeshare type property.
 With regards to the remark about us monitoring the reviewer as they loaded up their vehicle, we do control our luggage carts; we do have staff who assist with baggage handling. Yes, an employee does go with a luggage cart so that we have the luggage cart ready to go for the next guest; if not we lose track of the luggage cart if does not go with an employee (otherwise it could get left in the parking lot, or guest room). By no means are we monitoring a guest, but rather making sure we have luggage carts available for other guests. Sounds like the reviewer might have gotten an idle cart in the lobby and we asked them to let us let an employee assist with their baggage. We do not charge for baggage handling and our employees are told not to put their hand out (if you know what we mean).

We thank the reviewer for this generally positive review and appreciate the time they took to offer their impressions of their recent stay at the Beachcomber. We do hope that others who read this review and see our response also know more about what to expect when making their decision to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

we were there for the week it was amazing! the staff were friendly all the time! very clean rooms, the food was excellent, all i can say is thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viviana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the restaurant has awesome food, staff was very helpful. It was a little loud and you could hear every tiny noise.... people talking, doors slamming. The beach was just ok, but we may be a tad spoiled by the west coast of Florida. We did find the area around the hotel a little scary. A lot of police activity.Would have liked to venture out, but fortunately there was no reason to. The hotel really had everything except a fitness center.

Room Tip: Recommend the double bed/ balcony rooms. Very nice. Also stick to the low end of each floor like 103...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaDentalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thanks for the good review and glad you enjoyed your stay. First time we’ve seen a remark that someone thought the surrounding area was possibly unsafe and noticed police activity. Our neighborhood is mostly made up of condominiums and time share resorts (our next door neighbor and another diagonally across the street); across the street is a strip mall with a cleaners, convenience store, local restaurant/bar, and some other retail. The local police, the Broward Sheriff’s Department does maintain a high profile because it is both a residential and tourist area. In some ways one might think that the high visibility of law enforcement is a good thing to ensure the safety of the local residents and visitors. The Broward Sheriff’s Department does patrol the main road, Pompano Beach Blvd. (which is SR A1A) and does enforce the traffic laws fairly aggressively though, so watch your speed in the area please.

As for no fittness center on site, this is true, but we do not advertise this as on site, however, we do offer complimentary passes to a very nice and complete fittness center that is about 7 minute drive from the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had booked a room in Ft Lauderdale it was unacceptable to stay there. I called the Beachcomber and spoke with Margaret. She was very helpful and understanding of our situation. We were there for the 4th of July and all the good locations were booked or overpriced. I called back to make the reservation and spoke to Brian. He was so wonderful, understood how we were feeling. When I arrived at the hotel Brian immediately assisted me with check in. He upgraded us to a Jr. Suite which was gorgeous. We had a balcony, view of the beach and the swimming pool. Everyone was so nice, smiled and greeted us when we were out of the room. Gloria was so much fun,our server by the pool. She was from the mid-west also. Over all this was a great place, good food, clean, truly a vacation place. My only regret was not booking here in the first place. I can not think of one bad thing to say about the Resort. Brian checked on us to see how our vacation was going, to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EK10220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Glad you found us. Thanks for taking the time to mention some of our great staff members, everyone here really does take a lot of pride in their work and enjoy taking care of our guests. So happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the fact you took the time to post this kind review. Thank you for being our guest, we can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very 'old Florida', had a lot of charm and beautiful grounds. Our room was clean and nice, great view from the balcony. The staff was mostly friendly and accommodating, several front desk workers could use a little customer service improvement, it seems when there were issues instead of offering a solution or helping they immediately jumped into defensive mode and got an attitude. All in all it was a good stay. The maid service was good, restaurant was a bit overpriced. I think the Beachcomber has an identity crisis, they want to be an all inclusive resort in a location where that is not needed. Stinger's across the street was a great alternative for dinner and breakfast. I would recommend the Beachcomber, just don't expect the front desk to want to help you right away, it might take you several calls or visits before they actually help with your problems.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARussofEville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Looking for a Caribbean vacation w/out leaving the country well the Beachcomber is the place to be something for everyone!! Just returned from a 5 day vacation with the family and couldn't ask for more. If you're looking for a white sandy beach you got it, if you're not crazy about the beach the pool is waiting for you just steps away from the bar with great drinks and an amazing food menu.....the mahi mahi wrap is a must try! As a matter of fact the breakfast, lunch, & dinner menu were all great....the chef is a keeper!
The Beachcomber staff were all nice, they went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay, special thanks to Lynn she was great!
Can't wait to return next year!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.9 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
0.5 mi away
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
Oceans Beach Resort & Suites
#21 of 37 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
20.3 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Property: Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062-6609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Pompano Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing